We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and pleasant stay”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #93 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location and pleasant stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was visiting Melbourne for the weekend to checkout the city and also meet up with a close friend.
- Very comfortable and pleasant stay
- Great location, safe area for solo travelers
- Spacious and clean. Has facilities to cook if needed. Two seaters to entertain a guest or to watch TV
- Bar downstairs and ok room service menu (not the best but can manage)
- shower (with water saver device) was the only thing I can say as negative; otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanthi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are pleased that your stay was very comfortable and pleasant and that you enjoyed our perfect location.

We would like to wish you a safe and happy holiday season and a prosperous New Year; and we look forward to welcome you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    564
    224
    84
    44
See reviews for
230
371
87
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Oaks on Market is well positioned for Melbourne city and SouthBank. We stayed there with my wife's parents for a weekend in Melbourne
The apartment where we stayed was of a good size with modern fittings and clean but terribly designed. Neither bedroom had any windows, but instead had privacy glass on the doors thus permitting no view and then letting light stream into the rooms in the morning.

In terms of service the reception staff repeatedly either gave incorrect advice or made bad recommendations.

Finally after returning from a long day out at about 15h00 the room was still not cleaned and when phoning to ask for it to be cleaned we were told they would get there when they could as the were still busy.

Given the choice of hotels in the city I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jontykarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we were most disappointed to read your comments; however feedback such as yours will allow us to improve our service standards and to rectify any shortfall.

We encourage you to contact us direct to discuss the matter; and hopefully we may able to change your first impression of what you have described (issues aside) as a well located, clean with good size apartments Hotel.

Once again thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Oaks on Market, as well as many of the Oaks properties nationally on a number of occasions over the past 5 years and it would be a toss up between this one and the Oaks Pier Plaza in Glenelg as my favourite.

Rooms are bright, spacious and modern. The Gym and Pool are very good and the risotto in restaurant is enough to keep my coming back.

For families, couples on a shopping holiday or business travellers, this is a good option

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that our property made the cut as one of your favourite destinations.

Once again thank you for your review; and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from my trip to Melbourne after staying at the Oaks Apartment. It was very comfortable and the view was amazing! But I felt a bit antisocial by the time I returned because to have a hot shower was almost impossible. I think there was a water saving device attached to the shower rose and that combined with minimal hot water made for a rather frustrating experience. I then went to have a cup of "leaf" tea to console myself but then double tragedy no teapot or plunger! What more can I say?

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jm2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is unfortunate that you have experienced some issues with our water saving devices. We recently had all the pressure valves replaced and it is only matter of founding the right balance for each apartment; although all the rooms were tested to achieve this; we also rely on guests’ feedback. Whilst our apartments are well equipped some items such as teapots and coffee plungers are not part of our rooms’ inventory, however on your next visit please do not hesitate to request either one; and we will promptly send one up for you.

We are glad that you enjoyed our apartments and the amazing views; and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights will definitely stay again room was terrific it was in a great location really clean staff were really helpful and friendly great pool and bar area enjoyed our $6.00 cocktails

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that together with our rooms, our staff and facilities you enjoyed our are very much in demand Thursday’s $6.00 cocktails specials.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked a four night stay several months in advance but found on arrival that we had a room that had a common wall with the elevator wells. Not just a small section of wall but the entire length of the one bedroom apatrment and the noise was very noticable. If it had only been a one night, short notice booking we would have accepted it however we asked for a change of rooms and were given one with good grace from the staff. The final room as quite good and we were happy. It is a convenient location for transport and shopping and wld stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property, we are pleased that you have enjoyed the location of our building.

All our rooms including those nearby the lifts have gone through sound testing; and passed as per Australian standards. Although some guests may find these rooms not to be as quiet, often we receive specific requests for these rooms as they are some of the larger rooms in our property.

We are glad that our front desk staff was able to offer you an alternative room and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staying for 9 nights at Oaks on Market after my Lodging Department finally moved me from a lousy hotel where I stayed for 15 night.

Walked in at 8:00am and in a minute my luggage was taken into storage, as I was in a hurry to reach office. In the evening another 3 minutes and checkin done - I requested for a room high up away from lifts - and I got farthest room from lift on 20th floor - couldn't have asked more. Awesome views of Yarra river, Crown and Skydeck.

Not a very modern/fancy hotel - but nothing negative that I can write about - quiet large room with a comfortable bed and lot of storage capacity. Things like iron, fridge, microwave, kitchenette, working table, enogh chairs/sofas in case need to bring in colleagues for work - essential for a someone on 'business travel for a month'. Pay per use Washing Machines in basement with Gym and Pool. Only missing thing is powerpoints near the bed.

Very happy - will stay here going forward.

Room Tip: Excellent room - bright, quiet, large with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUPNIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am glad that we were able to match all your requests. As you described, indeed the views from the top floors are “awesome" and we sincerely believe are worth paying the extra fees.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
1,219 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
1,417 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#50 of 160 in Melbourne
453 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
616 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing