We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #148 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

great find close to train, bus to & from airport, etihad stadium. Very clean & comfortable. Friendly staff, we had no trouble with noise issues even for Saturday night. Our room was towards the back. Approx 5 minute walk to train station & etihad stadium easy to catch tram into shopping area. Bed comfortable, great coffee machine in room, price was very good value would stay here again, recommend for couples.

Room Tip: The back rooms for quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucketlist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    188
    116
    73
    127
See reviews for
74
233
105
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a long weekend to combine a work trip with a bit of Melbourne shopping. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sophia. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We loved the breakfast in the morning and the coffee-pod machine in our room. The staff were helpful and friendly and our location made it easy to get around the CBD, See you again soon!

Room Tip: Corner rooms- bit more space and nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatMac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The room we were given had possibly the worst soundproof walls and a big, paper-thin window looking out onto King Street. The whole night there was noise coming from the traffic and because it was raining, we could also hear every splash the cars made as they were going past. Even if you manage to ignore and sleep through all that, there were people constantly slamming and banging doors from 3-4am. As mentioned in other reviews, you really can hear people talking quite clearly and voices do seem to be amplified in the corridor. Surprisingly, we didn't hear any noise at all from the pub downstairs which we were expecting.

The room itself was okay, reasonably-sized with a king bed which was quite comfortable but the win factor had to be the location of the telly, which was situated behind a pillar thus could only be seen if you sat immediately below it or right on the edge of the bed.
The shared bathroom (with one other room) was a bit of a hassle to get into with all the doors but was otherwise clean and big.
The location was good as it was close to Southern Cross Station and public transport access or if you don't mind walking, takes about 10 mins or so to the CBD.
Check-in was relatively prompt, however, because the staff couldn't communicate with the guest before us, we had to wait about awhilte (after I helped with interpreting house rules).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phluffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at above hotel for 2 days and the quality of service, location and ambiance is very good. We recommend and happy to return if possible.

b.raghavendrachar
nagarbhavi Bangalore

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevinahal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before I had booked and paid! I asked for a quiet room and the lady at the desk said she had put me at the back of the hotel, I though oh great! Unfortunately when I was laying in bed that night I realised that the street at the back of the hotel had trucks constantly going up and down it (I think collecting rubbish - very loud!). The windows were so thin it sounded as if the traffic was in my room, I even tried putting a towel up over the window to block out some more noise. I'm not a light sleeper, this was noisy! The walls were quite thin and I was woken at about 3am by people coming back to their room. The fire alarm went off at 6.30 am, I went down the stairs quickly and they said it was a false alarm. No apology and the alarm sounded for a further ten minutes. The breakfast that was included was awful - bake beans and eggs that had been sitting there for who knows how long. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was tidy but they are the only positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best value for money in Melbourne. 1 block easy walk from main train and airport bus, 1 block to free city circle tram. Go the extra bit with room amenities and good basic breakfast.
Meals in adjoining pub excellent and once again great value. Only minus is the strict 2:00 check in time. Will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my teenage daughter, as we had to be somewhere in the CBD early in the morning and we live quite far away. We know this is budget! We paid $91 for a twin room with breakfast! I was worried about the room being claustrophobic, but it was surprisingly comfortable! The beds were so comfortable that I didn't want to get up! We had dinner in the pub down stairs, really old authentic pub, comfortable and cheap! Both meals $8.50 with a glass of wine! This place is quite noisy, but it is in the CBD. I think you could pay twice as much in Melbourne hotels for the same comfort. I wouldn't choose this for a big annual holiday, but for a night or 2, this is a bargain!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 160 in Melbourne
594 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing