We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #92 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
New Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Central and nicely done. We were very impressed with our spacious studio which had plenty of room in it to meet with friends for pre dinner drinks. Nice decor although perhaps better lighting was needed by the bedside. We didn't use the restaurant or eat breakfast there but as a base for 5 nights we were very happy. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet room on a higher level to avoid street or bistro notice from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market and congratulation on your “excellent choice”. As you and many other guests have experienced indeed our apartment’s sizes are well above the normal industry standards. Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    556
    222
    81
    44
See reviews for
225
362
86
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

OK - location, bed is comfy...

No bed lamps for reading, desk located on the opposite side of the room from the power points, no-one has cleaned behind / underneath the furniture, cheap uncomfortable sofa, kitchen equipped very basically... in my room (around the back of the lift well) too much noise from the lifts.

Probably all fine if you're paying a commensurate price - but at over £175/night - just not good enough!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market. It is disappointing to read of your experience while staying with us. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager. Comments such as yours will assist us in rectifying and improving our service standards, therefore if convenient; we encourage you to contact the Hotel Manager direct and hopefully be of some assistance in rectifying these shortfalls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in Oaks for a few days in February 2011. I booked it because it was on special and it seemed fairly central. I was very impressed with almost every aspect of the accommodation from the impressively spacious room, to the very comfortable bed, to the huge windows that gave us a great view of Melbourne. The room had every comfort that you could wish for and the kitchenette was well equipped to allow for a bit of light cooking (although in Melbourne, there are heaps of great restaurants and cafes to try!)

Apart from the room, the amenities were wonderful and the hotel has a lovely heated indoor pool and gym which was very nice to relax in. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic! - 5-7 min walk to Spencer St Station, 5-10 min walk to Flinders St Station and 5-10 min walk to Bourke St where you can find a large variety of great eateries and shopping. We will definitely keep coming back to Oaks on Market!

Pros
- location - very centrally located and close to train stations and Melbournes eating and shopping districts
- the room - spacious, clean, well equipped with comfortable bed and pillows, bright with good views
- indoor heated swimming pool
- friendly staff

Cons
- when we were there they were just changing their summer menu to their autumn menu so the menu was incorrect and the choices were limited for room service but room service is overpriced in general so you're best eating out anyway. We only ate in once for convenience. The room service food despite the limited choice was still tasty though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market. It is great to read that you found your apartment specious, clean and well equipped, it also great that you have found our friendly staff helpful. Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Oaks. The best thing about it is that it is only a short walk from everything. We had a studio apartment which was small but adequate. There was once a washing machine in the bathroom but for some reason it has been removed.

Two things caused me to give the hotel an average rating. The first is that the onsite bar and tavern is very noisy, as is the night club located next door. Also, groups of people from both establishments often hang around outside the hotel smoking. It can be a little intimidating to enter or leave the hotel late at night when some of the groups are being particularly rowdy.

The second thing is that the buffet breakfast is awful. It consists of little more than overcooked bacon, eggs floating in water, cold scrambled eggs, a few other sides, a few box cereals and some tiny pastries. There is a pancake machine where you can make your own (why can't the hotel make them) but it was out of order. We only ate there once and skipped breakfast the second day.

If you do stay at the Oaks, make sure you have a room high up as the traffic noise and noise from the bars is very evident on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid the noise of the street and adjacent pub and club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to once again review our property, we are pleased that you find our rooms adequate for your needs. We believe our apartments are well equipped and can cater for both the corporate and leisure markets; however unlike some of our other properties washing machines have never been part of the inventory of our rooms. We also believe that the R2 bar & restaurant located at the front of the hotel adds an extra value to our hotel by offering a variety of beverages, delicious meals and at time live entertainment to our guests. Indeed at times it can be noisy but never later than 10.00pm especially during special events such as the Spring Racing carnival; we have put very strict noise rules in place. Unfortunately we do not have any control on nearby businesses; however this is compensated by the perfect CBD location in one of the liveliest city in Australia. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

While there was little wrong with this place it really felt like a renovated old office block!
This made some of the interior layouts a little unusual - and the 2nd bedroom quite pokey. Lousy water pressure and temperature control in the shower was a little irritating when you are trying to get organised for a 7am flight!
Otherwise clean, comfortable and great value considering you are a stone's throw from the heart of Collins Street

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market. It is pleasing to read that you found our hotel clean & comfortable, well located and of a great value. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in a large studio room.

Room was huge, spotless and quiet - on the 11th floor.

Shower over 3/4 size bath but otherwise very spacious bathroom. Toiletries functional. Only minor complaint, no shower cap provided and only basic instant coffee and tea.

Full kitchenette facilities though I didn't use them. I imagine this would be perfect for a longer stay.

Didn't try hotel breakfast but cafe down the road is excellent.

Did eat at hotel restaurant for dinner and the crispy skinned salmon was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mareazles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market. It is great to read that you found your apartment spacious and spotless and you enjoyed a meal at our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our number 1 concern with this hotel was lack of information in the room or from reception. We flew in on Friday afternoon to see Matchbox Twenty in concert. By 2:00am Saturday morning, my husband was sick with what we initially thought was food poisoning. He had stomach pain and was vomiting. I asked reception for the number of a doctor or clinic open on Saturday morning as the leaflet they gave us upon arrival provided none. They simply googled a couple of local medical centers - both of which weren't open. It took me two hours of ringing random doctors in the city until I eventually located a doctor who visits you at your hotel and bulk bills! My husband ended up in hospital for two days with a bowel obstruction which could have been fatal. We didn't call an ambulance immediately as we had no idea how sick he was. Surely other guests have need of a doctor occasionally. There was also no information on local pharmacies provided.

Aside from this problem, the hotel is modern, clean and in a good location. We didn't get to see our concert but next time we return to Melbourne I would probably still stay at Oaks on Market. But I'd do my research about local services first. We paid $185 for Friday night and $200 for Saturday night. We were also given a room with disabled facilities for some reason so no bath but nice large room & bed.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view but got an apartment on the second floor with no bath (disabled room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are very sorry to hear of your husband’s health issues during your visit to our hotel. Our policy for emergencies is, at guest discretion we recommend to call 000, however if the guest deems this not necessary we use the “Hotels Medical Services.” This office is manned 24/7 by a nurse. They initially consult with the guests and if necessary they despatch a doctor. This service is not bulk bill however we find very effective with assisting our guests. We apologise this was not communicated with you. Oaks Hotels and Resorts hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
872 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 160 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing