We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #118 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 17, 2014

i stayed there for short period to attend world cardiac congress held in Melbourne convention and exhibition center. Cheap and convenient for short stays. Rooms were comfortable and warm. great location. it was value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOUFIQUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for City Centre Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Husband and I stayed overnight in a double ensuite room. Room was moe than adequate. Very clean.
As the room was located on the lane way above a bar/restaurant, you got woken up several times whilst they emptied the bottles into the recycling bin.
Cheap and convenient for short stays. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the ensuite room, but request a quiet one!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We only had a short stay at the hotel, but it was by the far the best place we've stayed on our trip, okay the rooms are slightly on the small side and you don't have an en suite, but the toilets and showers are only down the corridor and on every visit were extremely clean, the rooms are also very clean and beds are very comfy! Good facilities in the rooms, fridge, kettle tv and a well equipped kitchen on the roof terrace. The staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble! Would defiantly recommend to friends and family! Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 760MaryJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Simple rooms with no shower or toilet. The bathrooms outside are nice and clean though. Staff were helpful. There is a handy roof terrace with a kitchen and laundry. I found the room was very dark and I had to have the blind down as it was overlooked by more rooms. Maybe net curtains would be a good idea. Some guests were a bit noisy on my last night which was a shame. Melbourne was OK, just a shame everyone walks around staring at phones. The Mitre Pub was nearby and was nice for a beer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chum38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. Very clean, comfortable and very economical. I paid $75 for a single room which contained a double bed. Close to trams, eateries and shopping. The Sheraton is directly across the road. I had a street room on the second floor but double glazing kept the road noise out. Other noisy guests returning late were the only real downside. I can recommend if you are staying a short time and just want somewhere to sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place has potential. Great location right next to a tram stop for the free tourist tram. Up the road is a great, cheap cafe for breakfast and lunch. About twenty minutes walk from Cbd. This place is like a step up from a hostel. TV, fridge and kettle in the bedroom. Needs new carpets,bathrooms, paint. Free wifi is good and two computers. It's up two big flights if stairs which is ok if you have small luggage but an elevator would really help. I also happened to break my foot while walking around the city while staying here. The receptionists were pretty unhelpful and uncaring, never asked about me and wouldn't move me to the first floor when we asked to switch floors. I'm sure someone would have traded rooms if asked to switch with the girl on crutches. Otherwise fine, I would stay here again for the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest room possible or for a room that's pictured on the website as they don't...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGal8927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you're looking for affordable budget accommodation in the heart of the city, with lots of cafes nearby and a stone's throw away from the MRT - this is it.

Surrounded by bigger, luxury hotels, this hidden jem is certainly well-placed for travellers to explore the surroundings on foot.

If you're travelling with a group of friends, it's recommended to book the Studio Suite with ensuite bathroom - it's more worth it (economies of scale) and you have privacy when using the bathroom.

Not that there is anything wrong with the shared bathroom. On the contrary, the bathrooms are clean, spacious and during our time there, we hardly see more than 2 souls using the bathroom at the same time as us.

Only downside is that the lane where the hotel is situated tend to see groups of youngsters congregating at night, partying and laughing.

Otherwise, negative feedback? None.

I am planning to stay here again with another group of friends in May 2014.

Book the studio suite early as it is always sold out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,182 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#143 of 160 in Melbourne
245 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#138 of 160 in Melbourne
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $58 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing