We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sophia our Choice”
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #148 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Bendigo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hotel Sophia our Choice”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Sophia several times. It is a small boutique hotel, close to public transport and the many attreactions of Melbourne. We choose the hotel because of its location, reasonalbe rates, cleanliness, adequate room sizes, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a great breakfast with which to start the day. We are happy to recommend it.


Ron S

Room Tip: We have stayed on floors one and three and found both to be quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    188
    116
    73
    127
See reviews for
74
233
105
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Hotel Sophia isn't flash but it is excellent value for money in Melbourne. We stayed there for two nights and will stay again - the room was reasonably big, and nice and clean, and the service was good. We took a room with shared bathroom, which was fine; I think I'd generally prefer an ensuite when I can, but they keep the shared bathrooms clean and dry. I've stayed in premises in Melbourne that provided far less at double the cost.

The breakfast is plentiful and the staff were always helpful when we had a request. Not for someone who likes their hotel to be a luxury treat, but is the best budget hotel I have found in Melbourne so far.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadhbhzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Have stayed there numberous times. A good value for money hotel. Very easy walk from railway station.Close to tram stops and Victoria market.The standard rooms are small,with good size ensuites. The rooms are clean and well cared for.The hotel is currently in the process of adding 3 more floors of rooms.
Hotel staff are very prompt and helpfull.
Breakfast is included in the room price, and is buffet style in the dinning room down stairs..
We generally have a pub style meal at night in the hotels bar. Meal is well priced and very filling.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfpintJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Very handy to S.Cross railway Station/Airport Bus, and No.35 (free tram),which circles CBD and passes near most attractions. Room very comfortable and well serviced - iron/board, jug, plunger coffee, tea, biscuits etc.
My room at back of hotel so no great view, but hey I want comfort and quiet to rest and sleep so suited fine.
Staff friendly, helpful, and on site pub with great value meals, just missed the dessert.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room with full facilities unless on real tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel looked OK on the web and it said it was a 4 star hotel. I don't think so, try 2 star. The carpet is dirty and so were the towels. Very sterile & plain. Can someone please explain why the internet is not free when you spend hundreds of dollars on a hotel room, no they need to charge you $ 4.95/Hr. I have just got back from USA were I spent some nights in A $ 19 motel room and guess what - the internet was free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Sophia Hotel as we attended a wedding in Melbourne. I was a bit cautious after reading some of the reviews, however, we walked back to the hotel at 11pm and the area was safe enough. We had a double room with a king bed which was very comfortable. The room looked freshly decorated and the bathroom looked new. It was a little small if you wanted to spend time in it, but we didn't find it so. We had plenty of tea, coffee and a coffee plunger. We had comfortable bathrobes and sufficient toiletries. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice both hot and cold. We paid $99 over the internet for the room and I thought this was a great bargain for the city. The $150 deposit was not taken from our credit card, reception merely checked it.. I found the receptionist pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. My partner and I have hearing problems so a room at the front didn't bother us but it may bother others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want something quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The cost of the room was too much for quality. King-sized bed in room was actually two single beds pushed together! You could feel the mattresses meet in the middle! Phone in room didn't work and had to call reception from my mobile. Walls were EXTREMELY thin and could hear guys next door swearing all night. Bathroom was appalling as there was drainage smell everywhere and the hot water didn't even work. Also the bathroom had this feel of a hospital disabled bathroom (not exaggerating as my partner confirmed this ). I actually went down to reception to try to switch rooms because of all these problems. Rang the bell at reception twice and still no one turned up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not next door to many rooms. And ask for one with a better bathroom, if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 160 in Melbourne
594 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing