We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay!”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #130 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have no times recently to write in any review and this was actually back in Jan 2013, Rooms are comfortable and clean. close to famous Vic Market, old Melbourne gaol and walking distance to Chinatown & city areas, their location was not bad as there is tram stand and taxi stand right in front of the hotel.

They provided free Wifi on public area and it is absolutely free and the speed is acceptable, I would definitely go back if I have a chance to re-visit Melbourne in future!

during my stay there is only one problem I've encountered which is their access card in their lift, sometimes it just not working and you have to tried so many times, but other than this, I think their overall service is above average and last but not least, I love Melbourne! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaryYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week whilst on holiday in Melbourne, and I have to say that it was one of the nastiest hotels that we have ever had the misfortune of inhabiting. The room was tiny, the heater didn't work, both the bed and pillows were hard as stone and there was no water pressure in the shower. The fridge made a loud humming noise all night, and if the mattress was not already torturing us this would have been loud enough to keep us awake.

Also, the toaster in the room had a frayed power cord which would probably have electrocuted us if I hadn't noticed the damage.

Don't stay here, there are far better choices available.

PS: When we checked in we were told that Skybus did not service the hotel. When we were leaving we asked about the best way to get to Southern Cross Station and the attendant said that we should have booked a Skybus hotel transfer, but it was now too late as it was full. Gah!

Room Tip: Book yourself into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My second stay here, for a week in May 2013. Rooms comfortable and clean, and well located to the city and a range of restaurants nearby. There's a cafe / restaurant in the basement that does OK dinners (though nothing fancy), and a small business hours cafe on the ground floor linking directly to reception. Plenty of other food places and an Aldi nearby plus a convenience store with basic supplies for stocking the fridge directly next door (though prices there are high - $5 for 2L of milk!)

My door scraped when opening it but this was fixed within 24 hours of reporting it to reception. I was at the northern end overlooking a laneway; unfortunately there was a rubbish truck that emptied bins left in that lane each morning around 5:45am and even though I was on the 4th floor it woke me up every morning. I would recommend trying to get a room facing the back of the hotel.

Room had a modern enough kitchen, shower, toilet, lounge and the basics you need. It was all quite satisfactory for what I needed without being over the top or pricey.
Overall it did what I wanted

Room Tip: Try to get something facing west, away from Swanston St and hopefully noisy laneways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

With a tramstop out the front and another just around the corner it is handy to everything. Vic Market is in walking distance as is the CBD. Clean, quiet rooms. I have stayed here a few times & will continue to do if I need to be in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for a total of 10 days for both work and leisure, and would definately stay here again when I next come to Melbourne!

Located just out of the CBD (but within walking distance) and with the tram line just outside the hotel, it is just a short walk from Lygon Street and the Queen Victoria Markets as well as the Exhibition Centre and Museum. Perfect location for shopping, eating and culture!

The room was more like a studio apartment wih a fridge and cooking facilities, a TV, couch and table, with the comfy queen bed in a small room which also held a wardrobe. The bathroom was tiny but functional.

From my room I could look into other people's apartments at the back of the building, but I didn't pick this hotel for the view! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to eat at, and there is a cafe downstairs in the lobby, as well as a convenience store a couple of doors down.

If you are looking for a great place to base yourself while in Melbourne and are out and about during the day and evening then this place is perfect in my opinion.

Travel Tip: If you take the bus from Tullamarine Airport that drops you at the bus station in town, you can get a free shuttle bus from the station to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is a recommendation, when you read review here see where the reviewers are from and their age group, this will give you an idea about the compatibility of their opinion to yours. (Example-is an AC standard, or nice surprise)
If you come from North America and are used/compare to N. American standards you will find this hotel to be 3/5 as best, probably 2.5/5. Rooms are very basic, in almost any aspect. The hotel has no central facilities including no Wi-Fi, not even in the lobby.
In Australian standards the pricing is very reasonable, (in North American, they are high for what you get)
Still the hotel is well located, walking distance from downtown,
Also as a side note, the Korean restaurant just attached to the lobby entrance was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#158 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#146 of 161 in Melbourne
333 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $77 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing