We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #11 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wollongong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent people”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent four days there for a conference, from initial check in to check out it was obvious this was a very well trained team. Andrew greeted us with a smile and great professionalism, the staff at breakfast were great, especially Stuart, and it continued with all staff, notable mention for Dean as well. upon meeting the manager Gary, a top bloke, it was obvious were it came from. I will be a repeat customer for the service alone. As for the room, a studio, it was small, but very well appointed, for a couple or single, wanting a cheap option in style, a good pick. Dont expect a view but it was all i needed. Breakfast was included and really top quality, a great start to any day. Overall, thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wollongong027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    544
    72
    20
    3
See reviews for
302
615
135
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were very pleased when we stayed here last weekend! The staff were helpful with our emails we sent before we Arrived, the reception staff were laughing around with us too which was nice :) cleaners greeted us too also with a smile and a hello as we walked down the hall :) they could of just kept going on with what they were doing! Also thought it was great how they filled up all the soaps etc, it's not an important thing but it shows that they are not stingy and have enough there every time. Instead of just leaving half there or what not (as let's face it we don't use it all anyway so they could of easily leaved it from the last people who stayed) but they didn't :) it says alot I believe. We love modern black and white settings and so the room was just us :) nice to see cool portraits of places around the city too ! Interesting . Thank you for our stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennielle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Australia is expensive! I was flying into Melbourne on a Saturday evening and not flying out until the wee hours on Monday. This hotel was the perfect fit for me. The rate was reasonable compared to other places. It is a "boutique" hotel that prides itself on its "green" standards. Check-in was speedy and welcoming. Since I would only be there a short time I did not need all of my luggage in my room and so I was able to store my luggage downstairs.
The room was comfortable. It was small and very clean.
Breakfast was not included in my rate. I did eat at the hotel. They had the largest strawberries I have ever seen on the buffet. They truly were enormous! Service was pleasant. The food was okay.
I would definitely stay here on a future visit. Melbourne is a wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qhdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend to spend time with his son and then my daughter joined me for shopping adventure. Perfect location to spencer st station, mall, dfo, Chinatown, best melbourne restaurants and trams to everywhere...small, clean, modern rooms with added advantage of relaxation room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for work, late in early out. The staff were helpful and accommodating and the hotel was easy to find. The room was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Found the soap dispensers on the bathroom a little funny but guess they serve a purpose. Did not eat there so can't comment on the food.
Overall it was a nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Simon. We are aim to give simple, unpretentious and friendly service with a immaculately clean and comfortable room. The soap dispensers are one element of our environmental program. Instead of using thousands of little plastic bottles that would mostly end in landfill with a some of the soaps etc left in them we use natural fragrance soaps and lotions from wall mounted refillable dispensers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A good quality hotel in the central city close to transport and within walking distance of many attractions. Friendly staff, good breakfast and free internet. The restaurant downstairs is closed on Saturday night, which we found strange, but they recommended a great local restaurant. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 988Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great to read that we made another guest happy. While we serve breakfast every day and dinner Monday to Friday we do not offer a dinner service from our kitchen on Saturday & Sundays. We find that most guests over a weekend are keen to experience Melbourne many and varied culinary delights and hidden gems. We do welcome diners other than hotel guests however our guest focused lounge / dining area and library are more suited to in-house guests than general public.

Gary Stickland
General Manager - Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a little getaway from the family in line with a work function that night. Honestly cannot complain about anything. The cost was low in comparison with it's location and TripAdvisor rating. Bed was comfortable, amenities excellent, in room facilities great and staff friendly. First place on the list next time we're in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chodoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,558 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,037 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing