We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #124 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed in the rooftop rooms which were quiet. The design of the room just didnt seem right. Cupboards felt like they were put in by someone that was over 6ft tool, couldnt really call it a balcony the couch was only several inches off the ground, no shelf above basin in bathroom but a big cabinet above the toilet !!!!!, and you have to take the stairs from the 18th floor if you are on the 19th or 20th, no help from staff when you arrive with bags.
Its one of those places that the rooms were just not designed right. It wasnt dirty or uncomfortable but a dissappointment for the amount you pay.
When we checked out early on Wedneday morning, reception was open but no one there (his shoes and jacket were behind the counter) I am surprised no one just walked off the street and helped themselves.
The question we always ask ourselves each time we travel, is would we stay there again on the next trip or recommend to others? the answer this time is, no.

Room Tip: The higher fllors are quiet, but you have to take stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest and it is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Unfortunately we do not offer porter service however if staff are available we are more than happy to assist.

Our Rooftop Apartments have different floor plans and I can guarantee you that we have one that will suit your taste ,we do actually advertise our rooftop apartments having an internal staircase.

We do hope you change your mind and allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    290
    340
    186
    121
See reviews for
96
345
75
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Better off in a hotel, felt you were in a converted office block

Room had no natural light (window faced pubic corridor) and air conditioning was a relic, bathroom was tiny and wardrobe door wouldn't fully open past bed.

As they say, get what you pay for, but at least clean and location was central.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wessexlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is disappointing to hear that that you did not enjoy the room however all our advertising states that they are internal rooms and hence they always have the best deals loaded on them.

However it was good to hear that you found the room clean and enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in one of our Studio Executive rooms which is flooded with natural light with a view or have balconies on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

There’s nothing extreme in this hotel – neither exceptionally good nor bad. I would say it’s an average mid-range hotel close to the city centre. The one thing that really stands out – the bathroom that I guess was meant to form sort of central feature of each room. Basically it was a single bedroom space with a glazed enclosure (aka bathroom) in the corner of the room with a door that you can’t lock. That looked a little weird... Surely it’ll be a bit of fun for romantic couples but is questionable for others.

On the other hand the central location is great especially for the price they offer rooms for. It is in the walking distance from the South Bank restaurants, train station and all other amenities that you might think of.

So after all the hotel is good but not the one that will pop into my mind when I’m thinking about booking a room in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a good stay.

Our quirky glass bathrooms are definitely hard to miss however we do have bathrooms with a traditional layout as well as well and I can guarantee you that we have a style of room that you would review to be great.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This serviced apartment was disappointing. The building clearly isnt purpose built as serviced apartments. The bathroom was like showering in a poorly fitted glass wardrobe. Strange kitchen layout. Prefer a proper apartment. Very poor television and seating arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRichSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

It is unfortunate that you found the particular apartment you stayed in disappointing. We do have rooms with different configurations including ones with larger bathrooms.

Our Rooftop Apartments are very popular as well so on your next visit do ask our friendly team to show you one and I am sure that you will like it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in the hotel several times on business. Unusual mix of old and new, with a very unusual room layout that kind of works. Very handy location towards the Docklands end of Collins street. Inexpensive for what you get.

Rooms appear to have been reconfigured at various times given the unusual layouts. The bathrooms seem to be glass boxes reclaimed from a corner of the room. While small, they are quite contemporary and provide everything you need, and work to maximise the space of the hotel room itself. Modern appliances in the kitchens, with great views from higher levels to the South. Staff efficient albeit not overly engaging.

All the basics ticked. Occasionally got locked out of room as the cards needed surprisingly regular reprogramming which is a bit of an inconvenience. Staff helpful resolving the odd bit of attention to detail (e.g. light globe replacement, consumables, replenishing breakfast buffet etc) which would have been good to not have to prompt, but nevertheless politely and promptly handled.

Room Tip: Avoid low floor rooms facing the side laneway as garbage trucks make early morning visits. Higher th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186daver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stays.

It is pleasing to hear from one of our regular guests especially your comments about the staff being efficient and the hotel quirky but nice.

We do look forward to continue to welcome you back and do all we can to ensure that all your future stays are comfortable too.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Whilst I didn't have any major dramas with Oaks On Collins, nothing about it lures me to return. The location is good, it was relatively quiet except for the nearby lifts getting busy in the morning, the bed was comfortable, the staff were fine - however, the room was just so small. Which was okay for a two day visit but I would not want much longer, I reckon they are a bit cheeky calling them apartments. The kitchen was small in the corner, again okay for a couple of days but not for a longer stay. Then there was the bathroom, wow I would never have guessed you could fit a shower, loo and sink into such a tiny space - it wasn't a room, it was a cupboard. And right next to the bed so one person could not go to the bathroom during the night without waking the other - the noise and the brightness of the light. The shower taps were bizarre, hot turned on one way and cold the other - very easy to make a mistake and end up frozen or scalded. The tv is very small and despite our form saying we had movies on demand, we didn't - just fox channels but no tv guide so we just had to go thru the channels to see if anything worth watching was on.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about the staff being fine and the bed comfortable.

All our rooms have different configurations in the same category as some have balconies and some have river views and among them some are more compact than others however regular feedback is that the majority of our guests are pleasantly surprised at the roominess in most of them.

We only advertise as having foxtel so am surprised to hear that your form said movies on demand,our online team has been advised to do a check of all websites as we do not like to mislead our guests.

Once again,thank you ever so much for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A good hotel towards the southern end of Collins street (be warned, its opposite Haighs Chocolates). I'm glad we took the mazda6 as the Navara would have struggled to get into the car park (although there were big 4WDs down there), something they don't tell you in the brochure. The reception is out the front of the hotel, and I mean 'out the front'. Its not inside the building like you would expect. And it pays to know where the reception is as you have to leave your car keys with them which is a pain if you need anything from the car at a later stage. But if you don't drive and need the reception desk for anything other than checking in or out, then this was a great hotel. Easy walking distance to the shops, Bourke St mall etc and all of Melbourne's other attractions.

The room we stayed in was a bit weird but had everything you need (sofa, desk, kitchen). The bathroom extends into the room and is contained by opaque glass walls. Given it was only a couple of feet from the bed it can make for some interesting shadows when one needs to, how to say this, use the facilities. Makes me appreciate my 2 metres between the bed and ensuite at home.

Room Tip: There is a night club down stairs behind reception, maybe try for a room on one of the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about it being a good and great hotel and that you found the room unusual but nice.

Actually as we have our restaurant,serviced offices and conference rooms occupying the 1st to the 4th floor our guest rooms only start from the 5th floor and as a result the noise from the sports bar on the ground floor does not carry to the rooms.

We do appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#30 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#66 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#35 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing