We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideally located and friendly”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and family orientation. The rooms were compact but served our needs well. We made use of the breakfast offerings which were above average. Staff always accomodating and helpful - visible presence of the GM which is why they work well. Wifi available and eve a massage chair room for weary travellers. Close to the station and tram stops, coffee shops all round.

Room Tip: Higher th ebetter to escape street noise - better at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    540
    72
    20
    3
See reviews for
296
606
134
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a good find in Melbourne. Very good location, efficient staff and clean rooms. Good value for Melbourne.

The rooms have foxtel, good heating and free wifi Nothing too fancy, but modern, clean rooms with a fridge and a small kitchen. I had a quite room with double glazing.

A good option is the really nice cooked breakfast in a cozy room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had four days in Melbourne as a family (2 boys aged 16 and 12). A compact 2 bed apartment had it all. Double and a twin, two TVs, foxtel, two bathrooms and free wifi. Friendly staff, boutique restaurant that a great breakfast and we enjoyed dinner there one night - something for everyone. Location is superb - tram stop just outside and 2 mins walk from airport shuttle bus. Will go back as a family and when in Melbourne on business.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank WestyWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great choice for many reasons. Location to sky bus works effectively if you are flying in or out of Melbourne, and tram and train services allows easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer.
Breakfast was more than good, all staff were friendly and professional, rooms were exceptional in their cleanliness and the room was well laid out. The 'green' credentials were important to us.
The library and access to tea and coffee whenever was also much appreciated.
A charming little oasis that served us well and will be our hotel of choice when in Melbourne. The management and staff are doing a great job.

Room Tip: Towards the back on the higher floors to avoid some tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltwotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stay here now whenever I come to Melbourne for work. Comfy beds, nice clean rooms, free fast wi-fi, and the windows actually open, so you can get some real air!! The staff are always friendly and helpful, and I really don't have any complaints.
I generally book a Petite Queen room, as I don't need anything more than that. When I'm travelling for work, I just need a nice place to sleep, and this ticks all those boxes..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beebahbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel that prides itself on being eco-friendly. Small number of rooms, and likely better for business or couple travelers, but the rooms are spacious, very clean, and have quite comfortable amenities. Their restaurant serves limited hours, but sources local and organic foods and the bar makes most of their own mixers. I was pleasantly surprised by the homemade ginger beer that didn't cost me much at all!
Good service, and close to city center as well as airport transit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaineMarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

the Alto Hotel on Bourke was in a great spot for the airport shuttle, the tram, Spencer street station and close to everything we needed. The room was well appointed and clean. Have nothing but praise for our stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,036 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,726 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing