We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could not have been more rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #144 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have been more rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I can't say anything about the hotel as I didn't actually make it to the hotel.
I made an online booking and decided to call to confirm. The rude woman who answered the phone told me that the internet had overbooked. I tried to problem solve with her and she simply told me 'this is too complicated, I will cancel your booking with us and you can find somewhere else to stay'.
I cannot see how it could be my fault in any way that the internet had overbooked the rooms and she wouldn't even entertain discussing this with me. The booking was for the very next day.
Extremely rude.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelstaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    176
    107
    70
    116
See reviews for
66
216
100
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We called to make a booking because that's what their website said to so. The staff member had NO IDEA and directed us to book online. So we figured it out and did.

Then the confirmation emails were wrong. So we called again to sort it out. In the end the staff member cancelled our booking because it was "all too hard".

I know it's budget accommodation but seriously what an incompetent bunch of twits.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nathypaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hotel Sophia Melbourne first impression to my family members (3 of us) was just an ordinary budget Hotel by judgment from its outside appearance. Upon arrival at this Hotel, we found that the Hotel Room was indeed tidy and clean, and without any complaint whatsover. We put up in this Hotel for 3 Nights, and was awarded with good sleep. Not only of its cleanliness, we found that the Hotel is really convenient and well located within walking distance to China Town (We loved to visit China Town in different cities of this World to look at their life styles) and CBD, Melbourne. Should you wish to enjoy free transport (ie free Circle-line Tram within CBD) to hop on and hop off to enjoy the sceneries, the Tram Station is just about 30 feet from the Hotel. The Hotel indeed can be graded as Good City Accommodation as shown in the Hotel Logo. The Room came with breakfast which you will not expect from a budge Hotel.......Cheers

Room Tip: Always request for higher floor to enjoy better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipleeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Hotel Sophia. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Melbourne CBD and very close to the King Street stop for the free circle-line tram. The standard room is of average size, the bed comfortable and the provision of a mini-fridge and kettle is great. The hotel is reasonably priced. The inclusion of breakfast is a bonus, with options including 4 cereals, numerous types of bread for toasting, eggs and bacon, and fruit/yoghurt if you get up early enough. Whilst the walls are thin and most rooms get street noise, for the price you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and tidy that is the best it gets, all down hill from here.Bed or should i say beds squashed together were like sleeping on concrete as for the pillows they matched the bed so much so on the last night of a three day nightmare we rolled up the dressing gowns to use as pillows.Now on to the breakfast except for green tea and coffee we had to get our supply of English tea off of the house keeping trolley to take with us each morning . empty serving trays and or cold food greeted us each morning very unappetizing no staff except for a (very rude and unapproachable)kitchen hand to be seen anywhere cleaning used tables or checking dining room food supplies.we certainly got what we paid for $99.00 per night special. As for their 4 star rating somebody must of been paid off to get it i would say 3 star would be an over-rating in my book has to be the worst place we have stayed ever.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 208 no view except industrial outlook, window is locked shut and guest laundry i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect, had the room with shared bathroom and breakfast included. Pleasantly surprised, room was reasonably big and clean, the little extras like coffee bags instead of instant and decent toiletries were great. The shared bathroom was clean and was less inconvenient than expected. Breakfast was pretty good considering we only paid $99 for room.
Down side was that our room was one level up from the road and being an old or heritage building the big glass windows weren't double glazed ( I'm assuming ) because you could hear a lot street noise. And each time we had to wait for someone to come to front desk for quite a while when checking in and out which seemed like they were under staffed.But that was pretty much it. Good for one or two nights if your going to be out and about for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at Sophia in February 2014.
I had previously read some of the mixed reviews and was unsure whether booking this place was a good idea.
I was, however, pleasantly surprised by standard and value.
This is an inner city hotel at country rates.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
The included breakfast was good, and the attached bar served good cheap meals.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#139 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing