We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience ever”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #132 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience ever”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Yes well where do I start. I also stayed the nights the smoke alarms went of 4 times, yes it took ages to rectify as I was on the road side, so I could here the fire trucks running while they where looking for the fire. The next night again the fire trucks came. Also to add to no sleep you have a construction site across the road and one up the street, so they arrived a few mornings and unlocked the gates and started work, 3 AM.. .Also the first day came back to the hotel room was done but the dishes where left and the sofa bed not made. Public holiday no service though it states it on the online booking- daily housekeeping. The next day I had to ask for housekeeping at 4pm they came up and again they left the dishes and it was our 4th night but no beds where change, even though my daughters bed had chocolate on it. The apartment was tiny hardly big enough for 4 adults. Pictures are misleading .

Room Tip: Only have 3 people in an apartment as they are small. Very convenient to Lygon st and resturants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sheree s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    102
    77
    28
    40
See reviews for
59
76
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

** WARNING: Do not stay here **

First let's start with the positives, or should I say the one positive, the location was great. A few hundred metres from Lygon St in one direction and about the same distance to the markets on the other.

Now for the negatives:
* rooms are small and you can't get into the bed from one side
* they clearly have 'systems' issues. Our room passes didn't work on the car park. This took time to sort out.
* the air conditioners in the room didn't work
* the fire alarm went off five times between 2am and 4am on a Sunday night calling a fire truck each time and sounding a horrendously loud alarm. There was no fire - this was a 'systems' issue I was told. Worst of all there was no explanation on the night provided or apology for the 3 hours sleep I got.
* unfortunately we were put on level 1 and it was noisy as due to the traffic, trams, people outside, oh and of course the fire trucks all night.

SCATHING REVIEW I KNOW BUT YOU COULD NOT PAY ME MONEY TO STAY HERE AGAIN!!

* AVIOD AT ALL COSTS *

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tangbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Massive disappointment from the second we arrived. Having come from the most beautiful experience at the Urban Hotel in St Kilda to this hotel was a kick in the guts... Sad entrance, sad staff who could not smile or care, took full payment as we checked in of $135 (rip off) when The Urban was $99 and faultless.... Told at check in we had a Double bed which is interesting with a 6ft4 partner. Room dark miserable and for little people. Bed did not fit in the area that was designed for it so had to crawl into it. Lucy noisy all night... I could go on forever ... AVOID AT ALL COST

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Starting with the good point was the location reasonable central.
Unfortunately the maintenance issues let this property down. One of the critical items was the air-conditioning which didn't work and even after the maintenance person looked at it there was no improvement. The kettle didn't work and the service desk were not really helpful.
Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravellers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
226 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was my first trip to Melbourne and the hotel is located strategically in the centre of the city that allows me to walk about, catch a tram, go round for a cuppa, visit nearby shopping centres, try out various restaurants, having supper at nearby restaurant and a walk in the park,
The room is cosy, clean and well maintained and came with a small kitchen too that is well stocked. The staff were friendly too. Though we are facing another block and can see the occupant's balcony, it is quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This over priced property was a relative disappointment. The service was adequate but scant. This is a virtual do it yourself experience. My first room had no water. The maintenance staff had gone home for the day. The next room they put me in was a twin bed arrangement; not what I paid for. This is a sad and somewhat bleak property with little character, and no appeal to speak of. I assess it has few attractive qualities and is expensive for what it offers. The hotel, be warned, takes and holds a $50 bond at time of signing in. They only repay this to your credit card within, they promise, five working days. Outrageous. It is close to the centre of town. That may be an advantage. I shan't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meath_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very average for the price we paid. We were given a room on the 2nd floor with a tiny balcony looking out to the car park. People from the car park can look straight into our room as well. Bathroom is adisabled facilitated. The staff could be more considerate and keep this for people needed it more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BYE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#138 of 159 in Melbourne
238 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Property: Arrow On Swanston
Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing