We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #32 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Chinchilla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I found everything excellent from the receptionists to the apartment. I would have no hesitation staying here again. Thank-you for a job well done. The apartments were in excellent condition with great amenities. The staff at reception were well presented and extremely helpful throughout my staff and also afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Noneplease_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Docklands. I am happy to hear that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our staff and your accommodation overall. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Docklands on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    259
    112
    48
    24
See reviews for
212
115
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the booking stage the staff are excellent , they recommend a Limo service to pick up from the Airport, I suggest you take it. The room was very good with full kitchen, it is close to the Docks, and a free tram just outside the front door. We would stay here again. Bed was comfortable, and the unit had very good heating, A/C in lounge and bedroom, the weather was very cold when we where there.but we where nice and warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Mercure Docklands. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward welcoming you back on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in a 2-bed, 2-bathroom apartment on level 15 of the Arkley block. Overall the apartment was great for us (family of 4) with loads of space, 2 good bathrooms and a full kitchen. We had a harbour view which was beautiful and the free tram stopped very close by. Minor complaints would be the distance from reception to the building (3 blocks pushing suitcases) and trigger-finger showers which were either boiling hot or meekly tepid. No issues with cleanliness or helpfulness of staff. Only a shame the weather wasn't good enough to enjoy the pool. Would stay again if we wanted to be in this part of town.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the views. Harbour views don't get as much sun, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The apartments at the Grand Mercure Docklands provides nearly everything one needs if you are staying for more than a few days in Melbourne and it is very convenient to Etihad Stadium. If you are visiting for a while and planning on attending an event at Etihad, this is a very conveniently located place. I was staying in a 2 room apartment with 2 bathrooms. The larger room had a queen size bed while the smaller room had two twin beds. Towels were provided for use after a shower and the apartment comes with plates, utensils, and a washer and dryer. An iron is also available for your use. There is also a pool available but I wasn't able to try it out during my short stay.

There were a few things I was quite disappointed with. First, if you are utilizing the car park, you need to get out of the car in order to open the gate rather than having the ability to scan your key while in the convenience of the driver's seat. You also need to be careful not to stand in the way of the beam or else you will stop the gate from opening. Additionally, I had to check out quite early in the morning to catch a 6AM flight and was surprised to see that the front desk was closed and unstaffed. Though the restaurants in the area are mostly open during the evenings, it was hard to find one open during lunch.

I wouldn't mind staying here if I had to be in Melbourne for a few days and didn't have a car. However, this place wouldn't be at the top of my list if I had a car with me during my stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Worst checkin ever had, no parking available to check in- extremly difficult to find room and carpark. Check fine print carfully- serviced apartment means serviced once a week- $30 to $50 to get apartment serviced with fresh towels or you can wash them yourself. Location just to far to walk into the city. For the money charged you can get a properly serviced apartment in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with 5 guessed.. Apartments are so separated that you have to walk up the road back to reception so that u get a new supply of fresh towels for yourself, rooms not cleaned or restocked once on our 3 nights and 4 days we where there. Rooms had water damage and dirty and grim especially around windows also showers n toilet area. Considering a great view was the only thing it had going for it was very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littletraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was lucky to get 'pay for 2 but get 3' promotion and stayed in 3 bed-room apartment with 6 people. The view was great with the water and bridge, especially when sunset and lights on. The balcony is very close to your neighbor's, if they are quite noisy, could be a bit annoying.

It's clean, spacious and convenient. For family on holidays, it can be a good choice. Beds are soft and comfortable, parking need to pay extra 30/day.

Please note that the reception is in another building across the street, which was very confused at the beginning. Hope the sign can be more clear.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#22 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Quest Docklands
#21 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing