We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time no better”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #127 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First stayed here a few years ago and booked the sky suite and whilst adequate was not as well appointed as I had hoped. For this visit booked a Studio - whilst it did state looked onto an internal garden did not state that this was NOT private and in fact looked out to corridor - needless to say the curtain stayed shut entire visit. Place we very clean and well presented however the bathroom is tiny and the lightening inadequate for routine things such putting on make up - and agree with another review - if sharing share only if partner as bathroom walls are frosted glass. Thankfully did not need to cook this trip as I have no idea on how I would have managed with one small saucepan only - no doubt I could have asked for extra items but really rooms need to have better things on hand.

Room Tip: know that if guide says view over internal garden... it really means window looking out to corridor...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you found the room very clean and well presented.

However it is disappointing that you did not enjoy the layout of the studio room - Do try our studio executive room on your next visit as we have ones with larger bathrooms.

We do apologise for the inconvenience that this caused and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on Collins again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

After reading the comments very concerned about staying here. Room comfortable, window and balcony with the room we stayed in. Bed made and fresh towels provided. Wow this after 1 night stay of a 2 night stay. Will definitely stay again. Room 915 great room. Staff great. Only hiccup $150.00 holding deposit, did not see this anywhere on the website when booking the accomodation. Will see how long it will take to get it back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.Your comments about the staff being great and the room comfortable have been forwarded to our respective teams.

Depending on your financial institution the deposit usually takes between 3 to 5 business days to automatically go back into your account however should you wish to have it released sooner please do not hesitate to contact the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is OK, Staff vary from USELESS to some with brain cells that work. Supposed to be apartment rooms with cooking facilities. However would be good to have sufficient crockery and cutlery to use within the room. Haves asked twice now and still waiting after 2 days. Cleaning is outsourced thus they simply don't care or have the love for the Oaks. My mattress was sagging, could do with upgrading and what is with hotels and apartments these days putting sandpaper towels in rooms. Buy some better quality and thicker towels.

Room Tip: Ask for an inspection prior to the staff giving you the keys. Ask for a refund if they don't sup...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozeboy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest.

Please be aware that we have noted your comments about housekeeping and this will be taken up with our Executive Housekeeper.

Once again we apologise for any inconvenience that this caused and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Oaks group again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very unpleasant stay at the Oaks on Collins. The one positive was the location, nice and central to everything, however everything else was sub-standard. Bed uncomfortable, lumpy and very old. Linen whilst clean (hopefully) had stains so looked terrible. The bed was actually on a decline so your feet were higher than your head (and I'm positive it wasn't some new way of getting a great night sleep)! Lots of young party goers stay here so both Friday and Saturday night was party zone, lots of screaming and yelling and laughing at all hours and practical jokes being played in the lift areas with moving furniture etc. TV was an absolute joke, tiny and positioned in a location that you need to break your neck to look at. If you are staying with someone and want some privacy, this would be the worst place to stay for you as the bathroom is right next to the bed...literally. I wouldn't have believed it if I didn't see it for myself! All in all a very uncomfortable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest.

Please be aware that we have noted your comments about the linen and will be discussed with our provider.

We have a no party policy and our staff would have had issued them with warning and evicted if necessary.

Once again we apologise for any inconvenience that this caused and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on Collins again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Beware the Studio suite – it has no external windows. An effectively useless window opens into the guest corridor; I spent a good chunk of time examining from the outside to ensure you couldn't see through the curtains.

I would expect a hotel with no window to be advertised as such.

Staff range from pleasant to indifferent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GfromNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Oaks On Collins.

On your next visit do try our Studio Executive rooms with a choice of either a view overlooking Collins Street or a balcony overlooking St.James lane.

Our studio rooms do have internal views and this is what we advertise as well and it is unfortunate that this may have been overlooked.

We do apologise for any inconvenience that this caused and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Oaks On Collins again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions.

The first was a cheap room that tuned out to be clean and decent, but didn’t have external windows. Twenty minutes after checking in the power went out. I called reception and was told that it was scheduled maintenance on the power grid in that portion of the city and that they had been expecting the outage. It seems that the check in staff did not think to tell me that the power would be going out for an hour, twenty minutes after I checked in, while checking me into a room without windows.

The second occasion I paid for a nicer room. I paid a similar price to what I could have paid for a room in a 5 star hotel at the top end of Collins Street for an Oaks on Collins ‘Sky Suite’. For a start the room was a studio, not even a particularly big one. Calling this room a suite, is fraudulent advertising. The room was a bit dated, the bath room was cramped and a bit grubby. The Oaks also advertised ‘stunning city views’. It seems that they think that the rusty roofs of the semi-industrial waste land in the western end of the Melbourne CBD are stunning. The Oaks also stated that the room is accessed by a ‘private internal staircase’. This is Oaks code for, a public cramped stair case with limited head room used to access what appears to have previously been a service level of the building not accessible via the buildings elevators.

During both stays I also found that I had to be particularly insistent with some members of the staff to get them to do their jobs.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100jeremy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest.

Please be aware that we have noted the concerns you raised and it is unfortunate the staff did not advise you of the power outage.

Once again we apologise for any inconvenience that this has caused and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to an Oaks hotel again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Oaks on Collins. Great location means you can walk to most places easily. The bathroom arrangements might get tricky if you are travelling with any one other than your partner. Frosted glass means you get an outline of whoever is in the bathroom. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dale-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your comments about the rooms being clean and comfortable have been passed on to our Housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#92 of 160 in Melbourne
1,224 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,432 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $104 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing