We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great price, comfortable rooms & good btreakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #144 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great price, comfortable rooms & good btreakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came to Melbourne to see a theatre performance with my family. Initially booked Hotel Sophia because it is located close to the Skybus & Southern Cross Station. Found it to be a pleasant experience and am looking forward to staying again on our next Melbourne visit. The staff were very nice and we loved the coffee machine in our room.

Room Tip: enjoyed staying in a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssum78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    176
    108
    70
    116
See reviews for
66
216
100
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My first impression was not good - I arrived at 1pm and while I know check in is from 2pm, often you can get in to your room earlier but I was unceremoniously sent away and told to come back at 2. When I returned at 2:30pm there was no-one on reception and a 'back in 5 minutes' sign - a sign that appeared regularly the two nights I stayed here even though reception is supposed to be 24/7.

A word to the wise - take earplugs - I could hear my neighbour's phone conversation and what he was watching on TV, there was also a pump going off every 10 minutes the whole time I was there. On the plus side, the room was spacious with a queen size bed and a single bed. The bed was comfortable and the heating effective. There was a chocolate on each pillow, a coffee machine and a comfy dressing gown. The location was great being one block from Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross Station, Coles and factory outlets. South Wharf DFO is a 20 minute walk away and the free City Circle tram (red rattler) is half a block away.

Breakfast was included in the room rate (I paid $91 for the first night and $95 for the second night). Hot food is available from 7am but on the second morning I arrived at 7:30am to find that the only hot food left was scrambled egg. There was only one person working in the kitchen. Perhaps this is how they keep the prices down by limiting the number of staff. My room was not serviced at all while I was there.

My last impression was not so good as the one and only lift was out of service at check out time. Fortunately I was only on the first floor and only had a small suitcase to cart down the stairs.

Overall some good and some not so good but the price was right and as long as you don't have high expectations of a Melbourne CBD hotel then this is the place for you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sophie Hotel for 3 nights and would recommend this and will return again ourselves. The hotel was clean and comfortable, nice fluffy towels, bath robes to use, big tv with lots of channels. The hot breakfast was a big plus, first day was no bacon, but second day there was yum. My only wish would be as I am gluten intolerant, for the option of gluten free bread for toast, easily fixed really as I just brought my own.
Very close to transport with the free bus and free tram running at the corner. Southern cross station just a 5 min walk also Coles for any groceries.
Staff were friendly and courteous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Reemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've just returned from a two-night stay (my second visit) at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wanting budget accommodation in Melbourne. At $90 per night, it was extremely good value for money. Close to all sorts of transport and easy walking distance to Southern Cross Station.

The room was spotlessly clean. There were plenty of towels, plunger coffee, 'pod' coffee, tea and biscuits. The room was a bit cramped between the foot of the bed and the wall, but the only reason for going there was to close the blind - so not really a problem at all. I could hear mumblings from the room next door, but nothing troubling. The only noise from outside was emergency vehicles - normal traffic noise couldn't be heard.

The king size bed was very comfortable, and for those that don't know, most hotel king size beds are two beds joined together. The linen was clean and crisp and there was an abundance of pillows.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only downside for me was that the cooked buffet breakfast didn't include bacon - which should really be a staple of any cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_recent_visitor_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Found Hotel Sophia in Melbourne and it turned out to be a great little find indeed. Located a handy 5 mins stroll from Spencer Street Station which is the drop off point for the Airport Skybus. Arrived at the Hotel around 1pm to find that check in was not available till 2pm. Staff offered to secure our luggage so we went for a walk to Victoria St Markets and spent a couple of hours there. On our return, check in went smoothly and we were given 2 key cards for our 3rd floor room which we found to be a little on the small side but with everything we needed including a fridge, a safe and aircon. The Bathroom had nice toiletries and towels and a pair of nice bath robes. The bed was comfortable with good pillows and the room was quiet. The included breakfast (served in the ground floor dining room) was fresh and plentiful each morning with good variety. Hotel Sophia is handy to Bourke St and the No 86 Tram to the Melbourne Shopping precinct, theatres, museums etc but blessed with fine weather we actually enjoyed the walk on 2 of our 3 mornings. A Pub adjoins the Hotel and serves reasonably priced drinks and food for those looking for an end of day drink and/or a meal. On checkout morning we again took advantage of the luggage holding facility and enjoyed our last day in Melbourne before picking our bags up about 2.30pm and strolling down to take our return ride to the Airport on Skybus. For location, service, facilities and price we would thoroughly recommend Hotel Sophia.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are away from potential noise from the Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepMoving_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

**** Do not believe the negative comments ****

We stayed at Hotel Sophia for 4 nights over Easter. We chose this hotel as we were on a budget and other hotels were booked.

The hotel is a short walk from Southern Cross Station and we arrived there around 10.30pm. We were promptly checked in without any fuss.

Our room was of a decent size and very clean. The TV and air con worked without any problems. The bathroom was spotless with a nice pressure shower. We had a king size bed which was very comfortable as well.

As part of the deal we had a free buffet breakfast which was very tasty. They had bacon, eggs (two types), cheese, cereals, mini muffins, plunger coffee and more. I had bacon, egg and cheese sandwhiches polished off with some muffins and coffee! Delicious!

There is also a bar attached to the hotel which has some very good meal and drink specials daily. When we were there they had a generous burger with chips and a glass of beer all for $8! That's about as cheap as it gets in Melbourne CBD.

The only down side was the hotel was operating on a skeleton crew over Easter and so room service was limited. We only had our sheets changed once in the 3 days we stayed. They did however inform us of this and we could have requested towels etc, but we chose not to.

Overall we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Sophia and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in April. It's clean, quiet and close to the main attractions of the city. Prices are good for what you get and I would go back. Can walk to markets and some great cafes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#139 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing