We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and fantastic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #31 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location and fantastic room”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed at the 'harbour view' room within the Grand Mercure complex at Docklands in November 2009.Holidaying with family with young children so asked for a 3 bedroom apartment.. I wasn't really expecting much as it was only a place to stay for the 3 days we were spending in Melbourne... The room was fantastic, 3 well sized bedrooms with the main having an ensuite with spa and shower all with a walk in robe.

The views were equally fantastic, with a large wrap around balcony that was on level 21 of the building, wasn't expecting this much luxury that went with the room!! The staff were helpful and helped out when there were problems with car parking. I don't have anything negative to say about the Grand Mercure, was a pleasurable stay.

Totally recommend for families with children - there are plenty of restaurants down on the Docklands strip to choose from but be careful as the ones we tried were pricey with food that didn't quite match the pricetag..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    259
    113
    48
    24
See reviews for
212
115
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

My mother and 7 of her friends booked in with this hotel and requested adjoining rooms. This was approved a few weeks or so ago, and last week they rang up to confirm their booking – and the fact that the rooms would be joined was also confirmed.
Upon arriving in Melbourne today they have been told that they will not be getting adjoined rooms?
What kind of quality system is there present here? What would have happened if it were a family staying in these 2 rooms, with the kids in one booked room a whole level below or above the parents – or one of the rooms being for someone with a disability and then a carer in the adjoined room?
My mother and her friends have not formally complained as they don’t want to put a dampner or negative influence on their holiday – but when she told me I was completely shocked. I had previously believed that the Grand Mecure was a trusted and quality assured company – and I would never have recommended that they book with you if I had known that their request would be completely ignored. I am sure that they would have requested at least rooms on the same level had they known that the hotel would not be able to provide them with adjoining rooms, and if a same level was not available they definitely would have gone to a completely different hotel – but seeing now that they have paid for their booking, they have to stay in different rooms on completely different floors!? Very bad customer service.
I hope that someone in management gets to read this – as I will be doing my best to spread the word to fellow friends, colleagues and acquaintances that ‘you may not get what you are promised at grand Mecure Docklands’.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ginger_ninja_jaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We only chose the Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands, Melbourne because it was close to a wedding reception which we were attending.
WOW. We were pleasantly surprised.
The Mercure has several apartment buildings from which to choose.
We stayed in the newest one: The Condor.
There were minor issues with some of the fittings, but it was obvious that these were to be rectified between the contracted builder and Mercure. Yes it really was that new.
The rooms were very neat and tidy with all appliances, kitchenware and crockery that you needed for self catering.
Each apartment has a balcony where you could smoke if you are that way inclined.
We had a view of Melbourne, which is very close.
A "short stroll" as they say. There is plenty of public transport very close by, including the "City Circle" tram which is free.
There is a plethora of restaurants of a variety of cultures and cuisine from which to choose.
Do yourself a favour and get fish and chips from The Fish Bar on the Promenade.
Also close by are supermarkets and a liquor store.
SUMMARY: Great apartments with everything you need and located in prime position.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

It hard to believe that a hotel brand would consider managing such a poor dirty apartment over the holidays, the apartment was in poor condition, the walls were soiled, lounge broken at one end, tolet seat broken, such a disapointment really spoiled our holiday!!!, at $450.00 a night and for four 4 nights.. it was a costly holiday, We had booked well in advanced it was pre-payed because of the holiday period, we couldn't believe the response, rude, disinterested, we paid for the room to be serivced but that was denied, we didn't get the apartment we had paid for....there was no view from the balcony so we missed out in seeing the fireworks.. the room-service meals were so bad that even the staff, couldn't pretend that there wasn't anything wrong with it.... not sure what impression they wanted to convey with their attitude, never an apology or a suggestion to accommodate us for what we had paid for.. there was no access to the gym, and the phones didn't work as well... out-of-pocket almost $2000 for 4 days for what could be best described as a nightmare!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sydneysara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at Grand Mercure Docklands - Conder Apartment, the one closet to the city tram. We booked 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms apartment for 3 nights. The view were great. The bedrooms are large. Main bedroom has a great view of harbour while the other 2 bedrooms have the street and railway view. The lounge room and kitchen both have view of traffic, Docklands Eyes on 1 side and the harbour on other side. In kitchen and dining area have window glass from floor to ceiling. The apartment is clean, the kitchen has all good brand utensils. We have 2 parking spaces free of charge. They also give us a box of chocolate for my mom's birthday. The internet speed is OK, huge LCD TV. Main balcony with harbour view can access from the main bedroom and lounge. 2nd bedroom also has a very small balcony. Also there are 2 sofa beds in the lounge room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

The only thing going for this hotel is its location. It is situated close to David Jones, Myers,CHina Town and other happening place in the heart of Melbourne. In fact the bus pick up for tours to Great Ocean Road are bang opposite the hotel.

Since I was on my honeymoon, we got a free upgrade to a suite plus champagne. Would have been excellent except that the suite was no different from a standard twin bed room. The hotel needs to work on its furniture too. Our corridor was small, noisy and totally unappealing.

Staff was nice though esp the concierge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was too small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Advance reservation for 2 nights stay Habour View One Bedroom Suite has been made on the accor web. At check-in the room has got 80% city view only when stand at the balcony and face out to the harbour you can see it. They said the room is full when I requested to changed and finally I was informed that the one-bed room suites are only located around this area only. If I had booked 2-bedroom or 3 bedrooms, they are located in the buildings with better view. THEN IF YOU TRAVEL ALONE OR WITH YOUR PARTNER AND NEED TO OCCUPIED ONE BEDROOM SUITE. THIS IS A VERY BAD CHOICE to stay.
(Photos of so called "Habour View" Suite will be attached soon for a proof hgow badly.)
From the reception, which located at one building in the middle, you will have to walk to a few building blocks to rach the accommodation building. You have to carry your own luggage and walk through an openair carpark or walk on the footpath and I felt so badly at the time we reached the room plus very bad room assigment or misleading information at reservation time.

No service at front desk, even some staff there. No staff to assist with the luggage, no troley for more convenience to move the luggage a few blocks.

The view of the harbour is so so. Nothing to compare with any harbour in Sydney. (Although I prefer Melbourne personally.)

Luggage story is the same when we checked out. Get all the heavy things down (big because we travel many days this trip) take it all along to return the key at a few different blocks from where you are.

Never ever expect service there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UncensoredLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
669 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
937 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing