We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

An excellent location in Melbourne, only a couple of minutes from the Southern Cross train station and trams. Many of the reviews I read before staying here talked about the breakfast and the size of the rooms. Yes the rooms are small, but not to the point of being uncomfortable, the best word would be cosy (in a good way). Yes the breakfast options are limited but there is generally plenty of it (with the exception of pancakes which are a rare option and finish quickly). The hotel is very clean though, and the rooms are confortable and well presented. For the price and location it's an amazing little gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    167
    96
    68
    102
See reviews for
62
194
94
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Arrived from London via 1 night stay in Sydney. Jet lag had just set in & we hadn't realised it was Melbourne cup week so accommodation was scarce. This was the first place that we came across with availability. We were told that we cold have an en suite room the first night but only availability was a Private room with shared bathroom / toilet for the second.

Short walk to CBD central, short walk to Southern Cross Station, easy to find location.

Cleanliness in the rooms had room for improvement, bar & restaurant closed due to staff shortages, you could hear the next rooms conversation due to paper thin walls, Internet was down, lock was broken on shared toilet on second night, our room door didn't feel that secure and lots of creaky floor boards.

Note to self - Plan better in advance next time....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPierreCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights in December. Room not too bad, a bit small. Bathroom so so.
It was handy having the bar right there.
We were not keen on the location as there were several strip joints close by and walking at night was not a great idea. Lots of police action, sirens and yelling drunks for both of the nights made it difficult to sleep.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The value for money was OK. Not sure if we would stay there again due to the location not for the hotel itself.
Breakfast was the basic continental but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencian Country, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel has very bad location in Melbourne. The price is high but the quality is not good
We stayed bacuse we didn't find free room (Christmas Seasons) in others hotel in Elizabeth Street(good location and better price)
I don't recommend at all, the gave us a dirty room, and we complain
The walls are like paper, imposible rest. You are like in a dorm sharing room with other persons
Really grap

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjoseanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The receptionist was singularly unwelcoming. The reason for the "free" breakfast was because you couldn't have given it away. The Internet was down for two consecutive days, and the staff were not the least concerned or sympathetic. It's great to be able to open the windows, but the traffic and other noise is awful.

Pay a bit more and get some value elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I found Hotel Sophia through Web Jet when booking my flights from Sydney. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The folder in my room stated the bar opened until late and room service was served until 11pm. I came back around 9pm one night and didn't want to search for food. I called down to order room service and was told the kitchen was closed and I could go next door to a Japanese restaurant. The bar was also closed most nights quite early. Also on a different occasion I went out for the day, only to come back and find my door had not been shut properly after cleaning. Thankfully my belongings were locked away and nothing was taken!! Not impressed!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. We found our room was very clean, the King bed was comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfast that was included every morning. Hotel Sophia is not far from Etihad stadium and Southern Cross Station so it's very easy to get around the city from here. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to suggest a few places we could visit.
See you next time in OZ!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waitangi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#128 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#101 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Central Business District
City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel
#125 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing