We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights while visiting friends. Just needed an inexpensive place to sleep near trams, buses, trains and shops. Bathroom facilities are shared and the rooftop kitchen is only backpacker style, but there are many restaurants and pubs nearby. This place was spot on! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRJPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The City Centre Budget Hotel is located in a very convenient area of Melbourne with easy access to the MCG, Chinatown and there are also plenty of cafes, pubs and restaurants within close proximity. The free City Circle Tram is short stroll to the Parliament end of Little Collins Street.

The rooms:
My mate and I, who were on a boys footy weekend, booked a twin room which was located on the second floor. Although the room was a little small, there was enough room to chill out watch the excellent flat screen LCD TV. There is a large bar fridge that can easily accommodate drinks and food.

I requested a quiet room when booking and was put in room 36 which was on the inside part of the hotel. The window looked out to the rooms on the other side of the internal section of the hotel and it was quiet, as there was building work being carried out on the street side of the hotel which started early and although could just be heard, wasn't too bad. I wouldn't like to be on the street side of the Hotel though.
The beds were really comfortable and the room was clean but they are only cleaned once a week, if you are staying that long. The only issue with the room was there is not really anywhere to hang your towel.

The shared showers and toilets where quite clean and usually pretty empty although they do get busy around 9 am. The shower cubicles are quite large but there is nowhere to place your change of clothes or wash bag on, just one hook for your towel.

The roof top garden area is a real winner for an evening drink where you can sit on the comfy lounges and enjoy the city lights. Although this is a cheap hotel it is comfortable enough for a short stay and as long as you are not planning to spend a lot of time in your room, then book a room and go and enjoy the fabulous City of Melbourne.

I would stay at this hotel again and definitely recommend to travelers with an open mind and aren't fazed about sharing bathroom facilities with other travelers.

Room Tip: Definitely book inside rooms due to the noisy building work across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the outside, it seems very unimpressive; almost American in its brick layout and entrance, being right next to a parking building. But as they say, appearances can be deceptive.

I was in a nice room with a double bed, large TV, free wifi, small fridge, etc. all to myself. This small hotel has been refurbished, which shows in the floor-to-ceiling tiled showers. They were very spacious, and had a constant supply of VERY hot water. Big plus.

Up on the roof is an outdoor space where you can chill, although nearby buildings do seem to loom rather close (especially the new one going up). But it's nice to be able to go outside in the warm sun whilst waiting for laundry to complete its cycle.

Another thing, is the location, on Little Collins St, just nearby the Parliament building. As such, it's mere minutes to stroll to central bars, cafes, shopping centres, and the various botanical gardens, as well as all the attractions Melbourne has to offer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Isaac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were pleasantly delighted by just about everything about our stay in this small quiet hotel. I was six months pregnant when staying here and just wanted a comfy home base from which to explore Melbourne. We stayed in the studio suite and were perfectly content. I've recommended this place to all my friends when they visit Melbourne. It may not have the loud booty call vibe of some hostels, but we definitely weren't looking for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetravelbugsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

... as also "kwm00re" wrote, the City Centre Budget Hotel is rather a hostel, which did not bother us, as we already knew about the shared bathrooms and kitchen before. The hotel has a great location in Little Collins Street - you always stay just around the corner! ;)
Our cosy room in the 2nd floor was a little small, but clean. There was a fan (no AC), TV, fridge, little table, two chairs, mirror, FREE: WiFi, PC, Printer (!!). The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, they sell cold drinks at the reception and if wanted also keep your lugguage after checking out. Due to the absence of an AC (which we were not missing, even in the heat of january) we were leaving our window open 24 hours. Our room was facing the road - for some kind of reason the garbage collection was coming by every night (!) waking us up. As we both do not have problems with sleep (we only have problems with getting up), this did not bother us too much - but maybe try to get a room facing on the inner courtyard of the hotel.
The hotel also offers an awesome rooftop-terrace which was not used by other guests, while we stayed there - it's a perfect place for nice breaky, sundowner or a beer when the moon has risen. Though there are sunshades provided it gets pretty hod during the day. Also you can hang up your laundry (coin washers provided) on the rooftop terrace. The shared kitchen which is located on the roof looked a bit chubby to us, we though only used the microwave once, and usually had our meals outside the hotel.
However we would come here, if we once travel to Melbourne on a budget again!

Room Tip: rooms facing away from Little Collins Street/to inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after a long drive along the eastcoast.
The room was big enough for us (twin room) and clean, it has a fridge and a fan. No AC, but it was relativly cold in Melbourne, so it is ok.
The guy at the reception, can't remember his name, helped us on how to get to the campervan dropoff and how to get back to the city. Also the other staff members were very nice and helpful.
It was a bit confusing, that the shared bathroom was unisex, so first I was wandering around looking for a male shower and was afraid some random girl would come in and start screaming, seeing a man in the bathroom. But apparantly this was clear for all.
We just went up to the rooftop terrace for a smoke, it was ok for that. There were groups of teens drinkng up there, so I guess it wouldn't be difficult to find people to hang around with.
All in all, it was good for the money, the location is great (we walked to the skydeck, burke street mall and chinatown) and the staff is friendly. That's all we expect for a hotel this price class.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a room that we were lead to believe was bigger than it is. The bunk bed was not the safest by any means. The shared bathroom was tidy in the arfternoon but by the evening the sight of someones vomit clogging up the plug hole was just not nice. The nosie level from outside the building was insane and went on untill the wee hours of the morning. On a brighter note the linen on the beds was clean, but no top sheet. Went to see the office staff to check out. note up saying office to open at 7.30am, waitied till 8.00am no one about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#151 of 162 in Melbourne
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#145 of 162 in Melbourne
248 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 162 in Melbourne
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing