We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and small in a great location.”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #138 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is nearby to many of melbournes famous sights. It is a short walking distance to most places.

The only negative was that the hot water was very touchy and hard to set correctly. Also I think for the price we pay that wifi should be free.

I recommend for the hotel to give better quality toilet paper as it is not the quality of other hotels. I also recomend dooners in the winter as it got quite cold with just the blanket between 2 sheets.

All in all it is all you need in a serviced apartment. FYI It does not get serviced on sundays.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 302 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for a nearby function with quite a few family and friends staying in other rooms. The parking set up is pretty confusing with very little in the way of a clear explanation of the process from the staff. Check in was quick but again, very little information given by the front desk staff. Our room was ok, a little cramped and surfaces and furniture had seen better days. The shower could have benefitted from some Exit Mould and the balcony was pretty much useless, taken up by the air con unit. The air con was very good, the room was a comfortable temperature within minutes.
Friends and family were not as happy with their rooms with all of them complaining of bad smells (cooking-curry, sewerage, garbage). We were more fortunate, our room didn't smell but the hallway smelt strongly of cooking. The best thing about this hotel is the location,close to pretty much everything. Not too expensive either.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Arrow on Swanston was great value for money. The room was a decent size for my husband & I, it was clean, & was styled simply with nice neutral colours. It is a modern hotel in a good location, just on the edge of the CBD & very close to Lygon Street restaurants. The staff were friendly & helpful. The only drawback we had was that the shower in the bathroom was open, it had no shower glass or curtain. This meant about 2/3's of the floor was wet after having a shower. Overall though, it offered everything we could ask for in a cheaper hotel category.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisaluvspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I came here for a vacation with my family. I decided to choose this hotel for it's very close to city center. The location is okay with couple of restaurants to be found near the hotel.

You can take tram 8 or any tram going to Melbourne University. The staff is quite nice even so they could be more helpful actually. Some information of Melbourne are provided in the lobby and the room was quite okay.

The price for the room was quite cheap, standard for an apartment and the facility I got was adequate enough. The room was clean and safe as well although it wasn't big enough but okay for three people. Air conditioner and television with cable channel is for you. Sofa and small table. The bathroom might not be large but it's not five stars hotel so it's fine. You will get a kitchen and the kitchenette as well so it will be helpful for you should you want to cook something.

Nice feature for the room is a balcony where you can enjoy nice breeze of Melbourne's air and that's it, nothing special in particular.

Basic accommodation for cheap price hotel in Melbourne but you might get better hotel with the same price.

Room Tip: Pick upper lever rooms for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Pros
-great location
-clean room

Cons (oh so many)
-Didnt have keys ready although we called ahead, sat there waiting for 20 minutes
-Charged me extra 30 dollars because I'd selected 2 people in a single room on the website, then they rang and told me I couldn't do this and they had to charge me 30 dollars extra to upsize me. Their website shouldn't allow this if it isn't possible. I wouldn't have bought a room there for that much had I known.
-Fridge dodgy and not very cold
-Terrible shower, takes ages to warm up and low pressure. I went for a walk while my partner showered and she messaged me asking 'does the shower ever warm up? I've been here 5 minutes'
-Internet costs money, and is only Ethernet, no WiFi. It's 2014, cmon.
-Tried to charge me for parking on check in and check out after I had already paid on the internet.

If it isn't obvious from the above, DONT STAY HERE, the staff are incompetent, don't care about the guests, and don't deserve your money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a cheap, clean, safe place to stay in the city - this is it. Amazingly small but functional rooms - twin share has two seperate bedrooms. No frills, all you need, kitchen, bathroom, little balcony, free wi-fi. Perfect for a low cost stay in the city for some shopping and a show. Walk to city centre Queen Vic markets or tram stop out the front.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cathngiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very very basic accomodation, located next to RMIT University.
I suspect the hotel was once back packers or student accomodation for the uni and they have turned it into a "hotel'. The kitchen and toilet/shower areas are extremely small and just enough room to move around. There would be better hotels in this price range. If you are after the most basic of accomodations, this is for you. Unfortunatley I wont be staying here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
626 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#158 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#146 of 161 in Melbourne
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $83 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing