We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is in perfect positioning, with cool bars located round the corner. We arrived early at 10am and was hoping to leave our luggage there however we was allowed to check in early which was even better! Overall the place is clean, easy to find, cheap and friendly staff; what more could you ask for. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassandraE92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was staying for 3 nights, just long enough to see the sights of Melbourne, so I was gone most of the day and only there at nights usually. It's in a superb location in the centre of town, right where you need to be when visiting, and was 70 dollars a night which you can't complain about.
The positives
location
Clean and tidy rooms, communal areas and bathrooms
Wi-fi that worked
Comfortable beds
negatives
The shared bathrooms combined toilet and shower, and they could use a shower curtain. As it is the water goes all over the floor and if you go in after someones had a shower you get wet feet.
The tv only had 4 working chanels, I missed Mad Max 2!
Overall it's a good place to stay if you're working to a low budget and don't plan to stay in too much, I'd stay again if I revisit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Double beds are very nice, worth a few extra dollars a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom1986580405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights recently. If central location and good rates is what you want then this is it. Friendly staff & clean rooms and bathrooms. We were a bit uncertain about sharing the bathrooms but we did not have a problem. They looked after our luggage on last day for a late pickup & gave us clean towels to have a shower & change before we left. The rooftop garden is a bit tired. Take earplugs if your room overlooks the laneway carpark as there is activity over the weekend. We did not use the kitchen as there are a number of eateries close by. Great value for money basic hotel and we would go back.

Room Tip: Inside rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I was really worried about staying here due to never sharing a bathroom before. However this was a lovely friendly hotel and a nice introduction into the world of shared bathrooms before we moved onto hostels. Room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixienixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had difficulty locating the hotel because i started on the other end of Little Collins near Southern Cross that means walking all the length of Little Collins street. Location wise its the best. Just 5 mins from Parliament Station. Its budget hotel and im not expecting that much. Friendly staffs, ask them for anything about Melbourne and there be happy to guide you. The room is enough for 2 people. Double bed with tv,small fridge, place to hang your clothes and 2 chairs set. Common bathroom. Its clean but i guess its hard to be please because everyone shares it. They have a roof top where you can relax around and anytime. Its an ideal place for my needs - cheap, sleep, safe and location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumper1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a private double room. bad smell of BO permanently in the room, but otherwise appeared clean.Nbed comfortable, communal bathroom clean. Staff very friendly. Woke up to loud construction noise at 7am, as there is a construction site on the other side of the street (looks like it's going to be that way for at least 6 months). Location not bad. Probably will pay another $20 next time I come to melb and stay somewhere a bit nicer... I recommend this place only to those on a strict budget who dont want to stay in a shared dorm.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoynnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great location, everything was very clean, staff were friendly. The rooms are fairly small but if you're only staying a week or so it's no worries as you don't spend much time in the room when you're exploring a city anyway. Loved it there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#151 of 162 in Melbourne
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#145 of 162 in Melbourne
248 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 162 in Melbourne
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing