We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay near central Melbourne”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very nice rooms, consistently clean and well appointed. Short walk to business centre, trams and trains. Helpful staff on the front desk. Beds are comfortable. Well suited to the frequent business traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwillmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our customer service, the location of our building and the comfortable beds.

We look forward to welcome you back soon, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This was Our second stay at Oaks on market. We Love the location! Easy quick check in as always and helpful staff. Great sized rooms. They are extremely clean! Full kitchen facilities if needed. Very comfy bed.! We will be back again the next time we're in Melbourne :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_LondonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; at Oaks on Market we pride ourselves on the number of returning and regular guests, great customer service, comfy beds, clean and good size rooms are some of our property attributes; that will ensure that guests such as Yourself are coming back time and time again.

Thank you again for your kind feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back once again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks for 2 nights. Check-in was easy, the room was clean and for a studio was pretty spacious. Got upgraded to the studio view and the view was pretty nice, looking over the Yarra at Crown Casino. Nothing spectacular, but at the same time no complaints. The best part of the hotel was it's location though. It's a 10 minute walk from Southern Cross station, where the Skybus drops you off from the airport, right down the road over the bridge is Crown and Flinders St Station, and not far at all are both the MCG and Docklands if you dont mind walking. Also the pool and the sauna in the hotel are pretty good too. They're in the basement rather than on the roof so while you dont have a view of the city, you can at least use it during the freezing cold winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, undeniably we are very fortunate that our property is so well located. The same, together with our customer service is mentioned time after time in many guests reviews as one of the many selling points of our property.

Once again thank you for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As regular visitors to Melb CBD this was our first time at Oaks and we were not disappointed. Although used to having two bathrooms, a dishwasher and laundry in room in the past these slight disadvantages were outweighed by positives including a very quiet environment with no disturbance to sleep from neighbours or street noise. Our unit was on the 12th floor so didn't claim the exceptional views described for the higher levels, however we had an outlook over Market St with glimpses of Collins St and a nice display of high rise lights at night. We paid a reduced rate via an Entertainment Book special which was the reason we chose this facility above others we had previously stayed at. The location was further west than we were used to but proved to be more central, eg closer proximity to Crown. The apartment was always serviced before midday and staff obliged us with a later checkout when requested. I expect we will return provided we can obtain a reasonable rate again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank js4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback; we are glad that although with some compromising with the two bathrooms and laundry facilities; you still managed to enjoy your stay.

We are also glad that we were able to provide you with some good nights sleep; as this is one of our many aims towards guests satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The oaks was in a good location in Melbourne. The service was good, the staff were friendly. But I thought the rooms were a bit dated. They were very good in letting us check in early. The location was ideal, as it was only a short walk to the shops restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, as it is only through guest feedback that will ensure we continue to improve our operation and service standards.

Although our property is 7 years old; we believe that our product is still in keep with our newest competitors; since we opened our doors back in 2006; in order to maintain our property fresh and up to date we have already carried two partial refurbishments and further upgrades have been scheduled.

Thank you again for your feedback; and will look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just had four nights at The Oaks and couldn't be happier. Rooms fantastic. Very large, amazing views from top floors, great service. Convenient to everything. Tram at end of street, but walked most everywhere. Straight across river to Southbank and grea restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Pay for rooms on 15th floor or above. The little extra for a room with a view is definitely worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hols2go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest, we are pleased that your stay at Oaks on Market was great; indeed the views from our top floor are amazing!

Thank you for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on the weekend and got an amazingly cheap deal on wotif. On booking in found that we were on the 21st (top) floor with a sensational view of the Yarra and also the bay Great to look out in the day time, but also sensational lights at night. The studio apartment was roomy and very comfortable. Air con working beautifully on days of 41 and 37 degree heat !!! Best of all though is the location. We walked to Southbank to restaurants, and also to the city shops and cafes. The free City Circle tram stop is just on the corner of Flinders Street, taking you anywhere around the city - we went up to Docklands from there. Parking is super cheap at subsidised $10 per night. Could not fault this hotel and definitely recommend it and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Indeed Location, location, location. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our facilities.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#125 of 162 in Melbourne
1,274 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 162 in Melbourne
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 162 in Melbourne
507 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing