We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #427 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Oxon, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I'm amazed this place has only a handful of reviews, it's a local favourite for fish and chips, and is always busy, especially on a sunny day.

I live nearby and eat here regularly, take-out or dine in. It's never quiet, and has a wide enough menu to keep it interesting. Flake, dory, salmon, tuna, calamari, prawns etc, with chips, rice and salads. I think they may even do burgers, but have never seen anyone eat one...

Very good value for Melbourne, fish, chips and a salad for under $15, always delicious - 100% fresh, never greasy and a great place for a cheap eat if you can grab a table. No tables? The beach is 5mins walk away.

Seriously, if you are looking for a great cheap feed by the sea with a great atmosphere and a beer or two, this is the place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Black_Rocko_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Best grilled fish, calamari and salad bar. Really good service and I dine there 2-3 times a month. Cannot recommend this place anymore, MUST try.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodloverrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“All time fav take away in Port Melbourne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Grilled fish pack with brown rice and Greek salad is my weekly meal. I just love it. Same quality everytime.

Helpful?
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fish and chips with the lot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the best fish and chip place in Melbourne. You can get the usual fried variety but eat in and enjoy the meals with a beer or glass of wine. For 2 people it will set you back about $50 but you won't leave hungry. A big plate of fish, chips, calamari and salad. Hum. Walk past any time day or night and wait for an outside table. You'll be glad you did!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank green_grassMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food at affordable prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had the Oceans 11, which is a selection of seafood i.e prawns, fish, calamari etc all fried. Whereas our other family members had grilled seafood salad and prawn skewers which looked so much more amazing!! Overall we all enjoyed our food and the environment was great!

Helpful?
Thank Emin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing