We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here on a recommendation from a friend and it was well worth it. This hotel is located walking distance to Southern cross Train Station and has a tram stop 50 meters from the hotel as well as walking distance to Etihad Stadium.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful with tours and places to visit during my stay and were more than happy to place bookings for tours while I was there (thanks Gemma).
The rooms were clean and serviced every day with separate air-conditioning and one of the few hotels that I have stayed at were you can open the window if you wish.

Net time I am in Melbourne this is a place that I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

A great place to stay in Melbourne, you are in the thick of everything. shopping. trams. restaurants .hotels etc. then back to the Alto to relax in very clean and well appointed room. Our first trip to Melbourne and we will be back at Alto Hotel again.

Room Tip: Just book in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Exceedingly pleasant experience for a 2-night stay, and I even came back the following night after my plans changed.

The location is brilliant, 2 minute walk straight out the door of Southern Cross station, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and even the creaky floors seem to go with the boutique nature of the hotel (I would normally be very upset).

The price is very competitive compared to local options and the hotel has a European feel to it.

So, great hotel in a great location with great staff.

Room Tip: There is no view from most rooms, unless you like brick walls, and you will occasionally hear the me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great little place to stay, super close to the train station and skybus.
Clean, affordable.... Of particular importance to me was the fact that it had good hair conditioner and plenty of it ... And a powerful hair dryer... Winning!
Room is small, with a little window that has a view of a brick wall but it is fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First and foremost this hotel is perfectly situated - close to two major train stations and in the heart of the city. It is a small hotel but one that gives excellent service. We had an apartment/hotel room - i.e. separate bedroom; living cum dining room cum kitchen. The kitchen was completely furnished with oven, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans, plates, glassware and cutlery. Staff at reception were friendly and efficient. It made the stay in Melbourne very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in a twin room over weekend - room well appointed and very clean. Staff very friendly - we didnt have a chance to try the restaurant on this trip, but enjoyed our stay and would stay again in preference to larger hotels

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! So close to everything, can walk to Bourke Street Mall and the CBD. Beds are so comfy. If back in Melbourne will be staying here again. Breakfast menu and buffet good way to start the day. Other reviews stated that the rooms are small and noisey. Yes they are small but what do you want when you are out all day. Perfect space. We had a one bed apartment and adjourning queen studio - perfect. Noise is nothing more than what you would get at home. Double glazing on the windows shuts out the outside noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
736 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,447 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing