We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worth the trouble”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #125 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a magical weekend away I decided to go all out and book the "Sky Suite" "Amazing City Views" if you look very closely past the buildings that block any view that may have been there. "Larger Balcony" and 3 foot wide alley that had a 5 foot concrete wall again blocking any view that may have been there. Parking was a shamble with the car park full and had to park 2 blocks away and walk. The bathroom wasn’t big enough to swing a cat. A shower with a shower curtain that didn’t reach from end to end. No vanity above the sink so toiletries had to sit on the toilet while having a shave and brushing teeth. The room smelt like smoke. All staff from carpark, to maid service to front desk was unhelpful and rude. For a supposedly 4 and half star hotel in an expensive room I was very disappointed. I have travelled Australia extensively and a few overseas trips. This was the worse I have stayed at and equalled a 3 star hotel in Bali at a stretch. Needless to say I won’t be staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Don't bother, Spend your money somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment on your recent stay at the Oaks on Collins.
It is a shame to read that you found aspects of your apartment not to your satisfaction – We have different configurations in our sky suites and our staff would have been happy to assist with providing you with a larger room.
Unfortunately the car park in our basement is a public car park and we are unable to reserve any spots.
In regards to the lack of space for toiletries in the bathroom, there is a cabinet behind the mirror for storage.
Your feedback about the housekeeping and front desk staff have been noted and adequate training will be provided to ensure the same issues are not repeated.
We do hope we can welcome you back to an Oaks property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room I was given was at the back corner, very dark , no natural light, just a useless window that looks into a stairwell. I believe some other rooms look out onto Collins street. On the plus side, I suppose this means a quieter room.

The room was suitable for a single person on a business trip, where all that is really needed is a quiet place to sleep and desk area to work. Internet WiFi is available but very expensive.

I had the buffet breakfast in the level 1 dining room, and it was average. There is a fully equipped kitchen for cooking, mini fridge/freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The bathroom is tiny, with a tiny sink. A warning for couples staying here, the toilet is right next to your bed, and is only separated by a glass screen.
Generally the room was clean enough, bed was comfortable with plenty of spare pillows.
There are 4 x elevators but it was always a long wait to get one. Front desk staff were indifferent, check-in process is slow.

Location is fairly central for walking, but you can always walk down a couple of blocks to Flinders St and catch the 35 tram which does the city loop and is a free hop-on/hop-off service.
For other train/tram/bus public transportation, see myki.com.au

The Taxi fare from the hotel to Melbourne Airport was $62.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brizzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This would have to be one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in.
Dust everywhere, frosted glass cubile with the toilet and shower in it, right next to your bed, and the shower alcove was covered in black mold.
I have stayed in caravan park where the amenities are cleaner than this place.
Would suggest for the rating and cost I would not recommend this this dump at all!

Room Tip: Don't stay here it's a dump! Over rated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment on your recent stay at the Oaks on Collins.
It is a shame to read that you found aspects of your apartment not to your satisfaction – We have different configurations in our rooms and our staff would have been happy to assist with providing you with a room with a larger bathroom.
Your feedback about the housekeeping has been noted and adequate training will be provided to ensure the same issues are not repeated.
Please contact the team at customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au should you wish to discuss further.

We do hope we can welcome you back to an Oaks property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

+ Good location
+ comfy, clean beds
+ staff quick to respond when asked for milk and room tidy
+ room was clean
+ no sounds from surrounding rooms or street

- room 1817 is overlooked by an office block so blinds had to be shut the whole time or you could see people on the computers at their work desks
- could hear dull roar of office aircon all day and night
- can't open windows or access balcony (despite there being one because the room desk was against the door to prevent access)
- every fitting in bathroom wall coming off (towel holder, shower head, hot tap, shower shelf all at odd angles as the weren't fixed to the wall properly)
- room smelt like damp towels because of bathroom set up (and no extractor fan)
- bathroom tiny as mentioned by all other guests
- anything done in the toilet (number twos) could then be smelled from the bed (about a meter away)
- crappy untuned television with crusty lumps of glue all over the frame (no idea why)
- bizarre functionless furniture (couldn't open wardrobe because sofa was in the way, all except the bottom shelves of the kitchen cabinet were over 6ft high)
- $140 fine for parking to unload luggage from car despite the assurances of concierge that we were allowed to stop where we had
- staff seem to know that hotel is crap and be embarrassed to work there! Makes for weird vibes!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff response times, comfy bed & room cleanliness.

We have different configurations for our rooms which include ones overlooking Collins Street, internal views and facing the back of the building with balconies to suit the different requirements of our clientele.

There is a 15 minute loading bay including signage displayed by the council in the front of the hotel which usually suffices for guests to unload their bags and keep at reception while they park their car in the public car park in the basement.

Please contact the hotel direct on your next stay and we will be happy to look after your individual requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I usually stay at the Oaks on Market, but this one is only one block away. The parking is not as good (underneath the building, but more expensive than the market st one). Very tight car park too!
Reception were great at check in, was able to check in early despite it being Melbourne Cup and busy. The steps are very annoying though - not sure why so many hotels have steps and no ramp so that people with luggage struggle!
The room itself was lovely - very spacious, beautiful triple windows with a nice view. Kitchen was great. The only thing that has been skimped on was the bathroom - petite is putting it mildly. There is no room to lay anything out, and the sink took ages to drain. But that said, it's a budget option, and it was fine for one person (might be struggling with two though). I loved the general styling of the room, the giant mirror was a great touch.
Was given late checkout (11am) for free, which is great because 10am is just that bit too early!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poptartlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hmmmm, 4.5 stars, I don't think so. The staff are not very friendly or helpful, no porter service, strange smells and then to top it off mould in the bathroom, which did not get cleaned up after I repeatedly asked. Value for money - no way.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. Out staff have received numerous comments about their friendliness & service and it is unfortunate that you did not experience this. It is a shame to read that you found aspects of your apartment not to your satisfaction and unfortunately we do not offer or advertise porter service. We do hope that we can welcome you at a later stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 162 in Melbourne
1,265 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 162 in Melbourne
1,462 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#25 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 162 in Melbourne
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing