We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #118 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 28, 2014

City Centre Budget is a good hotel to stay in if you are looking for cheap, central accommodation.

PROS:
- 100M to Parliament Station
- Cheap (we paid $79.00 per night for a double room)
- There is a rooftop terrace where you can get some fresh air or have a few drinks
- 100M to the top of Bourke Street
- Clean rooms
- Good comfy beds
- A cute little café right outside the front door that does great coffee

CONS:
- Shared showers/Toilet (alternatively there is ensuite rooms for a little extra but make sure you bring a pair of thongs if you use the shared showers)
- No aircon (we have stayed in summer and it is surprisingly not that bad!)
- The hotel building is right next to a car park, if you are on the left side of the building it can be a bit bright at night
- No elevator, so take the stairs, probably not that convenient for people with young children

Overall, you get what you pay for. I have stayed here about 5 or 6 times while visiting Melbourne. I would recommend to some people and I wouldn't recommend to some others. It is a personal decision to where you stay and on your budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieLee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 218 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked for three nights in a double room shared bathroom.

The hotel is in a good location on the Spring St end of Little Collins St. Rooms are well priced, look good, but no aircon - only a pedestal fan. Lucky for me, Melbourne was in a 'cool patch' and I didn't have to endure the room in 40 deg days.

My room was number 33 and located on the western side of the building above a laneway. Down the laneway were a number of bars and cafes. During the night there were constantly glass bottles being emptied, people loudly leaving bars, and of course the next morning, garbage trucks emptying the bigger bins of the glasses. All up, the windowed needed to be open because of no aircon, and this meant a very broken nights sleep. It may be worthwhile for the rooms along that side of the hotel to seal the windows closed, and put in a aircon.

The shared bathrooms were fine. Clean and private enough. The noise from other rooms was none and the TV and mini bar fridge in the room were very good.

For those coming from the airport, you can get the SkyBus from Southern Cross Station to the Windsor Hotel which is around the corner and a short walk.

Overall, a hotel with a very good location, good rates and clean. Only, but major, downside was the noise. Its a shame that its coming from their neighbours, but such is inner city locales and they should modify their rooms to minimise the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms numbered 32 to 36 for the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrissieTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I came over here from Perth where I had been staying in a range of 2-3 star hotels which were all were very good and much cheaper than this place. To say I was shocked with the standard would be an understatement. This establishment is really a cross between a hotel and a hostel so be warned.

Firstly having no en-suite bathroom when you are paying a 3 figure sum per night is unbelieveable and unacceptable. The room I booked was not ready or had been given away so I ended up in a "family room" which was very small. The room did not get cleaned once in 3 days. There was a perpetual smell of mould and age that just didn't go away. There was no aircon unit in the room even though the temperature was 44 degrees and the fan on the floor was basically useless in that kind of heat. When I did use the shared bathroom there was old underwear and used towels strewn around on the floor. There was no complimentary tea or coffee or any toiletry of any kind. Does that sound as if it's worth $100 a night?


The only real positives were the city center location and the free wifi but frankly that would not persuade me to stay here again under any circumstances.

Cannot recommend this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 981Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was about half the price of anything else available so didn't expect much.
It's ideal if you don't plan on spending much time in your room. Very well located and about 20 minute walk from Skybus terminal.
Never had a problem using the shared bathrooms as plenty available.
Small room, good tv. Free constant wifi.
Overall excellent value but don't expect a lot.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 for 4 nights. Inner city location was great, close to cafes, shops, tram stop.
Rooms - clean & functional. We were on the top floor and my mother struggled with the stairs as there is no lift, but it didn't really bother me. The TV was great.
Shared unisex bathrooms - I was travelling with my mother and we had no probs - there was never anyone else in the bathrooms when we used them (I would have a shower late at night, always plenty of hot water & pressure)
Rooftop kitchen - didn't use it. It looked a bit spooky but clean. The rooftop terrace was pretty cool and we spent an hour or so there just relaxing.
Free wifi was great, no issues.
In my opinion, a great basic cheap place to stay. I think I paid about $80/night so really can't complain. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairy1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a friend in December.

For the price we paid for this hotel, I'm very impressed. Reception staff were helpful from check-in to check-out. The rooms were small but perfectly adequate and clean. Although the rooms are not en-suite there are plenty of bathrooms which were cleaned regularly.

Other useful facilities include a kitchen and laundry, as well as a roof top social area.

It was a little noisy at night, but we were there in the run up to christmas when locals were out partying after finishing work for the year/Christmas. Plus, what do you expect for a city centre location!

Great location and price for a city centre hotel! Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Melbourne for a week and found this little gem of a hotel through Lonely Planet.

After staying in hostel dorms for a couple of weeks I was looking forward to a room to myself. It was a lovely large double, comfy bed, with TV as a bonus and not too expensive for the time I was there (8th-15th). Was hoping to go back when I'm in Melbourne for 4 days over New Year but they've hiked their prices up for the holidays. Shame.

The hotel's facilities are clean and the hotel is situated perfectly in the CBD, close to coffee shops, bars and restaurants. Despite its central location, the place is pretty quiet. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Free Wi-fi is really good too and there are even free computers available if you need to do something that warrants a machine bigger than a laptop or mobile.

The only downside were the cleaning staff. Most places I have stayed in tend to start cleaning after about 10am when people who are leaving check out. But in this hotel they start at about 8am and are really noisy. I was awakened nearly every morning with them doing things outside my room in the hallway.

Otherwise a great place to stay in Melbourne.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,227 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
625 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $60 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing