We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel Sophia our Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #133 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Bendigo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hotel Sophia our Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Sophia several times. It is a small boutique hotel, close to public transport and the many attreactions of Melbourne. We choose the hotel because of its location, reasonalbe rates, cleanliness, adequate room sizes, comfortable beds, friendly staff and a great breakfast with which to start the day. We are happy to recommend it.


Ron S

Room Tip: We have stayed on floors one and three and found both to be quiet for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    168
    97
    68
    105
See reviews for
62
197
95
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Hotel Sophia isn't flash but it is excellent value for money in Melbourne. We stayed there for two nights and will stay again - the room was reasonably big, and nice and clean, and the service was good. We took a room with shared bathroom, which was fine; I think I'd generally prefer an ensuite when I can, but they keep the shared bathrooms clean and dry. I've stayed in premises in Melbourne that provided far less at double the cost.

The breakfast is plentiful and the staff were always helpful when we had a request. Not for someone who likes their hotel to be a luxury treat, but is the best budget hotel I have found in Melbourne so far.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadhbhzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Have stayed there numberous times. A good value for money hotel. Very easy walk from railway station.Close to tram stops and Victoria market.The standard rooms are small,with good size ensuites. The rooms are clean and well cared for.The hotel is currently in the process of adding 3 more floors of rooms.
Hotel staff are very prompt and helpfull.
Breakfast is included in the room price, and is buffet style in the dinning room down stairs..
We generally have a pub style meal at night in the hotels bar. Meal is well priced and very filling.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfpintJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Very handy to S.Cross railway Station/Airport Bus, and No.35 (free tram),which circles CBD and passes near most attractions. Room very comfortable and well serviced - iron/board, jug, plunger coffee, tea, biscuits etc.
My room at back of hotel so no great view, but hey I want comfort and quiet to rest and sleep so suited fine.
Staff friendly, helpful, and on site pub with great value meals, just missed the dessert.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room with full facilities unless on real tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
556 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel looked OK on the web and it said it was a 4 star hotel. I don't think so, try 2 star. The carpet is dirty and so were the towels. Very sterile & plain. Can someone please explain why the internet is not free when you spend hundreds of dollars on a hotel room, no they need to charge you $ 4.95/Hr. I have just got back from USA were I spent some nights in A $ 19 motel room and guess what - the internet was free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed overnight at the Sophia Hotel as we attended a wedding in Melbourne. I was a bit cautious after reading some of the reviews, however, we walked back to the hotel at 11pm and the area was safe enough. We had a double room with a king bed which was very comfortable. The room looked freshly decorated and the bathroom looked new. It was a little small if you wanted to spend time in it, but we didn't find it so. We had plenty of tea, coffee and a coffee plunger. We had comfortable bathrobes and sufficient toiletries. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice both hot and cold. We paid $99 over the internet for the room and I thought this was a great bargain for the city. The $150 deposit was not taken from our credit card, reception merely checked it.. I found the receptionist pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. My partner and I have hearing problems so a room at the front didn't bother us but it may bother others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want something quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The cost of the room was too much for quality. King-sized bed in room was actually two single beds pushed together! You could feel the mattresses meet in the middle! Phone in room didn't work and had to call reception from my mobile. Walls were EXTREMELY thin and could hear guys next door swearing all night. Bathroom was appalling as there was drainage smell everywhere and the hot water didn't even work. Also the bathroom had this feel of a hospital disabled bathroom (not exaggerating as my partner confirmed this ). I actually went down to reception to try to switch rooms because of all these problems. Rang the bell at reception twice and still no one turned up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not next door to many rooms. And ask for one with a better bathroom, if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl24Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#94 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#101 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#129 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Central Business District
City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel
#128 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing