We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne
Ranked #145 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 1, 2013

These are not the most modern apartments but the they are spacious, clean, the beds comfortable and the shower excellent. Parking at the door was very welcome with small children and it was very quiet at night. 5 min walk to Rathdowne Village and great park for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor I was a bit worried that I may have made a mistake when I booked 5 nights for a family get-a-way, but my concerns were groundless. If you want a 5 star apartment for a 3 star price then Apartments on Lygon is not for you. If you want a 3 star apartment close to the city at a reasonable price then this might just suit you.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment at the front - some noise from Lygon Street but not bad enough to disturb our sleep.
The apartment is showing its age and you could pick faults with the maintenance but on the whole it was clean and odour free.
Furnishings and fitout are plain but functional - beds are comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.
Location is great - 15 minutes to city on the tram (tram stops at the door) , 5 - 10 minutes walk to good restaurants. Yes there is a cemetry across the road but we weren't overly troubled by ghouls or ghosts.
Would I stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of five just spent four nights in a two bedroom apartment. It was very conveniently located and a good size but that's about all that recommends it. It looked nothing like the pictures on the website. The carpet was stained, the apartment smelled very musty, the fire alarm was on a shelf in the cupboard, the gas stove wobbled dangerously (a potential disaster with two toddlers) and there were no doona covers - just a top sheet, a doona then another top sheet. The kids ended up in a tangle of sheets and a bare doona each night - which was also stained. Yuk. The bathroom was clean and looked recently renovated. The heater worked well. Overall I think it was dreadfully overpriced. I've stayed in cleaner and more salubrious hostels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 714Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Freezing cold rooms, heating did not work properly - had to drag mattress out of the bedroom to be near the heater! One tiny couch in room for 2 people. Filthy carpets, dirty blankets which I would not use. Linen needs replacing, tea coffee not replenished each day. Description of location misleading - no close amenities if you need to purchase anything late at night. Would have been better paying 30 extra dollars and staying in the city. Never ever again! Would rather sleep in the cemetary across the road

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband, in-laws and baby daughter stayed here overnight in a 2 bd apartment but would have comfortably stayed a week or more. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. I stayed in the front room against the street and did find the traffic quite noisy but it did not bother my husband or my baby. We had everything we needed, although I would have liked a heater in the bedroom as it was quite cold but there is ac in the living room.
Overall, I would stay again as it was comfortable and easy to catch a tram from directly in front of the apartment to the city, and also a very short walk to cafes for a meal. It was also very family friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at Apartments on Lygon for a month this year whilst doing a work related residency. I had a fantastic time and the apartment was ideal and I made it my home for the duration of my stay. In short....... a great location, very easy access to the city on the tram or walking. Helpful management and staff who were happy to help with extra requests such as printing etc and the rooms were serviced daily and kept clean and supplied with fresh towels .

As a female alone I found the apartments ideal, I felt safe in the area in the day and late at night. The Kent Hotel near by did great food and also the 169 cafe does the best brunch! Clothes shops and boutiques also really great in this area. I would wholeheartedly reconmend it!
Jess

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was very surprised after recommending these apartments to a friend that she told me she had bad reviews on TA. I don't know where these people stayed but it was certainly not at the apartments I was in. On the city edge with easy access by car or public transport, these are exceedingly good value for money. As a party of four we had well presented rooms with lovely linens, a fully equipped kitchen, full-size bath & shower, dining table & flat screen TV. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, there was plenty of info about city attractions & out of town tours and always someone on hand to help with bookings or directions. I would thoroughly recommend Apartments on Lygon and do!

Room Tip: Lygon St side is sunny & peaceful views of Melbourne Cemetery (well worth a look around!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#157 of 161 in Melbourne
87 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
140 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Arrow On Swanston
#130 of 161 in Melbourne
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne

Address: 700 Lygon St, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $83 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments on Lygon has 22 apartments that all include fully equipped Kitchens for self-catering, and they're spacious enough for you to feel very comfortable during your stay. Appointed with modern furnishings and a touch of the local culture, you have the choice of 1 or 2 bedrooms and most of the apartments have a private balcony or courtyard. Unlike many other Melbourne accommodation places, car parking is on-site and included in the tariff - there is even enough space to park a mini bus if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Apartments On Lygon - Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Residence Apartments On Lygon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing