We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the vanguard the Australian Ballet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Australian Ballet

The Australian Ballet
Ranked #143 of 375 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Australian Ballet exists to inspire, delight and challenge audiences through the power of its performances. The Australian Ballet is one of the world's premier ballet companies and has delivered extraordinary performances for over 50 years. A commitment to artistic excellence, a spirited style and a willingness to take risks have defined the company from its earliest days, both onstage and off. Moving effortlessly between the great classical ballets and new contemporary commissions, the company has a uniquely Australian style, powered by artistry and athleticism.
melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the vanguard the Australian Ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Bella Figura one of the most stunning ballets i have ever seen was simply stunning. the art centre is an amazing place to watch the ballet and i would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“World class ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been a season subscriber for more years than I care to remember and can only say that we are so lucky to have here in Melbourne one of the best ballet companies in the world. The standard of dancing can't be faulted and it is a real joy to see such talent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I saw their production of 'Don Quixote" and it was brilliant. The scenery and costumes were magnificent and the dancing - well, it was superb. They are a world class company and as good as any I have seen on the major stages of the world. Congratulations!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuntieFloTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of my annual things to do in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Every September for many years, I watch the Australia ballet performing the Swan Lake and I always enjoy this magnificent story.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank susi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don Quixote - The Australian Ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I attended a final dress rehearsal for The Australian Ballet's Don Quixote last night and the word 'WOW' comes to mind. The production and choreography were by Rudolf Nureyev under the artistic direction of David McAllister and the parts of Kitri (Dulcinea) and Balsilio (her paramour) were played by two brilliant young Russian dancers, Natalia Osipova and Ivan Vasiliev. It would be hard to fault any aspect of this ballet. The orchestra under the baton of Nicolette Fraillon was amazing, the sets magnificent, the costumes stunning and the ballet itself mesmerising. Every dancer danced superbly and the consensus as I left the theatre was that we had witnessed a magical ballet. This ballet has something for everyone and is well worth seeing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stfn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Australian Ballet also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Australian Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing