We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Good location for CBD: easy access to the rest of Melbourne via trams. Very comfortable beds and clean, well appointed. About halfway between Fitzroy & St Kilda if you want to explore, walking distance from a lot of Central Laneways and great cafés. Breakfast was good. Staff were very sweet. Room service would be a great addition, though!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lilypetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We find many of our guest like the ease of walking to some many options or hopping on tram just outside the hotel. We do offer room service during our restaurant opening times , dinner Monday to Friday nights and breakfast daily however during breakfast times restaurant orders are prioritized ahead of room service. During busy periods this may delay delivery of room service orders. This policy allows us to keep our breakfast prices to a moderate level as we are aware that travelers do not enjoy paying the $30-40 AUD levied by many hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
There are newer reviews for Alto Hotel on Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights in March and would now classify it is as our go-to Melbourne Hotel.

Great location near train station and Docklands and easy to walk into main areas for shopping and restaurants.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful (including providing us assistance with parking for some friends that visited us for the evening) and rooms were great (foxtel - yeah!!) and modern, clean and had all you need for a great stay in a great city. Nice breakfast too!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreensinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hi,
I stated that Alto Hotel on Bourke for a week and I especially like your food that was awesome. Actually the Australian food and all restaurants are really good like Catering On The Move is also good and this Alto Hotel food all are awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macksmith345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Alto in Melbourne was an enjoyable stay and well worth the money. We recently stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and it has everything you need. The staff are all friendly and helpful.
would definitely stay here again.
its also very close to southern cross station and tram lines

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank n9nety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I recently visited Melbourne on business and stayed at Alto on Bourke Street. This was my time staying at this hotel and I will be returning. To be honest, if you weren't looking for it on Bourke Street it could easily be missed. From the outside there is no great facade and even upon entering the building it is older in style. Check in was smooth and I was on the way to my room in no time. The room was a complete surpirise. Very modern with a more than comfortable bed. The television offers a full Foxtel selection and not just a few channels. The bathroom was clean with plenty of room and rather than have tubes or bottle of soaps and shampoos, the room has dispensing cannisters. Much more efficient. On my first night, I dined at the hotel restaurant. The service and food were good. The staff were friendly and helpful The topper is the value. A nice hotel in the middle of the Melbourne CBD for under $200 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Small boutique hotel in good location close to Southern Cross Station and Bourke St mall. Good value for the rate compared to other hotels. Check-in went smoothly and staff friendly and helpful. Room was extremely quiet. Shower worked well with plenty of hot water. Breakfast very good with the usual continental selection and hot dishes cooked to order. Really couldn't fault the hotel. It doesn't have all the frills of a pool, gym etc but these were not important to us. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmaspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed three nights at Alto, the check-in by Charlie went very smooth and he was most patient explaining the amenities of the hotel as well as answering tourist type questions about |Melbourne. Our room was clean, bed was very comfortable and there was adequate space to unpack. The hotel has a small dining room, bar and sitting area. Breakfast which can be pre-purchased or bought daily was one of the best we have had on our trip so far. Alto has washer and dryer which is nice when one is away for an extended period of travel. The hotel is also centrally located and within easy walking distance of the Southern Cross Railway Station which is also the central drop-off point for the sky bus from the airport. Cabs are pricey here compared to other cities so taking the shuttle to town can be cost-effective and also convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,163 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing