We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“satisfying stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #142 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“satisfying stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

great boutique hotel- we visit melbourne from adelaide semi-regularly and we would not stay anywhere else.
The service is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless. We always ask for a king bed. The buffet breakfast is fantastic all the more so as this is a bed and breakfast and so makes the cost of staying super competitive- very rare to find city hotel including breakfast.

The hotel is near the free tram and southern cross station and is located in a sem-residential spot so it is quiet.

Our tip is catch the tram to Lygon street where there are literally 100 Italian restaurants side by side!!

Room Tip: ask for rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    179
    109
    70
    117
See reviews for
68
217
100
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent a weekend here, the room was clean,& had some nice touches as plunger coffee, we fronted King St, which had traffic & train noise,the breakfast was VERY basic.Lots of little place's around to eat, including the pub downstairs, but where closed,this is a weekday business area & not really for the interstate weekend traveller, it is close to walk to Victoria Markets & the free tram..

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GlendaSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly staff, and very nice and clean rooms. Only downside was that i could hear the person sneeze in tbe next room but as i didn't spend much time in there anyways it wasn't a problem ( your in the cbd). Complimentary breakfast in the morning was good. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janica_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

we travel from the mornington peninsula on a weekly basis and stay at sophia every time. The hotel is located in a quiet area surrounded by apartment blocks although you will hear normal city sounds like the garbage truck and so on. The rooms are modern and super clean it is obvious the staff take pride in their product. The beds are king size which is great as we are big people.Staff are very helpful.

Free buffet in the morning and great internet access i heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 209 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallourn North
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room itself was fine, small but fine. The bathroom was huge, yet nowhere to put your bathroom things, not even a shelf. So everything had to go on the floor. 1/2 a roll of toilet paper was in the room for our two night booking (we had to ring room service for more), there were no face washers (we were told paper towel would be bought up if we wished), there was no bin in the bathroom, the toilet seat wasn't fitted properly or was broken, either way it shifted everytime you sat on it, only two coffee satchels for our two night booking (we had to ring for room service for more), the king size bed was two singles pushed together which would've been fine except one bed was at least an inch higher than the other making it very uncomfortable, entering the bar which was recommended at check in we were told there was no beer on tap as there wasn't enough customers yet to turn it on.
We really should have had an inkling about how it was when we first pulled up outside the motel and saw the bacon and juice being delivered from the boot of an old car......
We will not be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed in a large room on the second floor. It was very spacious, even with a King-sized bed in there. The bed was very comfortable and ensured quality sleep every night. It is winter, and the heater was useful to keep the room warm and cosy. Extra blankets and pillows were available. A safe in the box kept my documents securely. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were provided daily. The bathroom was modern; hair dryer, toiletries and bathrobes were available.

Breakfast starts at 6.00 a.m. daily and hot food is served at 7.00 a.m. The menu, however, is the same daily - bread, hash brown, scrambled egg, fried egg, hard-boiled egg, pancakes, a selection of cereal, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There was butter, honey, strawberry jam and vegemite for the toasts.

There is wifi access at AUD$1.00 for 15 minutes or AUD$20.00 for a whole day.

The location on King Street is superb as it is a short walk to the CBD and also the Southern Cross Station, where one can basically take a train to anywhere one likes. It's a short walk to Victoria Market, and one can easily catch a free City Circle Tram just down the road from the hotel.

The staff are friendly and that's a bonus. I enjoyed my say tremendously!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glyn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a long international flight, I was looking forward to some decent r&r before attending some conferences. Sadly this did not happen as my room was noisy and the service was terrible.

I was shocked to find that the receptionist was also the bar tender, cook and cleaner. Asking for a drink and meal was a mission as the poor girl had to juggle between checking in other guests, pouring my beverage and running to the kitchen to cook my meal. It is no wonder the staff are unfriendly and exhausted.

Not worth the the price. Closeness to the train station is about the only thing it has going for it....

Room Tip: no room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntTravelerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing