We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Great Location”
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citiclub Hotel
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 8, 2013

GREAT LOCATION !!!!!!!
Really Enjoyed our stay. Room was on the 6th Floor, we had no corridor noise, and the light muffled noise from the nightclub was no bother to us. Cleaning staff and Security Staff were very pleasant and friendly. Reception desk staff were adequate, parking $22 per 24 hours which we found on par with the many other places we have stayed at in Melbourne CBD. Breakfast was supplied, our stay was a special through Postcard, wouldn't bother with that again, milk, juice, cereal, muesli type bar and PLASTIC BOWL all kept in a cupboard at reception to be collected each morning. Warm milk and juice Plastic Bowl No Thanks. Plenty on eateries Close By.
But over all Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again .

Room Tip: On the upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 318 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Citiclub on the way back from our honeymoon. I had picked up a special from Hotel Club and to be honest wasn't really expecting anything great given the price. Well I am pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were excellent, check in was easy, parking close and reasonably priced at $22, room was a good size given the location and very well presented. The hotel is a little aged but this had little impact on our stay and I would not hesitate to stay again.. Our stay even included breakfast at the cafe next week which was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dare2burbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was ok clean and tidy and they catered for our needs when requesting a sofa bed but the noise from the nighclub was horrendus. I could not believe it! the bathroon was shaking lol. It is central to the city and the staff were ok. Dont stay here is you have children. But if you are a party animal and wont be in the hotel much then this is definately were to stay. The buffett breakfast was good also no complaints there

Room Tip: try and get them to put you as high up as possible to avoid the noise from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojotnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my 4th stay at citciclub as love the price and specially the location but this trip was awful. I realize the hotel has a nightclub but has never bothered me like it did on this stay. It must have been floor and room number - 4/11. We got back to our room at 11 and nightclub went on until 4-5 in the morning. As well as hearing the doof doof we were that close that I knew the songs that were playing. I think the hotel should pre warn guests staying in this room on nights the club is open or leave it vacant as it was impossible for us to sleep. Always enjoy the buffet breakfast in the cafe next door - staff in there very friendly

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

How great to be so close to everything! How terrible to be on top of so many night clubs! Our quiet-as-possible room on the seventh floor needed more than ear plugs. I think some double glazing would transform the place, because otherwise the room was adequate, the (included) breakfast at the cafe a very reasonable buffet, etc. I don't think I've ever encountered taps that turned in opposite directions. It must be deliberate, because the basin and the shower both did it. The towels were a bit thin. And the corridor lights, which are sensor activated, were irritating in the night, because whenever someone came along, the light shone under and round the door.

Room Tip: It's possible that the seventh floor rooms on the Queen Street side are quieter - the ones at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the price its definately not worth it. Here's why:

-staff were extremely unhelpful and rude. I worked in customer service for many years, I do not like to complain about service often as some people have bad days etc, but this was terrible. I would never be this rude to customers. Room service completely ignored our do not disturb sign twice and just took it off and left it lying on the floor in our room. When confronted, reception staff were rude and didn't care.
-elevator is not safe. When going down a couple of times we and other guests had to pry it open to get out. It also often does not stop level at the floors. Very scary and staff don't care.
-club is loud even at top floor. If you're a light sleeper - go somewhere else. They also seem to care more for their clubbing guests than hotel guests and the upkeep of rooms is nowhere near as nice as the upkeep of the club. Don't trust the 4 star rating or pictures!
-hallways looked like something out of a scary movie. As you walked down the lights would flicker on and you could see stains on the walls and a general lack of care in upkeep.
-shower was mouldy and some taps turned the wrong way or came off. Lukewarm water, not hot.
-key cards would wipe, so we couldn't get into room, and we often had to go down to get new key cards to enter the room. Staff were unfriendly despite us being understanding that these things happen, they were more happy to blame it on us than be nice and just give us a new one without snide comments.

We have stayed in 3 star motels that were nicer than this and much cheaper.

If you can avoid it, don't stay here. 2.5 stars at best.

If you can avoid it, don

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

booked here at very short notice when the rest of Melbourne's accommodation was full. We moved rooms mid way through our stay and into a suite.
The first room was an ample size with comfortable bed, large tv, dsk etc. The second plac was a suite with lounge and bedroom.
We had problems with hot water through our stay particularly around 9 - 10 when all residents must have been showering. At one point the hot water ran out altogether. The one cup kettle was great however in both rooms there were chipped cups. Also the milk wasn't replenished on the second day and when it was it seemed stale.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
We stayed over the weekend and whilst we heard music when entering the building, it didn't stop us having a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for as high a floor as possible and see if you can negotiate a deal for a suite too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswinendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#144 of 162 in Melbourne
248 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#113 of 162 in Melbourne
455 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#135 of 162 in Melbourne
1,368 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#98 of 162 in Melbourne
1,884 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#151 of 162 in Melbourne
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $81 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citiclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing