We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique accommodation at its best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boutique accommodation at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I travel to Melbourne annually and normally stay outside of the CBD but my uncle had been raving about this boutique hotel near Spencer st " Alto" where he regually stays. Perfectly located as we hopped off the Sky Bus at Spencer St and had checked into a roomy I bedroom suite within minutes as it is vitually a 1 minute walk from the station. The receptionist who met us was very welcoming and this continued throughout the vist by every staff member we met, they were all so helpful. On the friday night we even had the pleasure of meeting the charming owner Ricardo. The breakfast was huge and not to mention delicious. I will never stay anywhere other than "Alto." in Melbounre.
David Rees
Sydney

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reesy625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    520
    67
    20
    3
See reviews for
280
579
124
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Maybe I'm just getting a little cynical, but if this is the 6th best rated hotel for Melbourne, you must be hard pressed finding a good hotel.
We stayed in the two bed executive room. The rooms are clean, but are very small. Much smaller then the impression you get from the photo's.
IMPORTANT !!!! There is currently a large building project in progress behind the hotel. So at 7 am, the heavy machinery kicks in. So if you enjoy a lie in, don't stay here, as all the rooms face this way. Now this of course is not the fault of the hotel, but it demonstrates how feeble the sound proofing is.
They have a nice little coffee machine, that provides free coffee to it's guests. But they close is down by 10:30 pm, which was disappointing after returning from Wicked, and we could not get a coffee.
There is a lack of consistent knowledge within the front desk eg: Do you get free midweek parking & free breakfast with two or more bedroom apartments.
I would normally give this boutique hotel three stars, but because of the very noisy construction work going on behind, it gets a two. It's not a terrible place, but best to avoid until the construction is finished.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, March 10, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately there is demolition work being undertaken in the next block. We have been able to obtain information from the project managers that the major part of the demolition has been completed and demolition is scheduled to be completed by April 2009.

Under local laws, work on the site is prohibited on Sundays and cannot commence before 8am on Saturdays and must cease by 5pm in the evening.

The construction phase is likely to be delayed, possibly several years as the site has been sold and a use / design for the site have not yet been approved.

All of our windows are double or triple glazed to assist in limiting both heat / cold and noise. All balcony doors use 10mm thick laminated glass panels. (Standard glass is 3-5mm)

The access to the espresso coffee should be until later in the evening to allow for a "night cap". The operating times have been reviewed to accommodate this.

We appreciate your comments which we use to assist us in continuing to improve our services and facilities and for planning of future renovations and improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed at Alto for 5 nights at the end of Feb and was plesently surprised. The staff were very friendly, apart from a few, but that's normal. Pipper and Andrew at the front desk were especially helpful and friendly. Good tour booking and advise on what to see and do. Breakfast was nice as was relaxation room. Rooms were kept clean. Room unfortunately had a view of the alley as others have said in their reviews. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandGperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie in scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was the third year that my mother and i have stayed at the alto on bourke and would recommend it to our friends and family as the staff are friendly and very helpful with their knowledge of the area. It 's central location is ideal for all you needs if you like shopping,eating out and entertainment for all ages .

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussierab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed for five nights in a Hotel Room whilst visiting Melbourne for the Australian Open.

We picked this hotel due to location (we like to be close to town for shopping but also close to Crown for meals) and due to price as this was on the cheap end of the scale (without being in a backpackers or similar) during the final week of the Australian Open.

The hotel room was great, the bed was comfy, bathroom was great and the shower was very good. View looked out onto a brick wall but this didn't impact us as we weren't there for the view and only stopped in at the hotel for sleeping, showering and dropping off shopping. Room was spacious enough although it would be nice to have a specific area for you to put your suitcase - like a ledge or something - ours ended up on the floor at the end of the bed.

The service at the hotel was excellent - upon arrival, they held our bags until check in (as we arrived early in the morning), the service in the bar / library area was great when we stopped in for a couple of beers and all the staff on reception were nice and friendly, asking why we were in Melbourne and whether we had enjoyed ourselves.

We generally only travel to Melbourne for the tennis and any concerts and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The Shower
  • Disliked — Bedside lights were a little dim for night time reading
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinballwyzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Great stay the Alto Bourke. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great as it is right by the Southern Cross Rail Station and easy walking distance to the Docklands. We were there for the Australian Open tennis and it was only a couple blocks to the tram to the tennis arena. There is also access to a computer with internet access with a minimal charge of $1.00 per half hour. The room was small but we were in a one bedroom and were never there anyway. I would request one with a view next time as we looked out at a brick wall but again we were never there so it wasn't that big of a deal to us. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tennisniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We chose this hotel for its green credentials. They use green power, biodegradable bath products, recycling bin, etc. Hybrid cars can also park for free.

Studios were of adequate size with microwave and fridge. It's shower only but we didn't mind. Internet service charge is VERY reasonable - $10/24hrs.

The lounge has self service coffee/tea and their massage chairs are a delight.

I read the earlier reviews about breakfast's poor quality but had no problem with mine - I had the vegetarian breakfast.

Service was impeccable from every staff member.

We tried extending our stay during Australian Open week but it was sold out. Hope there is availability next time we return to Melbourne.

  • Liked — "Green" hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ravelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,989 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#37 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing