We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #130 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rooms adequate, got an upgrade to executive, glad as I probably wouldn't have liked the standard. You cant hear the noise from the builders next door which is good, bathrooms very small but clean. Curtain around the beds missing on the street side and the blinds don't fit very well, about 4 inch's too narrow to keep all the light out at night.

Room does come with a dish washer, but only one pack of cleaner, and no rinse aid also no dish detergent for kitchen sink. Microwave cupboard poorly designed, and unusable for me as its too high and bottom hinge makes it a long arm reach to take anything out.

Tv a bit on the small side and not easy to watch from in bed, cant watch it from the sofa, and no where else suitable.

1st floor restaurant is ok, but don't expect any thing special, nice set up for buffet breakfast but mushroom & sausages are boiled, and the buffet containers are difficult to reclose unless your tall.

Beddings very meagre just a couple of sheets and a very thin blanket between.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay wth us at Oaks on Collins in April. Your detailed synopsis is certainly appreicated and provides some great insight into apartment design that we can potentially apply for future upgrades in functionality. We do find that people do prefer to watch TV in bed rather than on the sofa but certainly understand that some dont.

Thanks once again and appreciate your honesty.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    348
    385
    202
    140
See reviews for
105
386
84
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked 3 rooms on a Saturday in Melbourne. Strange layout with the rooms as the ensuite is frosted glass walls. Once we got over that the rooms were clean and the beds fine to sleep on. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. A little noisy with the 2 rooms at the front (it was Saturday though) and the rear room was quiet. Overall satisfactory stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Great to hear that you will return to stay with us again when you are next in Melbourne and hope you had a great wekeend getaway in Melborune.

Thanks for the comments and added 'Room Tip' for other travellers.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Hotel is very conveniently located and the Staff are fantastic, however it seems either I have the worst luck in the world or everything in their rooms are run down and broken.

I have stayed here a couple of times now. First time, my aircon broke and leaked all over the room. Moved rooms and the dishwasher broke down and leaked over the floor.

I stayed here again, thinking it couldn't happen again. But I was wrong.

3 trips to the reception to have my cards re-coded.
TV Broken, Remote broken, aircon broken and to top it off, when I turned on the iron, it leaked water from the base, went onto the cord and shorted out..

Staff are friendly and efficient, however the hotel is a let down

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedhowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us at Oaks on Collins. It seems you have had a run of bad luck with the applicances in the aparmtents you have stayed in here and I can assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and apologise you have had to ensure failing room items. I am glad to hear that everything else pertaining to your stay was satisfactory and trust that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Staying here at present and booked for 4 nights, firstly was given a room fronting Collins St but that was noisy and really small. Work on the adjoining building all day makes it impossible to stay on that side. Then given a room at the rear on the 11th floor, banging all night, air conditioners below make a constant rumble, people shouting and loud clangs when dumping rubbish in bins, traffic noise from car park below, everyone revs their cars and toots horns. Presently 11:30pm and noise still going on so sitting up writing this then will watch TV all night till I drift off hopefully. Can hear people in the hallways talking and banging doors.

This is one to avoid if you want to actually sleep, and to think I asked for a really quiet room and got this. This is meant to be an executive deluxe room, small queen bed, awkward bathroom, I can live with those, but the noise is driving me insane and I have 3 nights of this to go. Wouldn't be so bad if not for the expense.

One to definately avoid in future.

Len Morellini.

Room Tip: Dont bother to ask ro a quiet room, I did and seem to have the noisiest, although maybe I did get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
It is certainly disappointing to hear that you found the noise during your stay with us to be unacceptable but unfortuntely being centrally located in Melbroune CBD does mean that outside noise occurs from time to time. I am sorry you feel that you need to recommend to other travellers to avoid the property but thank you for your honest feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had read a number of the reviews here prior to departing. I was a little concerned. I contacted the Manager and was assured by the manager that my 2 night stay would be more than satisfactory. I'm pleased to agree that my stay was good and I'll be back in the future. The room breakfast and dinner were all very reasonable to me.

Room Tip: I booked a Studio (internal room) but ended up in a room with a window overlooking Collins St. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slider W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your coments and glad that we were able to provide you with a stay that was a comfortable and enjoyable one. I shall pass your comments on the the Restaurant staff including the chefs. Your upgrade to a Studio Executive from the studio sounds appreciated and is certainly worth spending a little extra to gain either a Collins Street view or a balcony. It was fortunate that we still had a Studio Executive available to offer this to you on a complimentary basis as the upgrade fee is usually $30 per night.

Appreciate your 5 out of 5 rating and hope that your Australian holiday was a memorable one.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here recently for work and did not enjoy the experience.

I can only describe the room as strange in terms of layout. As you walk through the door, there's a galley kitchenette to one side that is separated from the bathroom by frosted glass along the same wall. Looking directly from the door inwards, you face the bed. There was a sheer curtain that you could draw around the bed, but it didn't reach right the way round and I couldn't see the point anyway. The bed is, incidentally, right next to the bathroom - pillow end within a metre of the toilet. Thankfully I was staying alone!

The bathroom was tiny and should have been cleaner. I took photos but haven't been able to successfully post these. The sink was so tiny it was almost impossible to turn on the taps without water splashing everywhere. The shower, also small, had mouldy grouting, especially around the plug hole with a tile that was loose, and toothpaste smeared on the wall and shower curtain. The hand towel appeared to have someone else's makeup on it. Yuck!

The rest of the room was large, but everything in it was just a bit grotty - visible filth on the coffee table and remote controls, couches looked tired and the carpet had marks on it. Given the size of the room I can't understand why you'd have the bed next to the toilet and facing directly into the doorway - there are other options.

Heating/cooling was difficult to use and since I couldn't get the room to heat up it was a cool evening for me, although the bed was comfortable and the linen looked and felt clean. Finally, the TV was the smallest TV I've ever seen in a hotel and given the distance between the couch and TV wasn't the most enjoyable to watch.

On the upside the location and conference facilities were good, nice staff and good value and plentiful breakfast. Biggest upside is possibly the Haig's chocolate shop across the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is unfortunate the apartment layout was not to your liking and am disappointed to hear of the lack of cleanliness experienced as it sounds clearly unacceptable. I trust you advised reception of these during your stay so that we could identify the issue immedidately but please feel fre to contact myself directly on hmcollins@theoaksgroup.com.au if you did not get the opportunity so that I may personally follow up on it.

Thanks again for your comments, they are truly valued.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Oaks on Collins for our daughter's wedding. There was a mixup with our booking and we had actually booked in twice. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and we were upgraded to a larger room on the 18th floor with great views over the city. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was compact though considering the size of the room. Comfy bed and good amenities. The hotel is close to docklands and Crown. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Collins St have good city/bay/river views and glimpses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind feedback and congratulations on your daughters wedding.
It is pleasing to hear that you found our reception staff very efficient and friendly and the room clean and bed comfy – Your comments have been passed on to our front desk and housekeeping team with thanks.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing