We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, great value for a harbor view apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #30 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, great value for a harbor view apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 12th Floor. It had lovely views of the harbor, and is only 5 minute walk to Telstra Dome (for my first Australian Rules Football game) and 10 minutes to the CBD. There is a tram nearby, and they are doing lots of work to make the Docklands boardwalk a hip, up and coming place with nice restaurants.

I've enclosed photos. For the money, it can't be beaten. Clean, comfortable, and the check-in and check-out staff were very friendly. Free parking just downstairs. Washing machine and dryer, dishwasher and full kitchen.

There are only a few criticisms. The first is the design of the bathtub. The faucet is right in the middle and protrudes more than normal. If you're taking a shower, you tend to hit it with your knee. The second is the bare minimum of the necessities. For example, the fridge is a mid-size, but the space is for a large fridge. The dishwasher is a cheap one, as are the knives and cupboards. On the whole, small criticisms and it is a public apartment, so it's unrealistic to expect the quality of a house I'm buying.

All in all, it really made our week in Melbourne a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Value, Location, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — A feeling of incompleteness. 80% there, but not 100% in the quality.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    258
    112
    48
    24
See reviews for
211
115
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

We were booked into a to bedroom apartment through the Mercure and were initially disappointed by a few things. First, the place is not easy to find, even for people who are familiar with Melbourne, ie the reception is very poorly sign posted and not easy to get to once you know where it is. Second, parking in most of the buildings (there are 4 or 5 seperate from each other) is difficult almost to the point of ridiculousness.

Once we got to the room, we found that both bedroom door handles were not even on the doors, thus leaving them unable to be closed at all, and the apartment was still in the middle of a maintenance period. This was brought to the attention of the duty manager (Wendy) who informed us that they were 100% full and she would see what could be done. She advised us to come back in a few hours. When we returned, we had been allocated a new room which was great. Only one bathroom ( the rate was reduced accordingly), but very big. It had nice furnishings and was well equipped for a self contained stay.

On our last night, management had left a bottle of wine in the room to make up for the initial problems. It didn't really, but it was appreciated.

The duty manager did all she could in a somewhat difficult situation and should be congratulated. The hotel has a pool and gym which are adequate. It is walking distance from the cbd (10-15 minutes) and has many shops nearby if you need food or groceries etc.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed here recently over new years eve and found it terrible. They were nearly 2 hours late with our room, then lost the keys to it. When we finally were able to check in we were told we need a credit card, and the visa debit card was only acceptable to reserve the room and pay for it. I do not use credit cards, and had to get a friend to lend me thiers to check in. When we finally got into the room there were marks all over the carpet and walls, with towel rails ripped out of the walls in both bathrooms. Despite staying here for 4 nights, clean towels were not included. They offered us clean towels at an extra 25 dollars a night. When we went to reception to ask for directions there was only one lady at the counter, with a line of approximately 10 people cued up. Despite charging for new years eve as a peak time, they obviously do not put on the staff required. I will never stay here again, and strongly advise that if you are thinking of staying here, you think again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank arfurcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
512 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2006

I stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment.
Someone else booked it for me (I have since learned to be in control of my own bookings!) so I was expecting a hotel, not an apartment.

However, it appeared fine.
2 double bedrooms, mine a bit small, the other one a bit larger.
Bathroom seemed satisfactory, a washing machine and tumble drier came in handy as I could wash a few shirts.

Did not really use the kitchen, we soon found a good selection of restaurants along the waterfront, had a great Indian meal in particular. We also found an early opening cafe that did a good hot breakfast, so all in all did not need the kitchen, but long stayers here may find it very useful.

The lounge had a good waterfront view, attractive, and quiet. No noise disturbed me. The lounge was quite a nice place to sit, particularly in the evening, and look at the waterfront.

Service did not really come into it, we were taken up and shown the apartment on check in, and did not really see anyone after that. I departed very early, so left the key in the office.

I found, as others have said, that it was easy to get a taxi, or the tram stop was a short walk away.

All in all, a different experience to a standard hotel, which worked out quite well.

  • Liked — The view, selection of restaurants below
  • Disliked — size of my room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2006

Hi,
We had 5 adults staying in a 2 bedroom in November. We thought the accommodation worked out very well. We had a great view of the water, with the floor to ceiling windows. Having two bathrooms allowed us to get ready quickly in the morning. The apartment that we had was quite modern with all of the items we needed in the kitchen, bathroom, etc. The only complaints I have which were minor were the extra bed brought in was not comfortable, the carpets were a bit dirty from wear (nothing a vaccuum could pick up) and the elevator was slow, but these are minor.
The Docklands is a huge development and there are a lot of restaurants at the bottom of the building and around. Therefore, it is easy to go out for a bit-to-eat.
The City Circle Free Tram is only a short walk away which makes it easy to connect with the rest of the city. After 6 pm when the free tram does not run, it is easy to take one of the other city trams. We stayed in the Fitzroy area on our return and would recommend this area....felt more touristy with lots of people around.

  • Tips/Secrets — look for a place with a good location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfamilycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2006

This Hotel is fantastic for families, the apartment has everything a family needs, washing machine, tumble dryer, all kitchen equipment plus more.

rooms are very clean, in fact spotless, easy walking distance to the city the free tram around the city, hope on/off to see all of Melbourne.

staff are fantastic always willing to help.

Great views of the city.

I fully recommend this hotel, 100% no problem at all

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — try it you wont be Disappointed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank leip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

We booked directly with Mercure with two main conditions, firstly that we had a quiet room and secondly that we be close to a family member's apartment. Neither of these criteria were met. Our 1 bed apartment faced Nor-East and received all the traffic and train noise. Secondly our room was on the 20th floor and the family member's room was on the 8th floor, and with the security system we were unable to get to the 8th floor and they were unable to get to the 20th!

The 8th floor apartment was very nice and quiet. It faced South overlooking the water. So my recommendation is when booking make sure you are on the South side.

I would not recommend our style apartment for the infirm, there was a shower over the bath and the bath is extra high, so anyone elderly or infirm may have trouble getting in and out of the bath.
We often stay in apartments and for the same price there are better places to stay than the Mercure Dockside.

  • Liked — Views from high floor.
  • Disliked — Noise. Not dble glazed windows.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book accommodation facing South.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Quest Docklands
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing