We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise noise noise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citiclub Hotel
Ranked #149 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Noise noise noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had to attend a conference over a weekend at this venue and thought that this was the best option. Let me start with the best points:
a It's very reasonably priced;
b The location is central and fantastic;
c The rooms are clean and comfortable with little touches like the honey shampoo and conditioner and the free apples and newspapers;
d The staff are very friendly and helpful;
Really it has everything going for it except for one thing. The nightclub!!
I did read the reviews before going and took the precautions of asking for a room on the top floor and taking earplugs. Ha! Waste of time. I don't believe the windows are double glazed and maybe that would help. Our window was right over an outdoor area where the party continues. It was SO LOUD. The next day I dragged myself to a chemist who gave me some over-the-counter sleeping medication and extra strength ear-plugs. They were just working when at 3am we were awoken by the fire alarm, which, of course, was a false alarm! Just a guess but possibly started by one of the idiots at the nightclub.

I felt so sorry for the staff at the reception desk. They had this sort of hangdog look just waiting for the next barrage of abuse from techy sleep deprived guests as they came out of the elevator.

It's a great hotel and they should really work on the noise problem if they want to attract guests. I'm sorry about my poor rating but the bad outweighed the good I'm afraid.

Room Tip: I have no tips if you want to sleep except to take very strong sleeping drugs. Great hotel for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhoneymooner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    68
    42
    88
See reviews for
28
92
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

If your in Melbourne to get loose then this is the place to stay! It has everything you need for a great weekend. Underground parking, gym, bottle O, the great CQ nightclub and buffet breakfasts. Rooms are reasonably priced and are big enough if all you are doing is sleeping (or passing out!) Shower pressure could be better but over all a great place, we always stay here when we come to Melbourne to have a good time. Thanks CQ, see you for Stereosonic!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbia_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is by far the worst hotel we have stayed at in Melbourne!!!!
Room was nothing like the pictures and the Large Marble bathroom!!! What a joke,no room to do anything in there!! Shower pressure and warmth were absolute shocking!!

And the service,OMG
Looks like its run by people who have nothing better to do!!!
Had a fire alarm evac at 3am in the morning and there was no professionalism shown at all!!!!
Was just absoluelty shocking!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nige T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although it was clean, it was outdated. The shower pressure was poor & being located on top of a night club made this a very noisy place to stay. Parking was an extra $22 per night but was safe.
We had planned on going out late so the noise from the club was not too much of a problem but, if I wanted a good night sleep this would not be the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie18372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

OK hotel, small but comfortable. The staff were excellent. The night club was a shocker but we always carry earplugs (thank god). Overall for $99 with breakie, good short stay. PSSSSSS dont forget the ear plugs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franes3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wunghnu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday for just one night. Booked directly with reception for a double room and sofa bed arrangement for two children. The check in process and car parking arrangement were good, nothing to complain about there.
When we arrived at our room I was shocked to see how small it was for four people, luckily we were only staying one night and only using the room for sleep not comfort. The sofa bed was not made up and no extra linen was in the room to do so. A maid was sent up after contacting reception about this to make up the bed.
The room was furnished nicely but upon closer inspection there were stains on the throw and decorative cushions and also on the bed side lamp shade.
The bathroom was dated with tiles coming away from the shower recess which had allowed mould to build up that obviously couldn't be scrubbed away. One of the taps at the hand basin wouldnt turn off after use unless you turned in on half way (if you get my drift)???
The hotel is walking distance to some great shopping, restaurants and public transport which is a positive.
The night club is very noisy and so was the corridore outside our room in the early hours. Lack of respect from those returning to the hotel, not the hotels fault.
My main gripe is that I booked for four people, two adults and two kids, and at the time of booking I was told that breakfast was included in the price only to find out that the kids were not covered for breakfast and I'd have to pay for them. Please dont give out informaton to only reneg on it later.
The highlight of the stay was breakfast, in the little cafe next to the hotel, all you can eat hot and cold delicious and friendly. If I could remember the cafe's name I'd write a review about it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a three night stay in Melbourne for my best friend's birthday. Citiclub is in a fantastic location - on Queen Street, very close to Bourke Street, meaning a lot of Melbourne's attractions are a short walk away.

I was very happy with the check in process. We arrived at 1pm, one hour before official check in time, but our room was ready and we were able to go straight up. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was amazing value for money. For $400 for three nights, the suite consisted of a separate living room with lounge and dining table/chairs, good sized bedroom with built in wardrobe, 2 TV's/DVD players, marble bathroom, and a powder room with second toilet. The room is little dated, however still very tastefully decorated.

The rate also included buffet breakfast at the cafe next door. The cafe has a nice atmosphere (friendly staff) and the food is really nice.

We stayed Tuesday to Friday morning, so avoided the apparently high amount of nightclub/function noise, so no complaints about noise whatsoever.

I recommend this hotel for mid-week travellers who are looking for a bargain stay in Melbourne, in a good location, who don't mind things being a little dated.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#138 of 160 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#101 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Property: Citiclub Hotel
Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citiclub Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing