We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #127 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location and Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is well priced for a Melbourne CBD room. We stayed in a studio suite which suited us fine for the two nights. We were warm and comfortable. The kitchen is really well appointed. The room was clean and furnished with current trend style. Our room 1106 had a nice view over Collins Street and the beautiful buildings opposite. The down side was the saggy bed (should have been replaced 5 years ago I think), the very tiny bathroom which had very low water pressure and luke warm water. The tiny sink also blocked as soon as you used it even to simply wash your hands. The reception staff were pleasant - but the concierge/Porter was very disinterested and gave the impression that he was above lifting people's bags etc. We were 20 mins late checking out and had both door knocking and phone calls to deal with. That's pretty unusual I think. But overall - a pretty good deal for the price.

Room Tip: Choose one to face Collins Street - up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback within this forum. I am pleased to see that you found our apartments warm, comfortable and well priced for the location we are situated. Though I must say the substandard service you perceived you got from concierge is disappointing, as is the quality of your bed which will be investigated and replaced as a matter of urgency. I will also have maintenance check the water pressure in that apartment to see if we are able to increase it to an acceptable level for future guests.

We certainly did not mean to disturb you on the morning of departure but wanting to confirm directly with you your adjusted departure time of if you would be extending your stay further and apologise for the disturbance.

I thank you for brining these to our attention as it is truly appreciated and apologise sincerely.

Kind rgeards, Maris Fowler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    336
    376
    202
    137
See reviews for
104
378
83
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good location, clean and spacious rooms with kitchen facilities. The only problem is the bathroom. It looks like an afterthought in the design of these rooms. They are extremely small and the hand basin is one of those small rectangular basins that you typically find in a toilet. Makes it quite difficult to wash your hands and clean your teeth.

The cheaper rooms are also a little weird. They are placed in the middle of the floor with curtains that open up to the hallway. Needless to say, the curtains remain closed at all times. It feels like this hotel was an office building converted to a hotel. If this bothers you, pay a little extra for the rooms with a window.

Room Tip: Pay for the window room if you feel uncomfortable with above mentioned curtains opening up to the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Our bathrooms are compact as you have mentioned in this review and this is compensated for with additional living space which we find our guests enjoy. Glad to hear that you found the apartments clean and spacious.

Our best priced accommodation option is our Studio apartments and they are internal with no views out of the property so for a slightly higher price, our Studio Executive apartments are ideal if natural light and a view is preferred.

Thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

$190/ night and no horizontal surface in bathroom for your makeup? Room was clean enough. Staff efficient. One just feels it misses the mark on a number of things for a room with this price eg. Untidy valance around the bed base.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not find us to be value for money but thank you all the same for your honest feedback.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I had to make a quick overnight stay in Melbourne and was looking for something in the CBD that was 'inexpensive' and 'reasonable..
The Oaks was great value and the quality was much higher than i expected.
I had stayed here approx 4 years ago and the room seemed less appointed then and costed more.
The room i stayed in this time was great and looked over Collins street. I had no problem with noise or light.
Some more consideration may have gone into thinking about where to put the TV - if watching TV with Kids is a need then you will be let down here.
If you are looking for a great business Hotel then its ok and easy to work in. But if you need extended business services then you will need to go offsite.
Parking - be brave if you intend to park your car. The ramps in and out are VERY TIGHT so if you don't have a good turning circle expect some stress in parking. There is also on one way in and out with parking. I got caught driving against the tide in the morning and i lost 10 mins waiting. Make sure that you get a 50% discount ticket. Overnight parking is $55 if you dont.

I didnt eat in the Hotel. In the morning there is a nice Coffee outlet and its easy to grab and go.

Room Tip: The Standard rooms are really for singles or couples only. There is no privacy when it comes to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
appy to hear that you found Oaks on Collins both great value and higher than expected in terms of quality. We certainly aim to provide quality accomodation and service at all times whilst being extremely reasonably-priced particularly taking into consideration our location on Collins Street. The Studio Execuitve apartments overlooking Collins Street can have fantastic views and glad you enjoyed it.

The parking underneath the hotel is tight as you mentioned and we can proved 50% dicount vcouhers to hotel guests using this facility which is privately run. Alternatively, we also have discount vouchers for alternate parking in Flinders lane when full here onsite.

Thanks for taking the time in providing this review and hope to see you on your next business trip to Melbourne.

Kind rgeards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is located in the business end of Collins Street, so if you are a traveller you probably want to give this location a wide berth.

I travelled on business so seeing attractions/shopping was not on my list and the location suited me well.

The staff are really lovely but the hotel is very average. Firstly, the studio room I had, did not have a separate bathroom, just some tinted glazed walls about 60 centimetres from my bed that constituted for a bathroom - which was so small you certainly would not get a person in there carrying a lot of weight. The bathroom was not very clean, the shower had mould and the bathroom linen in its heyday was once white, but it is simply grey and threadbare.

The room had no mini bar - so after a hard day there was no relaxing with a glass of white wine. Room service meals are also very bad.

Nothing about the hotel or room was inviting, despite this not being a cheap hotel, the lobby is stark, and I am not talking about high end minimalism - this is just bland, cheap interior decorating.

I would not recommend this hotel, you get much better value for money at the Holiday Inn just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate bathroom. Don't order room services, the food is bad. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondenomad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for your feedback even though we certainly aim to achieve a rating more than just average. I will certainly investigate the lack of cleanliness of the apartment you were provided as this is unacceptable and by no means what we consider to be satisfactory.

Please note that all the shopping areas of Melbourne are generally only a 10-15 minute walk away with Southbank and Crown Casino the same so the majority of travellers whether it be for work or play tend to find our location advantageous.

Thanks again and sorry to hear you will not be staying with us again.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th night at the Oaks on Collins and despite 3 requests the aircon has not been fixed. The response from staff has been rude and condescending, despite my trying to be as polite as possible. It's winter in Melbourne so living without a heater is not pleasant. The room is not clean and basic amenities like a shower cap is no where to be seen. I'm just counting down the hours till I can get out of this awful place with its rude staff.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased I was able to speak with you on your day of departure from the hotel. As discussed, we would have loved to have arranged you to move rooms due to the intermittent fault in the heating and I am disappointed that this was not offered after your first night with us when you made reception aware of the issue. I have spoken with the staff you spoke with during your stay and I apologise for them being perceived as rude but I can assure you that they certainly in no way intended to be and are embarrassed at being so.

All in all, you certainly should have received service of a much higher standard but I really thank you for your comments. I certainly would have loved the opportunity of assisting you a lot earlier than after your departure nonetheless.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great place to stay. Stayed on a Friday night, got a car park underneath the hotel so that was simple. Reception was helpful with check in. Hotel room was well equipped with bed and kitchen and large floor space. As we were going out, the extra room was good for getting ready. Shower was nice and big and overall was clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased you will return to stay with us again. The spaciousness of our apartments is certainly something our guests always enjoy.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing