We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Glad I chose this hotel to stay in Melbourne. Small and cosy hotel. All the staff on Reception and restaurant were friendly, cheerful, courteous and helpful. Well-located in the CBD area but within easy access to the tourist areas with a tram stop nearby. We stayed in an apartment room and it was adequately-sized, very clean and quiet. Great value for the price. I would recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouzopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a small, independent hotel, well-located with easy access to many of the things you'll want to do in Melbouren (there's a tram stop just ouside the door, and Southern Cross station, where airport buses arrive/depart from, is just around the corner). Rooms are adequately-sized and super quiet thanks to double glazing, and windows can be opened for fresh air. Breakfast offers good variety, with a small but impressive buffet and a menu of traditional and novel cooked dishes. It's not just another 'big city' hotel. Staff are friendly and helpuful, and the hotel is going to great lengths to minimise its carbon footprint, but at the same time not trading off on performance. Great value for the price. I'd happily return.

Room Tip: Rooms don't offer good views, but there's a variety of configurations and the stairs offer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiser_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located close to the train station and tramlines. Staff were pleasant. The rooms are small but with everything that you require. The view from our room was directly onto a brick wall but since we were using this as a base to relax the views were not a concern! More character and better priced than the larger chains. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebbie_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a petit queen. The room was very clean and exceptionally quiet although very small. It was hard to store two bags and move around the bed so next time would stay in a larger room.
Really appreciated the coffee machine downstairs and the lounge area.
Tram stop very close by. Visitor Myki cards available for purchase at the reception but only found this out on the second day. Would have been great if reception staff had advised of this when checking in.
Would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 40ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Alto is a mere 100 yards from the main railway station and well located for a stay in Melbourne. The rooms are small but well appointed, do not expect views though. a wall is all you get in most rooms. However they are clean and contain everything you need during your stay.

We found a good selection of restaurants locally and a coffee shops within yards, there is a selection in your room folder.

The staff where most helpful and gave good advise as to what and where to visit. A nice touch was the bowl of apples in reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BwanaHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

As Alto is a low rise heritage listed building views are limited. However most rooms do not view onto a wall and have an outlook onto nearby buildings.

Gary Stickland
General Manager
Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel, end of November. The reception staff was very helpfull to explain us what to visit and what to see in Melbourne, specially the french manager, Charlie.
Rooms are nice, even if they are a bit small, but clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I needed to spend 2 nights in downtown Melbourne so we chose the Alto based on reviews here. We were not disappointed. It truly is a lovely hotel with a fine balance of style, friendliness, service, location etc…..I arrived first at 9:30 in the morning and asked if I could leave my bags until check in time and was very pleasantly surprised to be given the keys to our room early. We had a queen room with kitchenette. Very comfy bed, Foxtel, empty fridge so room to stock up on food if you needed to, gorgeous bathroom and fantastic location. Only 2 minutes walk from Southern Cross Station and a tram stop outside, very easy to get around. Despite being on the first floor facing the street, we were not disturbed by any noise and could only faintly hear the sound of the tram early in the morning, not an unpleasant sound. The staff are wonderful, especially Stuart, everyone from reception, kitchen and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful with info on places to visit and see.
The relaxation room is a novel touch. We used it on a couple of occasions. Very welcome after walking for hours.
We would highly recommend this hotel for those that like homely but stylish accommodation. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
709 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,407 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing