We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice - Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Choice - Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Melbourne and were very pleased with our choice to stay at The Alto. It's in a great location close to Southern Cross Station with easy access to trams, restaurants, cafes and all other attractions.
With their environmentally friendly approach, rooms are provided with soap, shampoo and conditioner and lotion dispensers which is a really nice touch as well as energy smart control systems.
The free Wi-Fi included in the tariff is also a really big plus.
The staff are friendly and more than happy to help with anything you need. There is free tea and coffee and fruit in the lounge area which includes a cute little reading nook and a fantastic relaxation room with massage chairs which are wonderful after a long day walking the city.
Breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choices.
We'll definitely be staying again next time we're in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    517
    67
    20
    3
See reviews for
276
570
122
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very comfortable - stayed there twice and the rooms have always been clean and tidy. I like having the Foxtel versus the usual hotel entertainment system. Nice to be able to watch HD TV in my downtime and even record programmes for later viewing.
Good in room facilities and like the green approach.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Bourke St will be quieter. Double glazing on windows anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed_hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Such a great place to stay. From the staff at reception to the quality of the room the Alto Hotel is fantastic. It is in an excellent location so close to Southern Cross Station and on the city tram line. Our room was spotless and very quiet, the beds and pillows were the best we have experienced anywhere. We loved the 'green' credentials of the hotel, they have thought of everything even down to the soap, shampoo and body lotion dispensers in the bathroom. Well done, we look forward to returning next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles and Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My special needs son and I stayed here and will so again in Melbourne. We asked for a room at the back away from main Street and away from elevators, as he is sensitive to noise. Staff were happy to help. Lovely interior, lovely clean, modern rooms. Fantastic location in Melbourne. Breakfast was very good. Our plane was delayed for our departure, but staff were happy for my son and I to use the massage chairs and relaxation room to wait.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the small alleyway, it will be quieter, but less to see of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We just spent the Australia Day long weekend at the Alto Hotel, such a great hotel. The location is so central to many attractions, The Aquarium, Docklands, Bourke st Mall, Flinders st, Etihad stadium are all easy walking distance even with my 8yr old son nothing was too far. The Skybus terminal is about 1min walk. If you don't want to walk the Trams stop out the front or the Free City Circle Tram stops just down the road in Flinders St. It is a nice quite end of town. There are a few restaurants around the corner in King st or walk to Docklands for more. We stayed in a King Plus room which is compact but perfect for just a base to rest and sleep if you spend lots of time in the room then maybe go for a bigger room. Everything is so well finished and beyond clean. The blockout blinds were a nice touch for a restful sleep as was the super comfy bed. We did not hear any real noise the occasional tram in the morning but certainly not loud enough to wake anyone. The bathroom is very spacious and has a nice shower, as it is an eco hotel the water pressure is a little soft but nothing to complain about. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too hard for them they go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. Breakfast was so delicious and the staff in the restaurant super friendly and attentive. The free coffee/tea and reading nook are a nice touch. My Favourite part of the stay was the Relaxation room what a treat after spending the day out walking to come and sit in the massage chair and just chill WOW.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is such a great place to stay...the staff are so friendly and helpful, it is so clean you could virtually eat off the floor and it's in a very central and handy location. I've stayed here a number of times but not in the last 4 years as I haven't been in Melbourne city. I couldn't believe how clean and well kept the Hotel still is. Obviously, it is very well loved and looked after. We would definitely stay here again and be happy to take family & friends there with us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

After spending 3 nights at the Alto Hotel on Bourke recently I can't wait to go back. The friendly staff and the lovely rooms made my stay in Melbourne very relaxing indeed. I stayed in the 2 bedroom upper floor apartment and it was immaculate and all the amenities one could ask for. My bed was so comfortable I wanted to bring it home with me. The hotel is close to the tram stop and also within walking distance of many restaurants, coffee places and attractions. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are ever in Melbourne for a long or short stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms but I think all the rooms would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydiToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing