We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what is says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #134 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Does exactly what is says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay for the weekend as we were out at the tennis all day. Hotel Sophia was cheap, clean and the breakfast completely satisfactory. The room was very small and walls thin but if you are looking for a cheap place to crash with good location this is perfect. Considering we paid about 130 a night with breakfast this hotel did exactly what we wanted it to do. We would stay again definitely

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    170
    98
    68
    107
See reviews for
63
200
95
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan.

The location is great & close to everything in Melbourne. We stayed in room 207 & everything was fine. Only problem we had was the paper thin walls, you could hear everything from the room next door.

Breakfast was fine, cereals, toast, eggs etc.

The hotel is a little dated but fine for a short stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Came to Melbourne for a few days for a family holiday. Hotel Sophia was in an excellent location close to Southern Cross station and the free City Circle tram. The free breakfast was plentiful and a great way to start the day. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a King size bed and we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. My kids had such a great time and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinross57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

An excellent location in Melbourne, only a couple of minutes from the Southern Cross train station and trams. Many of the reviews I read before staying here talked about the breakfast and the size of the rooms. Yes the rooms are small, but not to the point of being uncomfortable, the best word would be cosy (in a good way). Yes the breakfast options are limited but there is generally plenty of it (with the exception of pancakes which are a rare option and finish quickly). The hotel is very clean though, and the rooms are confortable and well presented. For the price and location it's an amazing little gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Arrived from London via 1 night stay in Sydney. Jet lag had just set in & we hadn't realised it was Melbourne cup week so accommodation was scarce. This was the first place that we came across with availability. We were told that we cold have an en suite room the first night but only availability was a Private room with shared bathroom / toilet for the second.

Short walk to CBD central, short walk to Southern Cross Station, easy to find location.

Cleanliness in the rooms had room for improvement, bar & restaurant closed due to staff shortages, you could hear the next rooms conversation due to paper thin walls, Internet was down, lock was broken on shared toilet on second night, our room door didn't feel that secure and lots of creaky floor boards.

Note to self - Plan better in advance next time....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPierreCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights in December. Room not too bad, a bit small. Bathroom so so.
It was handy having the bar right there.
We were not keen on the location as there were several strip joints close by and walking at night was not a great idea. Lots of police action, sirens and yelling drunks for both of the nights made it difficult to sleep.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The value for money was OK. Not sure if we would stay there again due to the location not for the hotel itself.
Breakfast was the basic continental but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencian Country, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel has very bad location in Melbourne. The price is high but the quality is not good
We stayed bacuse we didn't find free room (Christmas Seasons) in others hotel in Elizabeth Street(good location and better price)
I don't recommend at all, the gave us a dirty room, and we complain
The walls are like paper, imposible rest. You are like in a dorm sharing room with other persons
Really grap

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjoseanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#90 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#130 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Central Business District
City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel
#127 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing