We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expected a bit more for the price tag. But nice all the same.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #29 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more for the price tag. But nice all the same.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked a 3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom apartment with Harbour Views for the Melbourne Cup.
I have previously booked my hubby and his mates a similar apartment and i am told that their one was far superior to one we ended up with.

Still! It had nice decor', it was very clean and the beds were lovely and comfortable. Shops and Restaurants were everywhere.

My only gripe.. and i guess it wouldn't have bothered me except the apartments were so expensive. The airconditiong, once turned on sounded like a truck reving on the balcony. A friend was sitting on the balcony enjoying the view when i turned it on.. nearly sent him over the edge. :) The volume inside was also quite loud.

The room sizes were a little on the small side. The 3rd Bedroom - luckily, only had one person in it. Would have been squishy with two.

The security lift is a great idea. But with only two keys between five people there were a few times i had to duck downstairs in my pj's just to let others in.

Overall the staff were very nice. We did get a phone call (very pleasant) to make sure we were leaving right on 10am though. Another couple in the lift checking out of an Accor apartment said that reception told them they would be charged late fees if they didn't hussle and vacate quickly.

I would stay here again. But next time i'll make sure to check which building and apartment i'll be getting first.

Room Tip: Check the building you'll be assigned too. Some have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_99_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear JJames13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our product and our location and amenities. We take note regarding your comments about the distance between reception and the rooms. We do have a unique set up and as you are aware the Docklands Precinct is immense with many buildings and streets and it is spread over a vast area. Docklands just keeps on growing! We have passed your comments onto our maintenance team in relation to the shower pressure and this will be checked of course. In relation to parking charges, we have ensured that the charge is less than what you pay at public car parks in the greater CBD area. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you will return again to experience our product.

Many thanks
Michael Boyd
Operations Manager
Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    256
    111
    46
    24
See reviews for
207
114
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Views from the apartment are fantastic, specially at night time overlooking the marina which is actually quite small and the well lit bridge in the background.The pluses are; a selection of good restaurants, closeness to the Etihad stadium and a host of other amenities, not forgetting the excellent tram links.
The luxury well appointed two bedroom apartment that we stayed however has a few downsides; the most irritating for us was to collect and drop off the keys from reception some distance away. Transporting luggage from the car park to the room is truly gruesome. The shower temperature was quite low. An extra charge of 1.5% for using the credit card and $15 charge for car parking in an expensive apartment is really pushing it! Unless you have to be in the neighbourhood, the views alone dosen't justify the price tag!

Room Tip: Travel light, the distance from the car park to the apartment and the number of doors will tire you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bipinbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear BipinBolton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our product and our location and amenities. We take note regarding your comments about the distance between reception and the rooms. We do have a unique set up and as you are aware the Docklands Precinct is immense with many buildings and streets and it is spread over a vast area. Docklands just keeps on growing! We have passed your comments onto our maintenance team in relation to the shower pressure and this will be checked of course. In relation to parking charges, we have ensured that the charge is less than what you pay at public car parks in the greater CBD area. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you will return again to experience our product.

Many thanks
Michael Boyd
Operations Manager
Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The 3 bed apartment was very spacious and had everything that you need. The location was fantastic with lots of fabulous restaurants right on the door step so you didnt have far to go. Its close proximity to the central city area was great transport right on your doorstep or easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Looking forward to going back and would recommend to everyone, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Thanks...the location was excellent! Close to shopping, great resturants and easy access to transport. It was a quiet location, comfortable accomodation and all that we needed for a fantastic weekend get-away to celebrerate the coming of age!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

everything was great except for computer connection on my laptop via Telstra - it wouldnt work but worked fine travelling home next day.
I wondered if you were blocking private connections to force use of hotel paid connection .
If so not happy as it stuffed the work i had to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nearlyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We read all the reviews on here and took note of all the complaints. Parking - it's clearly there on the website, $15 a night, that's excellent value, especially as it's secure parking and the bonus factor for me was that our parking spot was right at the end, just out the exit stair near our apartment.

Locating the place and check-in. On the website, they tell you where to go if you're driving and even advise there are 15 min parking spots on Caravel Lane. So having taken heed of the advice, we parked there, walked the 100m down St Mangos Lane to check in.

Check in was a breeze and the young bloke who checked us in even took time to explain that we'd have to drive a certain route to get into the car-park, as it's a left turn only into Palmyra Way, which is where the car-park entry for the Conder Building is. The Conder is also a secure building with swipe card access required to enter the building and then to get up to any level. We were in Apartment 103, which is probably the farthest away from the lifts, but that just means there's nobody walking past your door, making noise. The Conder is located at the Harbour Esplanade end of the whole Grand Mercure Apartments complex, and although that puts you closer to the city, the apartments glazing really cuts the noise, besides, there’s more cyclists than cars around there. It also means you’re a 10 minute walk from Squires Brewhouse and any of the noisy bodies that may roll out of there.

So, Apartment 103, Obviously on level 1, views straight out onto the harbour and over to Central Pier, Etihad Stadium and the Channel 7 Sports Broadcast Centre. A comfortable little apartment for two, but with a separate little room containing a sofa bed. The main bedroom had an en-suite entry to the bathroom, and a door the other side of the bathroom meant that if you’re still asleep, your partner doesn’t have to go through the bedroom to access the bathroom.

Ceiling to floor blockout blinds in the bedroom don’t keep out as much light as I’d like, but then I like a pitch black room for sleeping. Although the room faced straight onto the harbour so the morning sun was only coming from the left and not straight in. The living space also had ceiling to floor windows to provide an unobscured view, and blinds to keep out the UV in the afternoon.
.
Balcony access from either the bedroom or lounge space also means you or your partner needn’t wake wake the other when going out to the balcony for a morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadManners_61168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

These apartments are in a wonderful location. With restaurants right underneath you, you don't need to think about getting anywhere else at night, just head down the lift and the choices are many and varied. Just a tram ride away from Melbourne's CBD with everything at your fingertips. Fantastic experience and would use these apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#52 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#18 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Quest Docklands
#24 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Apartments Melbourne Domain Docklands
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing