We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We miss the hot choco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We got 3 studios for a party of 7. Very helpful staff, clean rooms and excellent location! It was our first visit to Australia but staying at the Alto has made it an unforgettable trip. We booked online on the hotel's website and chose the bed and breakfast option. It was a wise decision.... hearty breakfast with unlimited toast, coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt! I would love to go back. Front desk staff even offered to print our boarding passes. Forget the 5 star hotels, Alto on Bourke is perfect for us!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2009

I recently stayed at the Alto on Burke as a result of a competition I won.

I was greatly impressed - it was a modern looking , clean hotel. The reception staff were more than helpful.

The restaurant had a cosy ambience and the dinner menu had a great selection of meals all at reasonable prices.

Room were neat and clean. Had a little kitchette with fridge (no minibar), microwave, kettle and toaster. Shampoo/Conditioner/Soap etc supplied in dispensers - a hotel taking notice of the environment is great to see!

The relaxation room with massage chairs was a great treat after a day long shopping trip!

Location was fantastic - about 90m up Bourke Street from Spencer Street, easy access to the train terminal at Spencer, as well as DFO (!). Tram stop right outside the front door to take you to St Kilda, Docklands, or back up into the city and through.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is a great place to stay in Melbourne. It is close to everything but doesn't have the traffic or party noise. It is right near Spencer street station, so you can catch the airbus to and from the airport and there is a DFO. It is the right end of town for trams to St Kilda, Bridge Road, Harbourtown. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They know their trams. The trams stop for the bourke street mall is straight across the road but you can easily walk. If it wasn't for them we would have probably missed out on some great shopping places. We (two) stayed for a week in a suite. The room is comfortable, clean and well stocked, plenty of shampoo, conditioner, moisturisers etc. I would probably stay in a one bed apartment next time just to have a little extra space. You have to pay to use the laundry (very clean and they provide the laundry powder) however it is very reasonable and staff are more than happy to help out with change. We got a bed and breakfast package and it was very good value for money. Breakfast is cooked when you order and the restaurant is nice and warm and the wait staff very helpful. It isn't the flashiest of places but we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. It doesn't have a gym but you can passes to go to the Fitness First just down the road which is far better than any hotel gym I have used.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jafras33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I'm not quite sure what all the fuss is with this hotel. I think the website makes it look more than it is. While it was perfectly adequete, staff were very friendly and helpful on reception and the room was clean it just didnt live up to what I was expecting. The room was smaller than the website would have you believe (we had a studio room), don't expect a view other than concrete, we overlooked (only just, the floors below us would see a brick wall) the roof of the building next to Alto. Our room was also right next to the lift area and so we got lots of external noise as people came and went. The breakfast was really nice however the restaurant only has space for 20 so we had a wait one morning. I imagine in busier times there would be a lengthy wait unless you arrive first thing. Location can't be faulted for a city centre spot. Only a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area and a tram stop is just across the road. A good basic hotel with all you need, just no extra trimmings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsC_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Alto hotel was a wonderful surprise. We had seen many reviews, but is was even better than expected. A small scale hotel, a family feeling, fantastic service, nicely decorated rooms and a very very very friendly staff. We stayed for a week, the location was perfect, and we couldn t have felt more at home in Melbourne. I would recommend the hotel to evrybody who enjoys a personal touch and a friendly atmosphere. Good food in the little restaurant too, great service, and eco-friendly. The perfect basis to discover the lovely city of Melbourne

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I was traveling through Melbourne with my girlfriend and we looked into staying in the city for 2 nights, Since we were attending a St Kilda v. Collingwood Aussie Footy Match!! and also wanted to see the sights... Flinders Station, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium (footy) and all the nice bars and restaurants.

The Alto was a perfect choice, considering it was right across the street from the Etihad and the shopping mall, for my girlfriend, and the tram stop is right out front... Easy to get anywhere.

The Room was great, it was on the top floor. I said the view was amazing, which was surprising because most of the rooms had a view of the building next store, but the rooms on the top had a view towards the East which was nice when the sun was coming through. We stayed in a 2 level apartment with a washer/drier, full kitchen all dishes, glasses and silver. There were two rooms and if I had a kid or two it would have been very comfortable for all of us. I would recommend it for children as well.

It seems that it would be good for the long term traveler with the multiple restaurants and cafes near by and the location to the tram. I loved having free coffee every morning and due to my schedule while there I missed breakfast every day (woke up too late) So I dont know how the food was but the menu looked great. My girlfriend and I both give it 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrpapagiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We chose to stay at the Alto for several nights recently based on the strength of the consistently good Trip Adviser reviews and were left surprised and a little disappointed by our experience. Without going into too much detail, over several days there were a litany of minor incidents that collectively made us uncomfortable and inconvenienced. We have travelled a lot and are not at all finicky - indeed any one of these incidents would have been fine in isolation, a tiny irritation - but together left us feeling we could have made a better hotel choice on this occasion.

A few examples include: having to have access cards reprogrammed (after being locked out of our room) on 3 days of our 4 day stay as the hotel's records of our stay were not corrected after we pointed out an error to our booking, being asked to vacate the hotel a day before our booked departure as the hotel's records of our stay were not corrected after we pointed out several times the error to our booking, finding out breakfast was not included after being told by phone before booking that it would be for a 4 day stay despite it being partially a business stay (with a poor and rambling explanation for why it wasn't included once we were at the hotel), and on departure at 5 am having to dig around in luggage to physically produce a receipt to prove we had paid our account which we had paid the night before precisely so we COULD have a quick easy seamless departure (why the staffer couldn't just check the hotel's computer account system to confirm our verbal advice that we had paid was beyond us and made us feel stressed and humiliated - awful!). I'm sure this wasn't the staffer's intention but was the inadvertent effect of his actions and behavior.

Anyway despite the bumbling, staff WERE friendly and the hotel clearly tries very hard to please with nice touches such as a book share scheme, fireplace and free coffees.

In the room (we had a studio), beds were also very comfy, reading lamps great, but desks in the studio were far too small and irritating for laptop use if you wanted/needed to spread out paperwork also. There was no mini-bar but wine glasses and a bottle opener were provided along with other basic cutlery/crockery & a microwave plus (good) tea & (instant) coffee. There was a shower, no bath and a major complaint was the lack of vanity space in the bathroom - just somewhere to sit a sponge-bag would be good - but no bench space in our bathroom at all. Heaps of hot water and great pressure though.

Whilst okay for a short stay the brick wall our window opened onto was depressing by day three however the double glazed windows keep the noise right down which is great. Room was small but have stayed in much worse so no issue (though feels smaller due to lack of outlook).

Cleaning staff were super great, friendly, cheerful and meticulous - a big plus. Rooms were very clean.

Location is handy to the Tram stop which is just outside but overall we found the location just a tiny bit too far away from everything we wanted, mainly good food at night - being winter didn't help - would be much nicer (and probably livelier) to walk to other parts of the city from here in summer.

Whilst I can understand this hotel being sort of great at times we were surprised it rates so highly on Trip Adviser considering our experience - on our visit it wasn't which can happen on occasions.

Overall nice but there is certainly room for improvement and we thought a strong 3 but just not quite a 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2009

Thank you for providing your comments on your stay. We have passed on your comments to all of our staff so that they are aware of how their communication may be perceived. We have addressed specifically accuracy of booking and check our process.

It is possible that coding on the electronic room cards can be damaged if the card is near an electromagnetic source i.e. mobile phone, microwave oven, anti-theft devices in shops etc. If this occurs the card may not function correctly and may need to be recoded.

Our room rates normally include accommodation only, however we do offer special deals from time to time that include breakfast or other items. As this review does not provide details that allow us to identify you or your specific booking I am unable to provide any further information at this time. However without these details it is clear that we should have been able to efficiently explain and rectify any errors with your reservation particularly regarding your departure date and inclusions.

I agree with your comments that your check out could have been handled in a more friendly and efficient manner as you suggested by simply checking our system to verify your account.

Thank you for your comments regarding the little touches we provide and the friendly nature of our guest service team, especially our housekeeping staff as they take great pride in their work. We are currently in the planning stage a “soft” refurbishment of our rooms which will include the functionality of the work desk and vanity. Being a heritage listed building each of our rooms have a slightly different aspect and shape therefore not all of our rooms have the same view/s and or bathroom layout.

We appreciate your comments which we treat as constructive and will use them to assist us to continually improve our facilities and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,724 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $109 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing