We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced during peak time”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #134 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well priced during peak time”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was a great place to stay. Clean, tidy and only a couple of stops from Flinders Street Station. Quick and friendly reception staff. Close to QV Market and Lygon Street. I cant fault the accommodation.

Room Tip: Not in the centre of town but value for money, especially during the tennis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    103
    77
    28
    40
See reviews for
59
78
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

My partner booked the place before I had a say... He'd stayed before and was happy with it. After reading the reviews I was apprehensive (eventhough some of the complaints seem to come from high maintenance types). But post-stay, it was great value. You get what you pay for, yes it is basic and compact, with some street noise, but the location was great, the staff obliging and helpful, the basic amenities worked eg, kitchen, tv, gym, air con. We had the twin room with useful small hanging wardrobe on both sides. The only negatives might be - the toilet was prone to leaking and the fridge made mysterious noises in the night. I would happily stay here again, and would recommend to anyone who plans to spend more time out than in. If you are expecting more than basic then maybe pay more for somewhere else and quit whinging to put others off this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 0cean_8reeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The basis of us choosing this hotel apartment was that it was the cheapest during the peak season because the Australian Open, and if i had actually read these reviews i would of probably not of booked at the Arrow, how ever knowing we weren't really going to stay in the room most of the days except to sleep, we didn't mind as long as we got accommodation down in Melbourne before the rates got too high. We booked for 7 nights stay and had a fantastic time, the receptionist ( Aaron from NZ, the Asian girl with the fringe, the Indian Man and a Arabic Man) all who had helped us out so much with all our needs, from storing our luggage till we checked in, providing towels, iron and ironing board, providing us new towels every time we went to the gym and for a swim and also letting us know the places to go and what to visit. the staff including house keeping are very very friendly, thus surprised with all the bad reviews about the staff being so rude and not smiling. The room we had was a one bedroom apartment and yes it is a more smaller room then what the pictures showed but then again it was only me and my wife that stayed here so it was more than enough room...when we walked in it was the kitchen and two steps later it was the dining/living room. The air conditioning was excellent we had one outside in the living/dining and one in the bedroom which we had on all night and i must admit it saved us as the week we stayed (first week of the aus open) temps got up to the mid 40's, the wind was hot from like 8am till late at night....the gym is simple but its all you need for any body workout, the pool is a 2 lane 25m pool which wasn't clean when we arrived there on a Saturday but was cleaned come Monday when maintenance came back to work. the location of the hotel is fantastic....it literally is a walk away from everything in Melbourne, no need to catch a tram or taxi...just walk it all its good exercise and also you get to see everything, if i had to say something negative i guess it would probably have to be that there's no wi-fi and had to pay for the internet usage downstairs by the lobby...other than that it was a great stay and would HIGHLY recommend for anyone...with room selection to ensure minimal noise, and everything was working in the rooms, we stayed at room 3117 and my brother stayed at room 3217...no issues in either room perfect for either winter or summer

Room Tip: 1 bedroom in 3117 or 3217 no issues everything was working perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endays25xc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe how TINY our room is! It's unbelievable! Still can't wrap my head around it. We got a two bedroom apartment, one room wth a double bed, one with a single, and a 'sofa bed'. The sofa bed is tiiiiiiny! I'm a tiny 21 year old girl and my feet hang over the edge, it's a joke! It's not even a proper sofa lounge, it's just a lounge that flattens out, not soft enough to sleep on. Should not be classified as a sofa lounge. The sheets can't even tuck in so they move and you end up sleeping on pure leather. And that's all there is to sit it on! For a room catering four people they don't even have another lounge! Can't believe it! The 'table' is the size of a high school desk, and there are only 3 chairs, even though we've booked for four people! The 'kitchen' only has enough space for one person to walk in. They only provide four glasses, no wine glasses or anything. Have one drink each and need to wash it! Only 4 towels and you can't get extras for the pool or gym, you have to exchange your dirty towel for a clean instead having an extra in your room. The bathroom is unbelievable, there's no space for makeup or anything. It's so small I had to dry off and get changed in the bedroom because it's just uncomfortable to move around. It's like living in a box, would be fine for uni students or whatever but not for a family, and it's very very claustrophobic.
No iron or basic facilities provided.

Air con gets switched off in the night so here we are trying to sleep in 42 degree heat.

I've never ever been so disappointed with a hotel. I'd rather stay in a dirty dump then somewhere this tiny that doesn't provide air conditioning in the night when there's a 42 degree heat wave. Very uncomfortable

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had to book 2 nights as we had an early arrival from the Spirit of Tasmania and we were glad we did. The carpark is basically next door so that was not too bad to get luggage etc to room. The location is perfect - tram right out front, cafes and pubs and shops all around and a short walk to central for all the better stuff. Easy enough to get to and the staff were helpful and the accommodation was clean and functional - although the bathroom was a bit weird.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for a better room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My family and I, altogether 6 of us, had booked the apartment half year ahead. My dad had expected the apartment's authorities to arrange two rooms which is next to each and other for us, since we had booked the apartments so early. However, it end up we have to walk to and fro from my room to my parents room for the next six days. My dad was very dissatisfied with their poor service which caused us so much problems. What's more was that one of our apartments air conditioning wasn't working properly and the whole room was so warm and humid and when we complaint to the apartment's authorities, their answer was the mechanic had left so we had to wait until the next day. Luckily the air conditioning start to get cooler after working for an hour. This has fully shown that this apartment is totally lack of maintenance and the whole room with three air conditioning only use one remote to control three of them. We were so sick of that apartment. Things get worst when we discover both of our apartments room is surrounded with musty and pungent sweaty smell which make us very uncomfortable. Besides, the cook stove they provided, again wasn't working properly, it took my mum an hour to boil us 4 eggs for breakfast. The facilities that this apartment provided was next to another building, which wasn't very convenient for the travellers to do their washing, go for a swim or gym. The location from one side wasn't very good because it's near to the tram rail and you will listen the tram pass by very frequently and the other side of the building is near to a garbage collect point, where the garbage car will do their job early in the morning about 6am to wake you up and spoil your mood. We would have change a place to stay if we had a choice, but it was peak time to travel in Melbourne and it's very hard to find a new hotel or apartment nearby for us to stay for six days so it end up we stayed here for a terrible six days, therefore we will never ever stay in this apartments again whenever we travel to Melbourne and will therefore not recommend it to anyone that we know to live there. After bad mouth about this apartment, I do have one thing that I feel quite good about this apartment, is that it's location is very near to Melboune city centre and you probably can get to any places within few minutes of walking. This is the one and only thing that make me feel good about it. That's all, hope you can make a brilliance choice before you book this not very friendly apartment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I booked a double room for 4 nights some months ago for the last week of November, happy with price and location. We later checked TA reviews and we were quite dismayed at the number of complaints we read, small rooms, bad smells, dirty rooms, lack of daily room cleaning, low water pressure, poor unfriendly staff and all round poor service. We had regretted our choice but thought seeing we spend little time actually in the room we would grin and bear it. We were checked in by an extremely helpful and charming receptionist, we went to our room on the first floor and we were pleasantly surprised by a suitably sized exceptionally spotless room with kitchenette containing all we required. During our stay we had the option of daily room cleaning but declined, staff were friendly and helpful on all occasions we engaged them with any request. We would happily stay here again or recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#103 of 160 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Property: Arrow On Swanston
Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing