We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with terrible beds”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #128 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average with terrible beds”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in a Studio Executive after having stayed in a Studio previously - only difference seems to be a balcony with opening windows. However try and get a room with a view to Collins Street, our balcony looked over a dirty, dingy laneway - not very inviting and not somewhere you would want to sit. We were on level 16 and it was very noisy during the night from adjoining buildings or the laneway and also rubbish trucks early in the morning. The room was very stuffy yet it was too noisy to have window open. The worst aspect was the bed - terrible. We asked for a room change and the second bed was even worse so we went back to the first room as I could not be bothered trying different beds out so we spent all night rolling into the middle of the bed. Housekeeping only leave 3 tea or coffee sachets - too bad if there are two of you staying and want more than one drink. Check in and out was quick and easy, room was clean and tidy and although the bathrooms are tiny they are adequate although having the toilet right beside your pillow is a bit of a turn off. The best thing is the location - tram close by and easy walk to southbank, casino, spencer street and Etihad. We would not stay again - plenty of other choices in Melbourne!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking laneway very noisy and very unattractive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. It is great to read that you found your apartment clean and tidy and the location convenient. It is a shame to read of your dissatisfaction with the beds in the apartments, however we do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    357
    391
    205
    140
See reviews for
110
394
88
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from The Oaks on Collins. I had read unfavourable reviews of this hotel before I went and was a bit worried. I don't see what people complain about. We booked a studio apartment for $113/ night with Agoda and got a free upgrade to Exec Apartment with either view of Collins St or a balcony. Check in and out were hassle free and the staff were friendly and courteous.Our room was clean and spacious. And had everything we needed for the weekend. I had read there was no where in the bathroom to put toiletries, but there is a large mirror behind the toilet that is actually a vanity cupboard with 4 shelves. We rang reception for more coffee and sugar which arrived at our door within a minute of placing the call. I have stayed at other Melb hotels in the $100- $150 that are no way as good as this hotel. We will defiantly be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you could take advantage of the free upgrade. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and courteous and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

October 2102 booked 3 nights in a sky suite on the 20th floor. Room ok, and had a magnificent balcony and view of the city, however, if your sensitive to continous noise, forget it. These rooms are above the lifts, and that's just what I listened to all night. I found myself anticipating the next lift movement which went most of the night, with a slight lessening around 4am.
I booked a non refundable 3 night stay, but after 2 nights moved for peace of mind sack to The Blackman for around the same price!!!! Now that's a hotel I can recommend.

Room Tip: Go to The Blackman on St Kilda Road instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. It is disappointing to read of your issues with the level of noise in your apartment. Our reception team are always willing to assist guests with any issues and try their best to resolve dissatisfaction through room changes, for example. We do hope you will choose Oaks Hotels and Resorts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent a weekend in the big smoke and the accommodation was fantastic and in a great location. Public transport at your front door and the staff were very friendly. Room clean and decent size. Bathroom good too - would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macedoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. It is great to hear that you found your apartment clean and a good size and the location was convenient for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville, Nsw
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having read most of the negative reviews after we booked, we were not expecting a great deal. However, a studio apartment with kitchen in Melbourne CBD for $91 a night (Entertainment Book) meant the price was right.
True the room was a little dated, the bathroom was as small as a bathroom could be, the facilities were a little 'worn' (battered, even) and the room had no external windows. But the room was spacious, the lifts were regular and quick, check in and check out were extremely pleasant and the two times we requested housekeeping (for an extra glass, and then a frypan), the service was almost instantaneous.

Room Tip: Ask reception for whatever the rooms are missing (fry pan, wine glasses, corkscrews, etc). Obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwalked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins Street. It is wonderful to read that your apartment exceeded your expectations and you were happy with your stay. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of a good Entertainment Book rate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is nicely decorated, but the studio rooms are poorly appointed. There is no hairdryer, sewing kit, or saucepans(there is a stove though).

Upon checking in and consistently since, I have experienced poor service from staff that have no interest in trying to be helpful or friendly.

I am here for business purposes and there is no free WIFI and the charges are very high.
There was also a stain on my bedding, and the air conditioner filter was filthy (unacceptable in a room with no windows)

Room Tip: Studio rooms are interior rooms and have no windows or outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonfresh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins Street. It is disappointing to read of your experiences while staying with us. We do not offer sewing kits in our apartments however it is standard that there be a hair dryer and in your case some saucepans. These items may have been waiting repair or replacement and we apologise there were none available to you. I will pass your feedback onto the Hotel Manager in regards to the level of service you received from our staff. For future reference we do offer large Studio apartments which have opening windows. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Me and my husband stay there it was ok..we jus had a problem with the air con..but the rest was ok too..was close to everything..transport was jus in front the bathroom was so small it was right beside our bed which was a bit weird

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rindhu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Collins. We are pleased you found the location convenient and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
1,197 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing