We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This is a classy little hotel, perfectly positioned, beautifully appointed and with impeccable service. Four of us stayed there for my daughters graduation at Telstra Dome, which was just a 5 minute walk , and the next day hopped on a tram just outside the door and headed into the CBD to shop.
The hotel rang the week prior to confirm and made the kind and thoughtful offer of a free upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment rather than the two bedroom we had booked to give us a little extra space. Parking at $15 was excellent with as many exits and entries as we wanted plus the option to leave the car in the carpark even after checkout until we had finished our shopping in the city.
We didn't eat breakfast there but can recommend Langhams just a couple of doors down for excellent, cheap breakfasts and lunches. The real plus of the Alto is that it is slapbang in the middle of some of the best , clubs, bars and cafes as well as being perfectly positioned to tram, train and bus travel, the Docklands trendy precinct and that hideous DFO outlet.
Their own website rates seemed as reasonable as any of the discount sites but I guess shopping around will find the very best deal.
I've stayed at many Melbourne hotels and this for me is the pick for the money, quality, posiion and service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel before 2.5 yrs ago. Decided to stay in one of their flats. 3 of us supposed to go but one ill. Nice flat and plenty of room in two bedrooms. Quite plain accommodation. Meals in hotel very good and restaurant staff very helpful. They had lists of nearby food places. Did not think much of Pizza Place around corner beside Seven 11 which was good.

Staff at desk were very helpful.

Thank mooroolbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

In Melbourne for a conference, my wife and I enjoyed a 6 night stay at the Alto. This is a top class hotel, with excellent facilities. We had a clean and modern room, the daily room service was high quality, and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The Alto is located in close proximity to Southern Cross Station, with an easy 100 metre walk possible after dropoff at the Station by Skybus from the airport. Trams are at the door, and there are a range of eateries and pubs in close walking distance. 10 minute walk to Bourke Street Mall, Chinatown, Southbank, and the Telstra Dome. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed at The Alto for 6 nights in Early November and it was an excellent hotel, clean, good service , great location, would recommend it , and have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelmanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed there, all 10 of us, including 4 senior citizens, 3 adults, 2 young kids and a 1 year old.

Being near Southern Cross, it is pretty much far from the bustle of the city, however a short tram ride is all you will ever need in Melbourne.

We took 2 2-bedroom executives and found it more than adequete for our needs. The amenities all worked well, especially the airconditioning which was a godsent during winter.

And even though we arrived at 6am in the morning, our rooms were already made available to us, so that was a good surprise.

The living areas and bedrooms can get claustraphobic if you are not too used to such small spaces. But being in Melbourne, you rarely stay in much.

The only downer I felt was that the staircase in the apartment was rather narrow, so carrying large suitcases up and down was quire harrowing.

All in all. it was a great stay, with lots of nice eateries nearby (which can be said for practically all of Melbourne City), Tramstops literally at your doorstep, and the DFO, Coles and Train Station just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank digitium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The first thing you need to ask yourself when choosing accomodation is "What do I need from the hotel?".

The Alto Hotel on Bourke suited our individual needs nicely and therefore my opinion and review is going to be positive towards the property.

We stayed as a family group of 5 during the recent school holidays and booked the Alto from reviews, location and its ability to take 5 guests in a room without asking why !. Family friendly is a big plus

The Alto is located at the southern end of Bourke street in the city and is just 2 mins walk across Spencer Street from Southern Cross Station. It has a tram stop virtually out the front door and is just 5 minutes walk along Spencer Street to Flinders Street where you can board the very convenient free city loop red tram. (Most handy with kids in the party)

Rooms at the Alto are adequately spacious without being large. Our room was a two level apartment set up with balconies looking out to the south. City views are just that. Views of surrounding buildings. It didn't bother us as we weren't staying at a hotel for what we see out the window. There were 2 bathrooms and a well apointed kitchenette that included a front loading washing machine which was handy. Beds were comfy and all was spotlessly clean and well presented. The highlight and best asset of the Alto is without doubt the reception staff who were courteous, knowledgable and genuinely friendly. (Nice to find reception staff in a hotel that actually seem to enjoy their work).

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening and although we didn't have breakfast there I can't agree with other reviews that bag it out. The meals were of good quality, reasonably priced and very well presented. The chef working there also seems to enjoy his work. If this doesn't suit there are a few options within walking distance and many more just a short cab ride away. ($15 to Lygon Street) No problems from this reviewer

Overall, the Alto ticks most boxes, deserves it's 4 star rating and high rank amoung the reviewed Melbourne hotels on this site. It has nice little eco friendly touches, appears very well managed and I would be most happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Alto whilst we visited Melbourne for our honeymoon.
Although I found the cost rather high, (over $220 NZ per night) I realise now that this is because we booked via our travel agent and it would have been much cheaper had we known to book direct.
Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable.
We stayed in a studio room so had a wee kitchenette with a microwave, which was very handy.
The bed was comfortable, the room had a big flat screen TV with good reception, it was quiet and had good air conditioning.

I found the reception staff extremely helpful (mostly) and the location of the hotel is brilliant - very close to town, with a tram stop right outside.

We didn't try the little restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In_Susan_Ity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing