We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #91 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed in a studio appartment on the 21st floor...........wow what a view!!! Close enough to walk to the casino / Southbank and close enough to walk to the city. The free city circle tram stops at the end of the road. Room very clean with large windows to enjoy the breathtaking view.We found the bed to be very firm took us a few nights to get used to it. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Lulu. Thank you Oaks will recommend this hotel to anyone going to Melbourne. Can't wait to go back. The only small negative was the pool being in an awkward place..........too many stairs to get to it.The reason I gave the spa a poor rating was purely because it was cold. Because the pool was heated we were expecting a hot spa. And the Stairs into the lobby, needs a ramp for luggage. Thanks again, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Yarra River.........amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criss01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks on Market.

It is wonderful to hear that we were able to play a part in making your holiday a memorable and enjoyable one and I shall pass your feedback on to the staff, specifically Lulu.

Please do stay again next time you are in the area – we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    526
    204
    76
    36
See reviews for
197
333
79
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I recently stayed at Oaks on Market St and enjoyed the experience. My studio room was quite large, the room was clean, it was serviced daily, and it had good "vibes". The only fault I could find with it was the shower head. It made the water come out more like a mist than a strong spray. The buffet breakfast was also good value.

I am quick to savage a bad hotel, but I would recommend staying at Oaks on Market St.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_NR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market Street.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I arrived early Sunday and was able to check in straight away, which was great. BUT, upon check in the receptionist proceeded to inform me that I will be charged $150.00 off my visa card to cover any incidentals I may occur. I had no intention of using their facilities and because they took that out of my bank account almost immediately, I pretty much didn't have any spending money at all. My stay pretty much sucked thanks Oaks. They shouldn't be allowed to do that. Oaks is the first hotel that I have stayed at where they have physically taken money out of your account. Like a bank. So on check out on Tuesday I asked them when should I expect my $150.00 back and he said in 2 or 3 days, but they can fax the bank to fasttrack which he said he will do. What I load of crap. I am still waiting for my money. I will not be using the Oaks franchise again and please check with the hotel to find out their policy on card charges before committing! I have learnt my lesson the hard way!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market Street.

We apologise for the confusion in regards to the bond for your room. A security bond is required from all guests on arrival at each of our properties. This is processed as a credit card pre-authorisation in which case the bank places a hold on your funds. Depending on the card issuer this will automatically release within 10 working days. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is explained by our reservations team and further information can be found on our reservation confirmation letters and guest registration cards. We apologise if this was not communicated to you correctly. This will be addressed with all team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Pros:
Close to tram
In a good location
modern
helpful staff

Cons:
Pool is in an annoying place, takes too long to get to basement
left waiting since staff lock pool lift so they can use it
had to wait 2 hours for our room to be cleaned
gave us tissues instead of toilet paper??? uhmm wth
view of buildings
two bedroom was quite suishy

Room Tip: High the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I picked this for the location near a workshop I was running.

Roadworks outside and steps into the building with luggage made access difficult.

No real strong points or weaknesses, Could have been any mid range hotel in any city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for a week and I love how modern and clean the hotel is. Great food from their restaurant, although it's so hard to get through to their room service every time I call.

Grumpy receptionists, i have talked to about 4 of them to ask a question and they hardly smile and does not seem proactive in helping customers.


Room service staff do not smile either, maybe they have a rule against smiling??

Housekeeping does an amazing job in cleaning. Every time i come back from a long day meeting with clients my room is always spic and span and they even fold my clothes which is just GREAT!


Close to the buzz of the city so love the location!

Will definitely stay again once receptionists are friendlier!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJojoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market.

We apologise for the disappointment you felt at the standard of service you received. We continually strive to provide the very highest levels of service in all our hotels and it is disappointing to know that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured your concerns will be raised with the staff and the General Manager of Learning & Development.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this place. Nice clean hotel apartment and a very good location in the CBD area as well. Enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing