We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The oaks was in a good location in Melbourne. The service was good, the staff were friendly. But I thought the rooms were a bit dated. They were very good in letting us check in early. The location was ideal, as it was only a short walk to the shops restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, as it is only through guest feedback that will ensure we continue to improve our operation and service standards.

Although our property is 7 years old; we believe that our product is still in keep with our newest competitors; since we opened our doors back in 2006; in order to maintain our property fresh and up to date we have already carried two partial refurbishments and further upgrades have been scheduled.

Thank you again for your feedback; and will look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just had four nights at The Oaks and couldn't be happier. Rooms fantastic. Very large, amazing views from top floors, great service. Convenient to everything. Tram at end of street, but walked most everywhere. Straight across river to Southbank and grea restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Pay for rooms on 15th floor or above. The little extra for a room with a view is definitely worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hols2go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest, we are pleased that your stay at Oaks on Market was great; indeed the views from our top floor are amazing!

Thank you for your feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on the weekend and got an amazingly cheap deal on wotif. On booking in found that we were on the 21st (top) floor with a sensational view of the Yarra and also the bay Great to look out in the day time, but also sensational lights at night. The studio apartment was roomy and very comfortable. Air con working beautifully on days of 41 and 37 degree heat !!! Best of all though is the location. We walked to Southbank to restaurants, and also to the city shops and cafes. The free City Circle tram stop is just on the corner of Flinders Street, taking you anywhere around the city - we went up to Docklands from there. Parking is super cheap at subsidised $10 per night. Could not fault this hotel and definitely recommend it and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Indeed Location, location, location. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our facilities.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Once again the Oaks have made us happy. We booked a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights for 2 adults and a 12 yo and this was perfect. Our son's bed was already made up in the living room upon arrival and here was still enough room to make a cuppa and sit and watch the view. We were on the 14th floor overlooking the Yarra and the view was great. The rooms are very tidy and tastefully appointed.
We used the pool a lot. The pictures on the net do not give it justice. The pool is a great size and very clean. Great spa and sauna also. It is in the basement area so there isn't any natural light but it is nicely done so this didn't bother us.
We have stayed at the Oaks on Collins before but would return here instead mainly due to the pool - other than that they are both very similar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patto_Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; it is very pleasing to know that we made another guest happy.

We are glad that you enjoyed our property and facilities, we also thank you for your feedback in regards to our online pool pictures, as it is only through guest feedback that we are able to improve our property.

Once again, thank you for your comments; and we look forward to make you happy again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the time we walked into the lovely lobby to the questions answered at the front desk from the special ladies ...we were taken care of with absolute proffesionalism and curtiousy...The cleaning staff and the desk girls were all fabulous and always willing to help...The rooms were spacious and very clean...my daughter loved being able to swim in the lovely pool everyday of our stay...anytime of the day or night..We were in walking distance to the city centre even though trams were available..Fantastic place to stay...have already booked our next stay...and will continue to use the hotel for our getaways into the city...a big thank you to Lulu and the other lovely ladies at reception for there help and willingingness to be able to answer any question or give us any directions

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback; at Oaks on Market we strive to offer the best customer service possible to our guests, by reading your comments it sounds like that we are successfully achieving our goal.

We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed our property, facilities and service; and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My bf and I did stayed in this hotel for 4 nights december 24 to 28 to spend our first Christmas together ...

Checking in went so easy no hassle at all..

Room was pretty clean and except 2 things there's still few hairs on the bathtub and glasses wasn't been wash properly but otherwise everything is perfect..
So everything went really good until I ask for serviced on our room .. I ring the reception to have our room service and ask if they could changed the linen in our room as it is been 3 days haven't changed and also the glasses was not wash as I told them so when I went out for few hours to do some shopping comes home hoping everything I ask for was been done but no I was so disappointed that the housekeeping didn't changed out bed again and glasses wasn't been wash so I did ring down but the woman who answer me says there's no housekeeping anymore but she says she will bring new linen and I have to make the bed on my own.. I was what are you serious ? then I said to her forget it ... was really disappointed and sad because I feel like they don't value me as a guest at all...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beutilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we were most disappointed to read your comments.
In order to avoid a similar incident to other guests, I have personally discussed your housekeeping issues with our Executive Housekeeper.
At Oaks on Market we pride ourselves of the level of customer service that we deliver to our guests, the same is noted time after time on other reviews. We are also disappointed that you felt undervalued as a guest; as guests satisfaction is our top priority.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused; and that these matters have marred what we would hoped to be a pleasent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to South bank and Federation Square. The 1 bedroom self catering apartment is clean however the electric kettle seriously need a good scrubbing. Overnight car park cost is very cheap. A hotel with no frills.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIanchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are pleased that you have found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed our location.

Once thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,315 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing