We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean & handy to everything”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #129 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cheap, Clean & handy to everything”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

With a tramstop out the front and another just around the corner it is handy to everything. Vic Market is in walking distance as is the CBD. Clean, quiet rooms. I have stayed here a few times & will continue to do if I need to be in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    105
    78
    29
    38
See reviews for
62
79
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for a total of 10 days for both work and leisure, and would definately stay here again when I next come to Melbourne!

Located just out of the CBD (but within walking distance) and with the tram line just outside the hotel, it is just a short walk from Lygon Street and the Queen Victoria Markets as well as the Exhibition Centre and Museum. Perfect location for shopping, eating and culture!

The room was more like a studio apartment wih a fridge and cooking facilities, a TV, couch and table, with the comfy queen bed in a small room which also held a wardrobe. The bathroom was tiny but functional.

From my room I could look into other people's apartments at the back of the building, but I didn't pick this hotel for the view! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to eat at, and there is a cafe downstairs in the lobby, as well as a convenience store a couple of doors down.

If you are looking for a great place to base yourself while in Melbourne and are out and about during the day and evening then this place is perfect in my opinion.

Travel Tip: If you take the bus from Tullamarine Airport that drops you at the bus station in town, you can get a free shuttle bus from the station to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is a recommendation, when you read review here see where the reviewers are from and their age group, this will give you an idea about the compatibility of their opinion to yours. (Example-is an AC standard, or nice surprise)
If you come from North America and are used/compare to N. American standards you will find this hotel to be 3/5 as best, probably 2.5/5. Rooms are very basic, in almost any aspect. The hotel has no central facilities including no Wi-Fi, not even in the lobby.
In Australian standards the pricing is very reasonable, (in North American, they are high for what you get)
Still the hotel is well located, walking distance from downtown,
Also as a side note, the Korean restaurant just attached to the lobby entrance was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel was good but nothing amazing. I felt that we were in a freak show by the way that we were stared at as we entered the hotel. The room itself is more of a studio apartment and we had an awful view - backing onto a construction site of a neighboring apartment block. Reasonable distance from most things.
A good experience because of the distance and location.

Room Tip: Good if you aren't planning on spending too much time in the actual room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buglettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not sure why some people are being so negative about this place. For the price paid, we had a great stay! The room was a great size and the a/c was a great bonus for us to cool down after walking around the city all day!
The staff who greeted us were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to help us with any queries we had. The bedrooms were a perfect size, and the little 'living area' was comfy and great to chill out in and watch bad movies on the many channels on the TV. The cooking area was clean and convenient and everything we could have needed (including a sponge and soap) were provided for us.
Another huge plus point was the free access to the pool, gym and sauna. Though the pool was freezing cold (it was an open-air pool) it was a great length and served its purpose. The gym was compact, but included everything one could need (including a CD player and CDs to play whilst working out). I never normally use a sauna, but thought I'd treat myself. Though waiting for it to heat up is a bit of a pain, it's definitely worth the wait and a great addition to a great hotel.
Overall I would highly recommend Arrow on Swanston to people who maybe have a little extra cash or are looking for something on the nice side of accommodation in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Trams are right on the hotels door step. We stayed 1 night. Rooms are tiny and I would not suggest this hotel for a long stay or if you are traveling with family. During the early hours of the morning the air con decided to drip water - with out the air con on the room was too stuffy so I had to endure a form of Chinese water torture - a lovely sound of water slowly dripping. The hotel had a great little coffee shop that served good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAndBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,171 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#117 of 160 in Melbourne
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Property: Arrow On Swanston
Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing