We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windows 0.0”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #127 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights for work. The room was spacious enough, as it was a Studio apartment. But it didn't have any windows, except for one that had a view of a small rock garden that looked out onto a hallway?

I didn't like the micro bathroom and the fact that the toilet was right next to the bed. Which meant that after the morning bombing mission, the room would have to be evacuated to avoid contamination!

Breakfast was very average, service was slow, only advantage was it was cheap. There was a good cafe downstairs that was separate from the hotel that was an alternative.

Room service was very good though, I had the Thai Green Curry!

I was on the upper levels and some of my colleagues were on the lower levels and complained about the garbage trucks waking him early in the morning, so check a alleyways when selecting a room or request a room change if that happens.

I have given it 3/5 as the location was very good, in Collins St.

Room Tip: I was on the upper levels and some of my colleagues were on the lower levels and complained about th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChappyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately our studio rooms are internal and this is what we advertise online as well as we do not wish to mislead our guests and the very reason why we always have our best deals on these rooms.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your room service meal however your comments about the breakfast will be discussed with our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom. To me, this is defined as...2 bedrooms. With walls. And doors. And privacy from the living areas. You know, things that make rooms...rooms! Oaks on Collins gave us one "room" that had a glass wall on one edge, protected by a see through curtain. Our other "room" was a bed in the lounge room with a see through curtain that you could pull across for...actually, I don't know the point of the sheer wall hanging. It was useless. The bathroom was in between the "rooms" and while reasonably clean- it lacked a bath, and a shower curtain, which meant every time you showered the water would flood the space.
We were in Melbourne for a fun, touristy weekend- so privacy didn't matter much too us- there were no couples on this trip and we were fortunate to be on the same sleeping schedules. But if you were travelling with fussy kids, or with 2 couples who wanted some couple time...I would book separate apartments. If you were like us and want a cheap sleep in the middle of Melbourne- do it. (But you have been warned)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is disappointing to note that you were not happy with the room configuration. All our 2 bed cosmo rooms are marketed as open plan and we have uploaded pictures that reflect this as well as we do not like our guests to be disappointed.

For guests who may have overlooked this our reception staff are always there to & would have been more than happy to offer a couple of options for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is the only feature that this apartment hotel has going for it. The room was very poorly laid out and it was a physical impossibility to watch TV whilst sitting on the couch?
The bathroom was an obsure glass area with in the room offering very little privacy - not ideal. The bed must have been really old as it sagged in the middle.
Not up to our previous Oaks experience. We have previously stayed at The Oaks on Charlotte in Brisbane which is of a far superior standard.
We have since read the other reviews and most are true. I wish we had read them before we booked.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

All our rooms have different configurations and our team would have been delighted to move you to one of your liking.

Your feedback about the bed has been noted and discussed with our Executive Housekeeper and an action plan has been put in place.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Oaks properties on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hi
I was very reluctant to stay after reading other reviews and having my own 4.5 self rated accom I am super fussy. I was booked for a work conference and actually I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and while the bathroom was ensuite size it was clean and functional. The kitchen was great, the linen crisp, excellent housekeeping and helpful staff. I would stay there again. Quiet and very clean so I was happy! Only suggestion would be a room safe.
Narelle, Studio Q Apartments, Canberra

Room Tip: Make sure it is an external room and high up
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudioQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Your comments about our staff being helpful & housekeeping excellent have been shared with the respective teams.

Your suggestion about the safe has been noted and will be discussed further with our Executive Committee.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am always loathe to give poor reviews so I will start with the positive (yes there is only one) The location is excellent..... Now for some of the negatives. Sit down, this may take a while!

We purchased this room for our son as part of a (21st) birthday gift. It is hard to believe that not only was this is an ordinary hotel, but we were charged twice!
The room was booked and prepaid $223 and then at check-out they charged my sons' friend a further $226 to credit card when it was presented for the return of the ($150) bond. I've been to hotels in many parts of the world and never actually paid a bond. Usually a swipe of the card then cancellation on checkout.

The double payment remains unresolved and they are giving us the runaround when we call. Strange how there is never a manager available to discuss the progress of a refund ! Despite several promises, we have given up on the return calls. Not to worry, my lawyers also have an 'On Collins' address! ( true story )

My son is no longer a child however the hotel were told verbally and in writing that this was a birthday surprise gift. To have his friend, also a student, out of pocket $226 is very annoying and has completely ruined the surprise element of the gift. Anyone can be forgiven for making a mistake however, that we have have to persist whilst being ignored trying to secure a refund is totally unacceptable.

As for the hotel itself, it is very average, tired and worth about half of the $200 a night. ( Plus $ 23 carparking ) The room did have a huge window...... which looked out into a hallway! Hardly a view and also must make for terrible security issues?

There are so many better options in Melbourne to stay than this hotel and at cheaper rates. Look at TA rankings and pick one near this, (currently a quite flattering #132 of 190 Melbourne hotels ), and get something around half this price.

I can't believe I booked this hotel without studying the reviews. In hindsight it may have been better to pay the twenty three bucks and stay in the car!

PS> Following yet another call to this hotel, we are assured the refund was finally put through a few days ago. Very disappointed they couldn't find a few minutes to call to apologise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in another hotel !
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Oaks on Collins.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest.

I am glad to hear that the refund has been actioned however please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and time that it has taken to be actioned.

The issues that caused this have been investigated and processes put in place in order to curtail a reoccurence.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Room items broken - kitchen bin lid, fridge door, bathroom shelf small (no room) and wobbly, stove overhead doesn't work (light or fan).
Bathroom run down - mouldy grout, edges resealed messy resulting in mould underneath, shower pole rusty, sinks don't drain properly.
Housekeeping left a bag of rubbish on the floor.
No bedside table lamp or nearby accessible PowerPoints to charge phone, etc.
Dishwasher stinks.
No cookware (saucepan/frypans) although they do have utensils.
Very noisy hotel, especially if you're on the back with bin collections in the morning or near the laundry.
Room service food is very average.
Overall generally disappointing experience - will only be staying here again if work makes me!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM20131988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unsatisfied guest.

At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments have been urgently discussed with our Executive Housekeeper and have since been actioned.

We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night on a work trip and although the location is great and it's right on Collins Street, the hotel is below average.
The room was a good size but you almost have to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom.
On top of sleeping almost in the bathroom, the bed sagged in the middle and was really uncomfortable.
The shower is the type that runs direct onto the floor so the whole bathroom got wet.
Lifts need the key card to access floors but mine wouldn't work and when I went to reception I was told the lifts were old and to keep trying....not very helpful when you can't get up to your room!
Was really glad it was just a 1 night stay. Any longer and I would have gone somewhere else as it's overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is always disappointing to hear from an unhappy guest.

At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Our rooms do have different configurations and our team would have been delighted to move you to one to your satisfaction.

Your comments about the bed have been noted and have been raised with our Executive Committee.

The data on the key cards unfortunately do get erased when placed near a mobile phone or credit card which may have caused the issue.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 160 in Melbourne
1,224 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,432 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing