We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent budget accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #107 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent budget accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My friend & I were very happy with our stay at City Centre Budget Hotel, the room size was great, the place was very clean & the staff were friendly. The room came equipped with everything we'd need & more. We would definitely stay here again! Location is great too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    93
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
53
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Located on edge of CBD, very convenient for free circle tram and MCG ( 10minutes walk ). Rooms
are small but very clean , contain good quality beds, TV , fridge , heater with little room to move about. Rooms are cleaned weekly for longer stay customers. Suit budget traveler who does not want dorm accommodation with functional kitchen on the rooftop. Reception was helpful with information and luggage deposit available at no extra charge.y. Shared bathrooms were clean and had very hot water for shower. Value for money, not fancy but cheep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We choose this hotel for it's location and price, and fortunately we received much more than expected. We were a family of four and the room was great, and all services very good. Breakfast just in front of the door and the Circle Tram one block away. I really recommend this premise to stay for some days.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

You pay for what you get! Location- ok. Close to parliament st station. 15 min walk to central- flinders st area! What they don't mention on the website is that they only clean the rooms once a week and only give you fresh towels every 4 days- not the best!
Overall stay was ok- its more like a nice backpackers hostel than a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derbyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

as the name suggests, do not expect much from this. if you are on a tight budget, this may be a great choice + they provide free (but weak signals) wi-fi. but if you have a little bit more money to spend, avoid this. my complaints as follows:
1. unfriendly/ no service at the reception. they will provide you with basic info. on our day of departure, the reception opened late. as a result, we had trouble depositing our luggages while we plan to walk around. another traveler was kept outside in the cold.
2. no housekeeping. they do not clean your room. you have to clear the rubbish yourself
3. kitchen is located on the top floor
4. trash bins inside the toilets were not cleared for at least 3 days.
5. room walls are paper thin and sad to say, fellow travelers were not considerate enough to keep their volume down after a night of partying. it kept me awake till about 5am.
6. fresh linen were only provided upon request every 4 days that you sleep there. i was there for 5D4Ns.

wont b back...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SotongSYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is in perfect positioning, with cool bars located round the corner. We arrived early at 10am and was hoping to leave our luggage there however we was allowed to check in early which was even better! Overall the place is clean, easy to find, cheap and friendly staff; what more could you ask for. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassandraE92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was staying for 3 nights, just long enough to see the sights of Melbourne, so I was gone most of the day and only there at nights usually. It's in a superb location in the centre of town, right where you need to be when visiting, and was 70 dollars a night which you can't complain about.
The positives
location
Clean and tidy rooms, communal areas and bathrooms
Wi-fi that worked
Comfortable beds
negatives
The shared bathrooms combined toilet and shower, and they could use a shower curtain. As it is the water goes all over the floor and if you go in after someones had a shower you get wet feet.
The tv only had 4 working chanels, I missed Mad Max 2!
Overall it's a good place to stay if you're working to a low budget and don't plan to stay in too much, I'd stay again if I revisit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Double beds are very nice, worth a few extra dollars a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1986580405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#142 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#140 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Property: City Centre Budget Hotel
Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing