We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #32 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good experience, would stay again”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great location, easy access to trams and transport, very close to shopping, restaurants and water view were fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and very comfortable, I like the apartment set up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    259
    113
    48
    24
See reviews for
212
115
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We started late looking for places to stay over the Grand Prix weekend in Melbourne. 1 week before the event and most places were sold out or massively overpriced.

We didn't expect a great place for the price we paid - given the other prices we had seen online - but were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the apartment and amenities. We had driven 10 hours from Sydney, leaving at noon, so we arrived late but this wasn't a problem. We met an assistant outside the block who personally checked us in, took us to our car parking space and our room - it was completely stress free we paid for our late check in and secure car parking space extras in our room. Based on the 17th floor the views over Etihad stadium, the marina and some of the city were good.

The room had 2 medium sized rooms and 2 bathrooms (1 with a bath). The lounge was great to kick back in and the large balcony provided a good supply of fresh air.

Given the proximity to the city centre (a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll) it was peaceful and quiet and although we didn't spend much time in the apartment, we enjoyed the time we did spend there.

We didn't use the transport (city circle tram), instead preferring to walk across the Yarra and along southbank.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Our accommodation was very comfortable- a three bedroom apartment,
But to get into the place with a wheelchair was a nightmare.
Signage was totally inadequate.
Finding the reception office-no off street parking.
Finding the entrance to the apartment building- no all weather access.
Finding the underground carpark- no indication of numbers until you are right on them.
Very poor signage once in the carpark- a lottery to find the entrance to the correct tower.
No connecting apartments despite requesting them when we made our reservations.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docnmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Docklands accommodation was well located, clean & tidy and allowed us to visit Melbourne and still have some space larger than a Hotel room I have stayed here several times and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I hate water saving shower heads. The ones installed in these nice apartments are of a worse kind. You can stand for half an hour under shower and still wonder whether you are wet already. Crazy stuff. And it gets even more interesting when you try to wash off the soap.
Construction noise outside starts really early in the morning, they build new apartment building next door and a road on the other side.
Beds are hard.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDmitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
671 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing