We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I am coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Alto Hotel on Bourke for 10 days while my daughter and I were looking for student accommodations. The hotel is in a perfect location. The tram stop is just a few steps away. Numerous restaurants abound in the area and shopping in the Southern Cross station is down the road. Should you prefer more shopping, it is just a tram ride away or you can even walk. A Catholic church is situated across the hotel which made it very convenient for Sunday Mass. Yet, it is in a quiet area, unlike the hotels in the heart of CBD.
The staff were also very helpful, friendly and accommodating.
Our room was a queen studio and was very comfortable. There was a microwave, toaster and tea/coffee-making facilities so we ate our breakfast in our room everyday. Coles was just down the block and we bought whatever we needed for breakfast and snacks there.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    532
    71
    20
    3
See reviews for
287
597
128
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

In the very busy Australian Open fortnight, I looked for accommodation outside my usual (corporately chosen) hotels. The Alto offered good prices and a handy location (some people worry about being close to King Street but it is a fair way from any trouble. I found it well located to attend meetings during the day, and it was an oasis in the stifling heat that Melbourne put on at that time.

The room I stayed in was very small but served its purpose - comfy bed and air conditioning did the trick for this tired traveller.

Its also nice to see a hotel that has the foresight to provide high speed wireless as a part of its tariff - when will other Australia hotels start to realise that this a staple service as they do in America.

Their focus on being green and sustainable is pretty cool, and I liked the look of the small bar and lounge although I did not get time to visit them (and they have free massage chairs as well).

A highlight of the hotel was the staff members - all of them were friendly and helpful without being overly so - a nice balance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel offers good value accommodation in the Melbourne CBD. Rooms are quiet, and many are equipped with microwave and a few utensils as well as a fridge. A particular bonus in my room was television with all the Fox film and sports channels, and a recording facility, which I have never come across before. Breakfast was cooked to order, though given the availability of fresh fruit in Australia I was surprised to see so much tinned fruit on offer. Staff were excellent, helpful and polite, and the rooms were well serviced. Hotel is only 100 yards from the Skybus terminal in Southern Cross station, and so is very convenient from the airport. Close to the Etihad stadium, but my friends and I walked to the MCG in about 30 minutes. Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are on a side alley. Maybe better to have a room not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaxterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Alto Hotel is very pleased to be the first Melbourne Hotel and one of the first hotels in Australia to offer Foxtel IQ in every guest room. This allows for 120+ channels from the Foxtel cable system that can be recorded and played back at a time that suits the guest. As well as Foxtel there are 20+ digital broadcast channels available. A soon to be activated feature of our TV system allows wireless streaming of content saved on smart phone, tablet or laptop direct to the large LED energy efficient TV. Our intention is to offer our guests more viewing choices at whatever time they choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

For the price that I'm paying as compared to other hotels within the vicinity, I think it's a great deal!

Room may be small, but it's absolutely cosy and comfy. Love the green theme in the hotel.

Free hot drinks at the lounge, free fruits. Pretty awesome.

I will stay again when I'm going Melbourne again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuttySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Alto on Bourke was terrific. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They've put a lot of thought and care into fitting out the rooms - everything we needed was there. The 3-bedroom apt was very comfortable and spacious for 5 of us. The staff were courteous and nothing was a problem. We'd definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location - easy walk from Skybus terminal at Spencer St station, and tram stop to Bourke St Mall a minutes walk.

2 bedroom apartment was very clean, and plenty of room for two adults and three kids. We really appreciated the second TV in the main bedroom.

We enjoyed the relaxation room several times.

Reception was very helpful on the two occasions I asked for tram advice.

The only disappointment was our room was not ready until 30 minutes after check-in. Wouldn't have been a problem, except we were travelling with kids. They treated us to a bottle of wine and some chocolate to make up for the trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Travel_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is less than 5 mins walk from Southern Cross train station. Just get the sky us from the airport to the station and walk to the hotel. The staff are all friendly and really helpful. The 1 bed apartment has plenty of room for 3 guests, free tea and coffee and biscuits and wifi in the room. All the attractions are within walking distance. Breakfast is good value too. Excellent value for money, I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing