We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolute value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #142 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a very affordable hotel offering a variety of rooms to suit all budgets. My room (standard double with ensuite) had all the basic essentials. It was clean and a good size. The paint work was a little tired and the TV was postioned too high on the wall. These were the only minor downsides to the room. The breakfast was an added bonus and although not substantial it was more than adequate. Overall definitely value for money. I would stay again. Convenient location to Southern Cross Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimpa211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    171
    101
    68
    107
See reviews for
63
204
95
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Made a booking with hotel club 6 weeks prior and paid in full for 2 rooms. Upon check in to hotel Sophia, reception wanted my credit card to hold a $150 security bond. As I booked 2 rooms they would be holding $300. This money would not be freed for 3-5 working days. As my credit card is a credit/debit card this was MY personal money that I no longer had for me and my young families stay. This fee was a huge surprise as it was not in any of my paperwork from Hotelclub or hotel Sophia. I was more than happy for them to take my credit card imprint as other hotels do. During check in I counted 5 unhappy customers
All arguing this fee, but apparently we were the first. Be warned this is a way for the hotel to make interest off your money and it's actually illegal to "hold" a customers money without stating prior to booking. My room cost would not be refunded so they had all the power in this situation unfortunately. Myself and other customers will be taking thus matter further.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked our room on findaroom.com 2 weeks prior to our trip. We read through all of the guidelines which said that we needed our license and booking confirmation form to check in. Upon arrival we noticed on the counter that it said you needed an approved credit card to check in. This we understood as most places require an imprint of your card for security purposes. We were greeted by a young man who had a name badge which said HQST... who then informed us that we needed to provide a $150 bond on our card which would then not be released for 3-5 working days. When we mentioned that we had not seen anything about this bond on the booking form we were told that it is on every booking website. We looked into the website at the time and there was nothing on findaroom.com or the wotif website. During this time the on duty manager also with the namebadge HQST came out and told us it was not their problem and there was nothing they could do to help us. We phoned find a room.com and they informed us that their was nothing on their site. After much arguing the duty manager brought a sheet out to us from a company called Orbitz (an overseas booking company) which had the guidelines for the bond on it. We couldnt phone this company as it was an overseas number. During all of this they on duty manager was extremelly rude and made it out to be all of our fault. We asked if we could pay a cash bond so that we could have the money back straight away and they said no. There were at least 6 guests arrive after us who all had the same problem and were all unaware of the bond. We ended up paying the bond as we couldnt get a refund and had no where else to stay. We were then told that they had upgraded our room...I would hate to see the non upgraded rooms. They were small, unfinished and noisy. Our king size bed was just two single beds put together. Not my idea of comfort. On our way to the room we had to walk around lots of laundry bags and other housekeeping equipment. We checked in at 4pm and it is not a big hotel so things like that should be finished.
We are now waiting to see how long it takes for our money to be released. We understood taking an imprint or a bond that would be paid back immediately...not held onto for a week.
They are a very sneaky and unhelpful establishment. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It says a lot when none of them have their name on their badges.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMM1212314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had an amazing time in Melbourne.
Sophia hotel is ideally located, has fantastic service, friendly staff and great rooms.
The hotel's restaurant is very reasonably priced and the food is superb.
I would advise anyone who wants excellent value for money and a quiet location yet close to the center of town to stay at hotel Sophia!

Room Tip: 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwdg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of the bedroom amd bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable although there was not much space left in the room! Tea and coffee provided was good quality and the hot breakfast a bonus. The staff were helpful and efficient and the location most convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFWx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

great hotel, clean, close to markets and free tram, excellent free breakfast, would highly recommend

Room Tip: book directly through hotel online
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttrraaccyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I read the review before confirmed by booking online for my vacation in April, expect the room will be smaller than a normal hotel room and could be easy to hear the noise from next room. However, i still picked them for their a slightly cheaper price with 4 star rating. I am so regret now and would rather pay a little bit more for another hotel. i don't understand why this hotel is rated a 4 stars hotel !!

This hotel should be a 3 star business hotel for traveller who just need a bed to stay for the night, otherwise, don't expect this hotel will offer you anything extra.

Firstly, only 1 staff at a time and you will need to ring a bell to have staff come to the front desk to serve you. 2ndly, they charge 80 cent per minutes used for local call which is basically a ripe-off for guests. 3rdly, house keeping is very unattentive - tissue still on the fall beside my bed, no-refill for shampoo and condictioner even they were 2/3 empty. 4thly, phone constantly out of order. 5thly, TV is small and so high up on the wall, you will stiff your neck after 10 minutes watch. 6thly, bathrode still has stain on it, which i feel so disguishting of wondering what king of stain they were. 7thly, you will be waked at 8am every morning by the drilling and pounding sound as they are building the 4th & 5th floor now. 8thly, the bed is very uncomfortable, you can only sleep on one side of the bed as there is a ridge in the middle. 9thly, it has a relatively convenient location, but there are men clubs in all 3 corners. Furthermore, i bumped into reporters filming a criminal suspect came out from a building just 2 minutes down on King st (see photo) and witness a gang flight again right at the intersection of the hotel (see photo)

Don't be fool by the 4 star rating and thought this is a good deal, you will regard and it will ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogurt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#140 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#125 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing